We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in Isla Holbox”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holbox Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Hotel with a nice atmosphere. The welcome cocktail in the bar in front of the beach helps to feel good right at the arival. Very friendly staff. Very helpful. Nice rooms with cool balcony and confortable bathroom. A/C available, soap, shampoo, beach towels supplied.
The only little thing is that the beach is full of algae ( don't expect a white clean sand like in Tulum for example) which makes it a bit smelly as well. But it seems to be everywhere in Isla Holbox. But you anyway come to Isla holbox for the relaxing atmosphere.

Nice cocktails. Food we did not try. We took the whale shark tour organized by the hotel. We do recommand: an unforgettable experience! :-)
The staff is incredibly honnest: some days after we were back, they realized they made us pay too much for the tour and just told me they transfer money to my paypal account!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sofquipeut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 698 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We just returned from a 5 day/4 night visit at Mawimbi and are still luxuriating in the warmth, tranquilty and wonderful service we had while there. Celebrating our 20 year wedding anniversary, we decided to make it hassle free and have the hotel handle everything from the transfer from Cancun airport to organizing the trip to swim with the whale sharks. Just 12 hours prior to our landing, hurricane Ernesto was hitting the coast and we were still doubtful if we would be able to make it there. The people at the hotel were extremely accomodating with our repeated emails and were willing to do whatever we decided...always giving us options in a very friendly way. Well, our flight did make it and all the arrangements the hotel made for the transport were spot on...both upon arrival and on our return. The driver met us at the gate with a sign, we boarded a large, air conditioned van and headed to Chiliqa, the port where the ferry leaves from. We got there 10 minutes before the ferry left, the driver bought our tickets (all of this included in our private transport fee) and off we went on the 20 minute ferry ride. Arriving on Holbox, there was someone waiting for us with the taxi golf carts (cars not allowed on the island) and we arrived within five minutes to Mawimbi. We were greeted warmly by Jeevyl who invited us to a welcoming cocktail in the restaurant. The hotel is very quaint and well designed with lots of wood holding up large palapa roofs...the grounds are entirely the beautiful, white, fine sand from the beach so you immediately feel as if you are on the beach as soon as you enter the grounds. The restaurant is an open air palapa with very comfortable seating both under the roof and on the beach itself. Our room was ready in 10 minutes and Jeevyl led us up to it...instead of room numbers, the rooms are named and ours was Delfin (Dolphin). The room itself was casual and simple but with all you would need...comfortable bed, A/C, terrace with hammock and small table and chairs and a large, clean bathroom. Right on the beach in front of the hotel are a number of comfortable lounge chairs, hammocks and large swinging beds...all under the numerous palm trees planted throughout the grounds. There is a book in the restaurant that documents the building of the hotel and it is quite amazing to see what Ornella and Carmelo did to create this small paradise. Our days were spent lying around in the sun, sipping cocktails, beach combing, bike riding and restaurant touring. The mornings always started off with the included breakfast of fresh tropical fruit juice of the day, coffee, a large bowl of tropical fruits (bananas, mango, maracuya, kiwi, papaya, etc.), toasted baguettes with butter and incredibly fresh, home made tropical marmalades. There was a real serenity to the place and warmth from all the staff...Jeevyl, Daniela, Francisco and Randy and others we didn't get to learn their names but always greeted you with a smile and a buenos dias. The owners are on site and always making sure all guests are happy and that the grounds are in pristine condition. We went out on the hotel's boat, La Buena Onda II, with Captain Leo and Guide Andres to swim with the whale sharks and that was an incredible experience. The wonderful service from the hotel was carried through onto the boat...on the ride out, we found a pod of dolphins and the captain was able to put us right in the middle and allow us to float amonst them while they played happily around us. Once we got to the whale sharks, there were a large number of boats, so Captain Leo did his magic on the radio and found out about another spot nearby...we arrived there with only 5 other boats around and even more whale sharks than in the last spot. We were able to go in and swim with these incredible creatures as many times as we wanted and for however long we wanted....something that the other tours on the island limit quite a bit. Andres was an incredibly accomodating guide yet was always concerned for our safety and the care of those majestic animals. Truly a once in a life time experience. So, we would highly recommend anyone planning on going to Holbox to stay at Mawimbi and take full advantage of all the services that the hotel offers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MexRazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This review is long overdue. There is a reason Mawimbi gets such good reviews. We stayed here in early May of this year. The owners and staff go out of their way to make your stay a great one. The hotel is charming, the grounds are spacious and spotless, the food and drinks are good, and the location can't be beat. Thank you Onny and everyone. If you are going to Holbox, Mawimbi should be at the top of your list.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank many3putts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We (4 travelers) specifically came to Isla Holbox to snorkel with whale sharks. We stayed at Hotel Mawimbi for 3 nights.Then property is kept immaculate and we felt like we had found our own little piece of paradise. It's a place to go barefoot on clean white sand under palm trees, even in the restaurant. Food is very fresh; fruits, seafood, juices. The staff is very accommodating and professional. The two days we went out to look for whale sharks, we swam with manta rays and whale sharks. The guides were professional and kept to the Mexican standards of whale shark protection. We saw other boats that were not following these standards that may endanger and stress these amazing animals. Be sure to bring insect repellent as no-see-ums can be pesky at times.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We enjoyed three peaceful days at Mawimbi. The Gulf was calm; the beach was very clean; the hotel was very well kept: clean and tidy; the food was excellent; the beach hammocks were wonderful; our beach-front room was perfect; and the beach bar was fun. But what really stood out to me was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Randy (barkeeper) and Jeevyl (front desk) were particularly awesome. Note: do avoid this place is you suffer from allergies or are sensitive to chemicals. The owners have two dogs who have uncontrolled access to all parts of the resort (and can make a lot of noise). Also, at one point, while I was enjoying a nap in one of the beach hammocks, the owner, without any sort of warning, thoroughly sprayed the sign next to (and up-wind) of me with Raid insecticide. It was quite annoying.

Room Tip: Ocean-view, beach-front seemed best to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l_conant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Hotel Mawimbi is a slice of heaven! The owners are friendly and wonderful- constantly making sure you are happy. They have cute dogs that roam the property too. The rooms are spacious, all have AC and are kept very clean. The location is perfect- right on the beach at the end of the chain of hotels and restaurants so you feel like you are off the grid. The restaurant and bar are open late and have a wide variety of drinks. The food menu is a bit limited and pricey, but you are so close to town and many many restaurant choices, that you can easily go somewhere else for dinner if you choose. I give it 5 stars because of the cleanliness and the friendliness of the owners and all of the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank photoggirl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stumbled across this hotel on the web while trying to find a place to spend the night before going on a whale shark expedition. There were 11 of us coming from the US,Norway and Cozumel. Trying to arrange transfers, lodging, food, a place to spend the night from Texas a few days before leaving and getting everyone's blessing was proving to be very difficult. I had sent several emails to several hotels on the island, but the only person who responded promptly was Jeevyl from Mawimbe. She arranged roundrip transfers from Playa Del Carmen for the group to Holbox and back, food, lodging, etc. Without her, we would have never been able to get to snorkle with the whale sharks, which for us was a bucket list item.
The hotel is very unique. I am not sure how to describe it. The pictures on their website are accurate and it is a very comfortable place. We will definitely go back there and are indeed planning to spend a few days there next year before our annual trek to Cozumel. This time only to sit on the beach and relax.
I will say that even though we had four children with us, I do not think I would take a child to this island.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with refrigerators and small kitchens if you need coffee at all hours like we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rturo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Address: Calle Igualdad, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbox Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: $75 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small charming tropical "hotelito" with only 10 rooms, built in the middle of a lush tropical garden located in the beautiful white beach of Holbox Island in Mexico Hotel facilities includes 2,500 square meters (8200 feet) of beach with wood sunbeds, hammocks and swing beds. This palm shaded beachfront oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town, only two blocks distant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing