We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Wildwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great vacation”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a vacation we had here. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome, cold drinks and big warm smiles. Our suite was so pretty, crisp white walls with homely candles, it was comfortable to stay in and the bathroom worked well. The location is stunning and the way it has been kept so natural is just wonderful. The whole Island runs at a different pace to the rest of the world and I hope to take a leaf out of their book and slow down just a little. The staff do every job well and the housekeeping, reception and dining room were all wonderful to us. My new wish list would have this place top of my list to have more days in this Island paradise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    259
    106
    40
    22
See reviews for
210
608
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We came to Holbox Island for a different kind of holiday. We usually do the package deal but wanted to do something else. It was more expensive than usual but was just amazing. The first sight of the hotel is unreal, the buildings are on the beach of pure white sand and the sea is warm. What a shocker when you expect it to be freezing like always. The bedroom was big, with modern furniture and a bathroom out of a magazine, the views of the sea were unreal. The whole place is geared to make you relax, and it's made so easy, we loved the hammocks once we got the trick of spreading your weight. The Island is a one off and I hope it stays like it for others to see. Amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprice91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A little off the beaten track but once you get there you don´t want to leave. We are a couple in our 50´s and have travelled all our lives and this will rank as one of our new "must do´s" if friends ask where they should try. Holbox is a quiet and relaxed side of Mexico we´d never seen and this hotel is a little hidden treasure amongst all the greenery by the amazing beach. First class attention to detail from arrival to check-out with friendly staff. Superb room, lovely bathroom, comfortable bed and with the best sea views you could only dream of. The food in the restaurant was always fresh and interesting with a focus on local fresh produce, like fish and lots of fruits which was all great. We went here to unwind and didn´t expect to do much but ended up snorkelling, fishing and windsurfing! Enjoyed the relaxed evenings and after dinner drinks with new friends we made. This holiday was a great experience all round.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at Villas HM Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Villas Paraiso del Mar. We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come!

Best regards from Holbox.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam, netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here with he family (2 kids) for 4 days. Rooms spacious and clean, bathroom the same. Breakfast very good with something special every day and choice enough for the kids. We didn't do the all inclusive so we walked into the village (10 min along the beach) for lunch and diner. The sea is clear and warm and the fish and rays swim around you!
Great place to either end your tour of Yucatan or start it (like we did). Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at Villas HM Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read your review and to learn that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you again for the encouraging words, we look forward to welcoming you back at the Villas Paraiso del Mar.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend and I (she came from England, I from Canada) visited Paraiso in April. This was not the first time to Holbox for either of us.

The lobby is open and spacious. The front desk staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. The lobby leads off to either the rooms or the restaurant/bar. There are couches and private areas to sit and relax.

There are sand paths to the rooms. The hotel is bigger than some of the other resorts on Holbox and also offers all-inclusive, so this - no fault of the hotel - put me off a bit. If a hotel needs room # signs on its paths, it's too big. But that's just me.

The room itself was really nice. Two large beds, A/C, a sink area, safe, plus a separate large shower room with toilet. I think there was a fridge and tv too, although we never switched the tv on.

The resort is right on the beach, but it is behind the "sand road" running across the beachfront. So if you're lying on a beach bed, you have to look over a small brush hedge and down to the water. It's a lovely relaxing location, but if you need to see waves lapping, pick Tortugas or Mawimbi instead.

The service was impeccable. All the staff - maids, waiters, front desk - were very friendly, helpful and nice.

The food was good. Because they offer AI, the breakfast (which was all we signed up for) was a buffet. Mexican choices, meats, cheeses, eggs, omelettes - the usual. On a few days there was a smoothie station which was incredible! We didn't eat there other than breakfast so can't comment beyond that.

Overall, it is a great hotel. I'd recommend it to people who usually go AI but want to get off the beaten track a bit. Otherwise it was a bit too big and a bit too AI for me. But that's just me! Lovely people - can't go wrong in Holbox.Go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mymillymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at Villas HM Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Villas Paraiso del Mar for your stay in Holbox and for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. Offering our guests outstanding service and making their stay as comfortable as possible is important to us, I am pleased to hear our efforts don’t go unnoticed.

We hope to see you back!

Best regards from Holbox.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A wonderful place to regain some "me" time and just kick back and relax. The hotel and the staff are fantastic all round. Warm welcome and immaculate room. We had a nice balcony and a hammock which was pretty cool. Views you only dare dream about. The beach is unique and full of interesting bird life and a few other animals. Took some great late night romantic strolls along the beach. Food at the hotel is on par with the best we've had in any top hotel. Fresh and creative and served by attentive and friendly staff. Holbox is a one off destination and this was one of those vacations we are not going to forget in a hurry.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just returned from a week at this lovely all inclusive on Holbox. (8/3- 8/10/13)
Would definitely return.

Rooms: We were informed on arrival that there was no record of our coming to the hotel on that date 8/3/13. However, we were quickly given room 102. A very nice room with a rather small balcony, but close (relatively speaking, all rooms a very close to everything at the resort - beach to lobby). After a few days in room 102, our ac broke. We were quickly moved to room 107. This was a larger room with seating area, larger balcony, hammock, and no neighbors above us. It appeared to be the same junior room price, bit just a much better room. Great for us, and much improved ac.
The rooms and entire grounds are meticulous. We found the beds, pillows, and linens to be very comfortable. Not to mention, the extra touches of fresh flowers and towel sculptures on our bed and bathroom floors each day.

Food: excellent! Especially for an all inclusive with one restaurant, we were in a similar resort (bel air collection in Cancun in March 2013). We had planned to venture out for a dinner or two, but never did. The service at the restaurant and on the beach was impeccable. Perhaps a little business like at times, but eventually warmed up as the days went on. Besides, I'm really not there to make friends. I just expect the service to be good. And, it was. There could have been a few more ceviche offerings, like daily, as this is a very popular dish on this fishing island.
Every meal, including breakfast, offered items cooked to order. The French toast is not to be missed.

Beach: Striking! Seemed to be ever changing depending on the weather, but never disappointing. Lots of mosquitos, but only at times. Easily kept at bay by Bull Frog and Deep Woods Off insect repellant. Iguanas around, dogs playing in the ocean (which were a pleasure to watch, but never a nuisance), and a raccoon on the beach at night sometimes.
Yes, the stars on the beach at night are truly something to behold. Especially, if you live in a city.

The town: we loved it there. Would ride the bicycles everywhere in the mornings.
Btw. The hotel bicycles are one thing that could be vastly improved. They were rideable, but check before leaving. Sometimes tires grossly under inflated. Also, if you get going too fast, the rusty bike chain would come off leaving you in a bind (unless you know how to get it back on again, leaving your hands greasy).
Again, as a complete dog lover, there were lots of seemingly happy dogs around town. They hang out in store front or home doorways, walk with their owners etc. no leashes, just business as usual for all. We only saw one cat during our visit. When we asked a waiter about the lack of feline presence, he told us that there were only 4 (known to him, at least) cat owners on the island.

Tours: didn't do whale shark due to the lengthy time, choppy water to get there, and confirmation of such by other visitors. They did say it was impressive. We went on the 3 island, 3 hour tour, and loved it. The flamingos are beautiful, as is the water.

Would definitely pay extra for private transport to ferry from airport.
We used Eduardo's company mentioned in previous reviews. Our driver, Charlito(spelling) left something to be desired. On the way to Holbox in a giant SUV- very nice- he was happy to stop etc. but, he drove like a mad man. He was also in such a hurry to deposit us a the ferry, he could not be bothered with a "thank you" for the 25.00/20% tip we gave him. On the way back, in a 4 door chevy of some sort, he brought his ample sized girlfriend. The two had a lovely chatty conversation in the front seats, as we frequently requested extra air conditioning to the back. This was necessary because he and girlfriend were comfy up in the front seats with girlfriends healthy girth blocking the majority of air getting to the back. Again, he drove like a mad man, passing cars abruptly on the two lane road, etc. No offers to stop etc. Oh well...

Ferry ride is nice, and easy. Lots of golf cart taxies await you for trip to the hotel. Front desk arranged prompt taxi service for our departure the night prior to leaving.

And, a very unexpected pleasure from the hotel, was our departure box breakfast/lunch. We were leaving before breakfast. To our surprise, the night shift person at the desk handed us a big bag when we returned the keys. Inside we found sandwiches, water bottles, and fruit. How nice! We hadn't requested it. A very special touch. Definitely left us with a good impression.

Hope to return to this great hotel on Holbox in the future. I'd really stay just about anywhere on the island. Very nice,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eydie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.6 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.5 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas HM Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas HM Paraiso del Mar

Property: Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Address: Avenida Plutarco Elias Calles s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico (Formerly Villas Paraiso del Mar)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas HM Paraiso del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas HM Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Holbox Island
Hotel Paraiso Del Mar
Paraiso Del Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing