We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Rented a cabana for one night with private bathroom at this beautiful resort. Rustic but clean and beautiful!! The prices were extremely reasonable for a stay on this beautiful island. The owners were incredibly sweet and helpful. The grounds are extremely well maintained - sand is groomed every morning. Welcome candies in dish on table was a nice touch!

Room Tip: If you would like your own bathroom rent one of the cabanas but don't worry if you are looking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    70
    26
    15
    12
See reviews for
22
119
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

i recommend this place it's close to the beach close to the small center and cheap. David and sasha are really nice and the community kitchen is great as well as the garden with hamacs where you can relax. good for backpackers, young couples that want to travel without busting their budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanickVarning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Holbox is a great island and theres nowhere nicer to spend it than Ida y Vuelta camping. We had a 2 bedded bungalow at the front of the accommodation and it was perfect for my family. We took our two young boys there and they loved it also. The rooms are modern, have a toilet and shower and are excellently decorated and have a fan, and soon to be air conditioning. We didnt even need the fan at night as it was reasonable at night.

The kitchen has a vast availability of utensils and you dont usually have to wait for long to cook anything, though we would only usually do breakfast. I didnt check out the dormitories, but people said they were really nice, with nice beds. The showers and toilet block were immaculate and well decorated. The site area is very well maintained and the sand floor is raked everyday for rubbish or debris from the coconut trees situated all around this site.

The staff are very nice and helpful. David was great, as were his wife. All very friendly and on hand to give advice or directions. It was a lovely place to stay.

The only criticism I have is of the flies in the communal (outdoor) eating area. There are loads of them. The restaurant staff need to wipe those tables down every time they clear a table. I never saw them do it once. Dishes left out were swarmed with flies and it becomes very annoying. However, this shouldnt distract from a really pleasant stay for all my family. My children want to go back. If we went back I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSerious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were very lucky to find this place. We booked a private bungalow which was far too big for the two of us with two bedrooms, and big bathroom and a huge kitchen area as well as hammocks. Lovely cabana, all very clean and comfy. The place has a lovely atmosphere with hammocks dotted around the bungalows. The place is decorated beautifully and seems to be developing all the time. Staff were all very helpful. Really wonderful place to stay on Holbox, would highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuauchichinola, Morelos, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is such a well build place, they have really considered the needs of travelers. I shared the little house with kitchen, it was such a nice place to relax, cook your own meals, plenty of room to unpack and recuperate after back packing for a while. Holbox was amazing, the seafood in town is so fresh! The beaches were beautiful, unspoiled, and wild!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uvanomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The stay here was wonderful. Combining hammocks, tents and cabanas, the team here have done a really great job of creating a little community that is social and friendly.
We stayed in a cabana with en suite one night, and another more basic cabana with a shared bathroom for another two nights. Both were great and actually we even preferred the basic cabana because we had more space. The shared bathrooms were very clean and one shower always has hot water, so no complaints there.
The on site cafe has a great choice for breakfast - eggs, cereals, smoothies, yoghurts, coffee - and you can order dinner in advance as they buy everything fresh on the day. There is a full kitchen so you can make whatever you want. In the evenings people have a few beers and play guitar in the common area, but it is quiet and here you can easily have an early night.
David and Anna at reception are friendly and accommodating, as is the girl in the cafe, who is always smiling.
Holbox is tiny so it's a 5 min walk to the main square, and only one dirt road away from the beach, which is worth the 3.5 hour journey to arrive here. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a picturesque, colourful, and immaculate family-friendly hostel offering a range of inexpensive accomodation, from cabañas to hammocks and tents, a small bar and resaturant serving tasty affordable fare, and a communal kitchen. There's free wi-fi too.
David, a bright and friendly Swiss gentleman, effortlessly oversees the running of the place, as well as offering extremely competitively priced tours, including swimming with Whale Sharks, my main reason for going to Isla Holbox.
The hostel is a clean and brightly-painted labyrinthine hotchpotch of screened cabins, with wooden canopies protecting string hammocks for sleeping in at night, or lounging in during the baking hot afternoons. The sleeping hammocks all have integral mosquito nets, and the staff fumigate to keep the little blighters down daily. The baños are brightly tiled and clean -always a good sign. Its location is 2 minutes walk from the beach and shops, and 10 minutes stroll from the town centre. There's an ATM just by the entrance.
David and his friendly and efficient staff made me feel totally welcome, bent over backwards to make my stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, and always had time for even the smallest inquiry or problem. I'll be coming back here for sure.

Room Tip: Book or reserve ahead if you want to be sure of a cabaña, this place is often fully-booked, with goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Q_TBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
1.1 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#9 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.3 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#19 of 19 in Holbox Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping

Property: Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping
Address: Avenida Paseo Kuka | Entre Robalo y Chacchi, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hostel consisting of ten cabins, located near the beach, city center and all services. Surrounded by coconuts, mangroves and palm trees has a rather broad garden. An appropriate atmosphere in which to hang a hammock and take a "sacred nap," where people can socialize and enjoy their vacation within nature. Warm and comfortable, the hostel offers to backpackers the chance to sleep in hammocks or beds in small wooden huts protected with mosquito net or pitch a tent on soft sand. Some bungalows palafito style with private bathroom to please couples and honeymooners and a fully equipped house, favorite option of families and small groups who want a bit more of privacy, are available as well in the property. Finally, guests can profit from restaurant, bar, hot water, fans, kitchen, small snack bar, tour desk, free Wi-Fi and relax area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping Hotel Holbox Island
Hostel And Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing