We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple island retreat in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The stay here was wonderful. Combining hammocks, tents and cabanas, the team here have done a really great job of creating a little community that is social and friendly.
We stayed in a cabana with en suite one night, and another more basic cabana with a shared bathroom for another two nights. Both were great and actually we even preferred the basic cabana because we had more space. The shared bathrooms were very clean and one shower always has hot water, so no complaints there.
The on site cafe has a great choice for breakfast - eggs, cereals, smoothies, yoghurts, coffee - and you can order dinner in advance as they buy everything fresh on the day. There is a full kitchen so you can make whatever you want. In the evenings people have a few beers and play guitar in the common area, but it is quiet and here you can easily have an early night.
David and Anna at reception are friendly and accommodating, as is the girl in the cafe, who is always smiling.
Holbox is tiny so it's a 5 min walk to the main square, and only one dirt road away from the beach, which is worth the 3.5 hour journey to arrive here. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 291 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a picturesque, colourful, and immaculate family-friendly hostel offering a range of inexpensive accomodation, from cabañas to hammocks and tents, a small bar and resaturant serving tasty affordable fare, and a communal kitchen. There's free wi-fi too.
David, a bright and friendly Swiss gentleman, effortlessly oversees the running of the place, as well as offering extremely competitively priced tours, including swimming with Whale Sharks, my main reason for going to Isla Holbox.
The hostel is a clean and brightly-painted labyrinthine hotchpotch of screened cabins, with wooden canopies protecting string hammocks for sleeping in at night, or lounging in during the baking hot afternoons. The sleeping hammocks all have integral mosquito nets, and the staff fumigate to keep the little blighters down daily. The baños are brightly tiled and clean -always a good sign. Its location is 2 minutes walk from the beach and shops, and 10 minutes stroll from the town centre. There's an ATM just by the entrance.
David and his friendly and efficient staff made me feel totally welcome, bent over backwards to make my stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, and always had time for even the smallest inquiry or problem. I'll be coming back here for sure.

Room Tip: Book or reserve ahead if you want to be sure of a cabaña, this place is often fully-booked, with goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Apart from my mosquito problems ( I had to have full reed repellent protection as soon as I leave mosquito net), this place was very nice. it's at the hotel zone end of town so there is not much around but I didn't feel that I had to go anywhere. Beach was down the road and their restaurant was good so I had all meals there. The price was very reasonable too. We were there for 3 nights.

David was super helpful. We really appreciated him trying to post the sunnies we left in our taxi back to Aussie for us. They also helped order us a taxi to Tulum, thi saved us 4-5 hours.

The Italan couple in the restaurant make beautiful authentic pastas. We also loved their lemon pie.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We arrived and by accident the taxi brought us to this lovely hostel - just where we wanted to be!
The owners are so friendly, everything worked out perfectly. We just had time to spend one night, it was a shame, I would have liked to stay longer. The cabana was great, with bathroom and warm water!!!
The hostel is close to the beach, not far from the centre and just a very good built hostel!!!

Room Tip: Room with bathroom is worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonne908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Seven of us stayed here recently (in a double and the apartment) and although the property itself is lovely, there are pros and cons.

Pros
Lovely rooms & apartment (kitchen included)
Great location - 10 mins from town, close to the beach (but the nicer beach is a golf buggy away)
Decent kitchen
Clean bathrooms etc
Average food
Nice outdoor, socialising areas

Cons
Our room was attached to the kitchen and was a bit noisy, as people socialise in the kitchen.
Our room only had screen windows and no curtains, so privacy was a bit of an issue, also the en-suite bathroom had no door.
Only sheets provided and we all got cold on our last night as there was storm coming in.
We were told that 'all food' was on offer at 50 pesos (bar the fish, understandably), then got charged 75 for a simple pasta dish?

Our biggest bugbearer was confusion over the price of rooms and room types. We booked through hostelbookers (paying 10% deposit), then were asked for a further 50% deposit to hold the booking which is strange? We paid this but were later told we wouldn't have the hostelbookers deposit taken into consideration, as this goes to the website - why is it therefore called a deposit. We were also told that we could have the apartment for 4 people and a double with an extra bed (for 3 people) for $42, there was no room for the extra bed in the double, so the 7th person was given a terrible camper-bed (which broke in the night) in the apartment (akin to sleeping on railway tracks apparently). We were told we wouldn't get charged for this but were still charged the $42 for the double. When we tried to include the hostelbookers deposit in the payment we were told that we actually owed him money for the camper-bed but he had let us off, even though we still paid the $42 for the non-existent triple.......

So although I thought the actual property was really nice, their handling of payments etc is pretty off putting and we were never able to find the owner to sort anything out - we literally had to search the hostel to check in.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosats148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolboxHostel, Manager at Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

hi guys, Thank you so much for taking some time to write a review for our Hostel. Comments of our guests are very important to us, below you will find our replies.

The room where you stayed is indeed located behind the kitchen, and it is true that the kitchen can get a little noisy sometimes since there are people preparing food and chating. However, I mentioned this issue when you arrived, and you agreed saying that there would not be a problem since you were planning on spending most of your time out of your room. I would like to inform you that we will be remodeling the room where you stayed and the kitchen, we will connect the kitchen to the room and it will be a private house with private kitchen. This is something we had already planned some time ago, once this is finished, we will not have any rooms connected to the kitchen.Maybe some day when you visit Holbox again you could give us a chance to show it to you. Of course you will love it.

Regarding the issue with the privacy since there were no curtains on the windows, I want to bring to your attention, that your room’s window is covered by the palapa roof, most palapas on the area are built in this way, however if you needed some curtains to make your room feel a little more private you could just ask for them and we would have been more than happy to provide them to you. Why do people complain without asking and without giving the chance to the hotel to make them feel at ease?

You mentioned that you could not find me. To my recall, I (Davide Rimoldi) welcomed you and your party, introduced myself as the owner and manager, showed you the rooms, and after this you sat at the restaurant to eat. When you were finished eating, I asked you how you wanted to handle the accommodation for the 7th guest since we only had Hammocks, Catre (camper bed) or a mattress without the base, it was you who decided you wanted the camper bed for the 7th guests and we provide it to you.

The problem with the sheets could easily been solved as well by just asking for more blankets to me or any of the employees that work there from 7am to 10pm. How is it possible that you did not see any of them?

You said that you were never able to find me. Again, it was me who provided you with a map of the Island, I also went over the map with you showing you were the main beaches were and other general information. I was also the one who arranged your taxi from the hostel to the ferry. You got to know me even before arriving because I was the one who arranged your transfer from Tulum.

As far as the price for the food on our restaurant, we do offer food for $50 pesos, it does not mean that “all food” will cost $50 pesos. If you order pasta with fish, or one of our premium pasta dishes the price would be a little bit more, in this case it was $75 pesos, much less than the centre. We do not “just change the prices” like you commented, you could have mentioned the price differences with the restaurant manager before you left and we could have sorted this out. I asked him (the restaurant manager) if you had made any comments to him, and all he said was that you paid your bill two days after, and you even left, according to his words “A nice tip”.

Concerning the room price it is just about mathematics. You only booked one room, not two like you mentioned. The house you booked it was for 4, not for five like you ended up. Therefore there is an extra person to be paid. I didn’t charge you for that person and I explained you that I would take the deposit you made instead at the time of reservation.You gained 5 USD per night with this decision. You came over and I told you in details how we would have fix it. You agreed!

Anyway, thank you so much again for taking your valuable time to write your feedback. As mentioned before it is very important to us. It would be much more helpful if next time you tell your problems or misundertanding before you leave or at the moment it is happening instead of telling the world your story which differs quite a lot from the reality.

We hope you can visit Holbox and give us a chance to show you how much we care of our guests. We have always been motivated to provide a quality service, since our only goal is to exceed our guest’s satisfaction. If this didn’t work with you, well, sorry man!

Warmest regards:
Davide Rimoldi
General Manager & Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We booked for 5 nights over new years and were very happy!

David and Sasha the owners were very accommodating and helpful our entire stay. We struggled to find budget accom over new years but David helped us find somewhere even though the hostel was virtually booked up. The way he did this was moving us around into accom as it became available. This could have been unpleasant, but David organised everything perfectly and arranged our bags to be moved while we were on the beach so we didn't have to worry. When we had some issues with the noise from the bar (because I was feeling sick) we talked it over with David who helped us find a solution. Our advise - if you want something just ask and they are happy to see if they can help. We experienced this right up to the end when we asked David and Sasha how to get to our next stop and they offered to take us there as Sasha had to drop her father at the airport. We were made to feel like family - very very rare for any hostel.

During our stay we moved in 3 of the 4 different types of accommodation available: tent, private room w shared bathroom and private cabana with ensuite. All of the above were well maintained and clean, this is true for the entire site. We particularly loved the cabana which was raw but well appointed.

The site itself had a nice atmosphere, created by the intimate communal environment, centered around the bar, kitchen and hammock area.

IF you like a quieter eco communal vibe you will love Ida y vuelta

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed for 9 nights and really enjoyed our time there. The first nights we stayed in the quartito which is under the same roof as the kitchen is. It has got one room with a private bathroom with hot shower and is very pretty. When more people arrived it became quite busy in the kitchen in the late evening and night, so we changed to another cabana,a wooden one which was really quiet and at least as charming as the quartito. It is completely wooden, except of the bathroom, standing on stackes and has got 2 big windows with mosquitonets and shutters you can close when it gets windy. The beach is a 2minutes walk away and the town centre an around 10 minutes walk. The way the owners take care of their guests is as sweet as the whole place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#16 of 20 in Holbox Island
481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#20 of 20 in Holbox Island
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#9 of 20 in Holbox Island
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping

Address: Avenida Paseo Kuka | Entre Robalo y Chacchi, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Holbox Island
Price Range: $17 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hostel consisting of ten cabins, located near the beach, city center and all services. Surrounded by coconuts, mangroves and palm trees has a rather broad garden. An appropriate atmosphere in which to hang a hammock and take a "sacred nap," where people can socialize and enjoy their vacation within nature. Warm and comfortable, the hostel offers to backpackers the chance to sleep in hammocks or beds in small wooden huts protected with mosquito net or pitch a tent on soft sand. Some bungalows palafito style with private bathroom to please couples and honeymooners and a fully equipped house, favorite option of families and small groups who want a bit more of privacy, are available as well in the property. Finally, guests can profit from restaurant, bar, hot water, fans, kitchen, small snack bar, tour desk, free Wi-Fi and relax area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping Hotel Holbox Island
Hostel And Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing