We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it....will definitely stay again. Great service, great whale shark trip, GREAT beach, etc.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holbox Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Absolutely loved Hotel Mawimbi. Great staff, great service, whale shark tour was fantastic and what a beach. Will definitely return again and again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ChuburnaFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 690 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

We were SO glad we chose Mawimbi. Everyone was accommodating and warm, from the owners, Onny & Carmelo, to Jeevyl in the office, to Randy & Francisco, the barkeep/waiters. (Francisco may also be called Pancho or Paco; he seems to change it every day with a sly smile on his face.) ;D

We asked to change rooms the 1st day, as we'd booked one that was just too small. Onny cheerfully put us in 'Manatee' - we LOVED our Robinson-Crusoe 2-story room! It was well worth the extra $30/night, and still a great value. We had a balcony with an ocean view that always had a nice breeze, and palms and frigate-birds overhead. We then moved to another room just for the last of our 8 nights, and saved $ on that one. It all worked out!

In the back-side rooms, the road can be a bit noisy, and next time we'd probably pay to be beach-front.

Meals are in the sand, either under a fan in the open-air restaurant, or right on the beach, with candlelight at night. It's very romantic. Breakfast, included, is fabulous fresh fruit, fresh mango or melon juice, toast w/butter & just-made jam, coffee, tea. It was great.

We were also really glad we paid a skosch more and used Mawimbi for our whale shark tour. The boat was comfortable, and the guide, Andres, spoke fluent English. He was very conservation-minded which we appreciated. They were very respectful of the sharks & said that if they turned away, they'd leave them alone & only swim with ones that turned towards us. Indeed the sharks weren't skittish at all! Andres had told us 'Do not touch. They don't like it and it's not good for them' and I had to swim away several times to keep the shark from moving into me. (SO cool.)

We saw dolphins, a huge manta ray that went under the boat and a turtle. It's a long trip out - over an hour, and a bit rough, but well worth it! You can see our 2-min. video of the swim at (music credit: Elvis):

http://vimeo.com/27209873

If we go back to Holbox, we will definitely stay at Mawimbi again. On our walks and bike ride, we looked at all the other places. Mawimbi is the best.

Room Tip: Beachfront upstairs looks divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JENCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Hotel Mawimbi is a lovely hotel right on the beach on Isla Holbox. Our room was small but perfect for us, every little detail thought out carefully. We had a balcony with table and chairs and two hammocks -- even on a hot day, a breeze kept the balcony comfortable and air conditioning and/or a ceiling fan kept the room cool. The owner is gracious and helpful; food at their outdoor bar and restaurant was delicious with fresh fruit every morning and fresh fish for dinner, often right off the fisherman's boat. They have two double kayaks (no charge for guests), beach lounges, hammocks and even a swinging "bed" under a canopy -- we enjoyed them all. This hotel is at the edge of town, a short walk from the central square, local restaurants and shops. We took the whale shark tour and it was worth every penny. They have a wonderful boat, guide and skipper. I highly recommend the hotel and the tour.

Room Tip: We and our friends enjoyed the second floor rooms with balconies overlooking the beach and bar/resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suebach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Everything you read on the other reports are true. This is a beautiful, small hotel/cabana which is family owned and right on the beach. Many of the other places have a sand road between them and the ocean meaning the golf buggy "taxi's" pass by. The road runs behind the Mawimbi. All the rooms we saw were beautiful, you dont need to be facing the ocean, they all have lovely views and are beautifully decorated inside and out. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the food is excellent. All the staff were lovely and very helpful. We went to Holbox to specifically see the whale sharks. The Mawimibi run their own boat which was much nicer and more comfortable than the other boats that do the daily trips (in season). I would strongly recommend you use the Mawimbi boat for the full day trip as they do not rush you when you swim with the whale sharks and you get as many turns as you want in the water. Also included in the price are some very tasty sandwiches, biscuits and drinks. We had a good walk round the island and believe me, the Mawimbi was the perfect place to stay. A long way from England but well worth it. Isla Holbox is beautiful.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were beautiful, dont worry if you cant get an ocean view. The balcony/ patio ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scubagirl022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The golf cart taxi orginally took me to a hole in the wall (literally) motel. After walking around the town I asked people where I should stay. Mawimbi was highly recommended and I can see why. The price was reasonable I paid $60.00 and the service was friendly. The room was clean as were the linens. Water to drink was provided. I did the Whale Shark tour with this hotel as well and would recommend it as they had the fastest boat and we were at the spot of the whalesharks well before the other companies.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JENBAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights a couple of weeks ago and didn't want to leave. Holbox island is absolutely beautiful and Hotel Mawimbi is perfectly placed right on the beach. The room was great with a lovely little balcony and hammock overlooking the beach and had everything we needed whilst still keeping a nice relaxed Mexican beach style.

All the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful and they even made us a sandwich to take on the bus when we left! We booked on the whale shark tour through the hotel and had such a good day out that we went out again later in the week.

We couldn't fault anything about the hotel or the island, our only worry is that it's so great that it might get spoilt like the Riviera Maya has been.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beaner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We loved Mawimbi. We stayed for 3 nights and found it to be a great place to stay. The beach is secluded yet within easy walking distance to the main part of town. There are so many little details in the beausty of the place. Unfortunatley we didn't get to go on a whale shark tour because we arrived rigtht after a tropical storm had passed through. Even though the beach was nice the seas out where the whales congregate were too rough. That means we will be going back next year. Mawimbi will definitely be our first choice hotel. If you get a chance to stay here, mkae sure you pay attention to all the details of the property....very charming.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank JacMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,165 reviews
0 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Address: Calle Igualdad, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbox Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: $75 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small charming tropical "hotelito" with only 10 rooms, built in the middle of a lush tropical garden located in the beautiful white beach of Holbox Island in Mexico Hotel facilities includes 2,500 square meters (8200 feet) of beach with wood sunbeds, hammocks and swing beds. This palm shaded beachfront oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town, only two blocks distant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing