We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
GDL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a place anyone would love we were there from the 26th. through the 30th. of December.
It's a nice "small" hotel that has everything. romms are large and comfortable, beautiful grounds, excellent service from the staff. It's located very conviniently 600m from town, so incase you need anything it's only a few minutes walk.

If I get the chance I would for sure go back to villas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RBG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    239
    100
    34
    22
See reviews for
189
565
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wow, this place definitely has the island feel. You realize on the journey over that you are going to be staying somewhere different, but the abundance of wildlife and the virgin beach we were not expecting. It´s really something to see. The hotel is located in a prime position on the amazing beach and is everything we hoped for. Great service, staff, food and rooms. The staff are friendly and helpful but not in your face. There are various water sports available from the beach via the hotel and I went on a fishing trip which was one of my favourite days. Didn´t get very lucky but it was an awesome experience. The town is quiet and doesn´t have much going on but with the fabulous facilities at the hotel that didn´t bother us. Would go here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arriving after a week Tulum , Holbox which I visited before and stayed at Mawimbi , still remains the same , this time with children I chose for a bigger hotel . Paraiso is a hidden place in the mid of a forrest near the beach , rooms are clean with all comfort , even nice hot water . service and staff helpfull although we didn't ask much . The hotel works as a big hotel , not like a small pousada you can book on holbox , here it is your own choice . We did not have the all in formula because restaurants in the small center have enough to offer , only breakfast we took in the hotel and was ok , only do not go to early as the choice is less at the buffet ( maybe goods arrive with first ferry )
Thee beach area is good , do not expect a dressed beach as on the photo , only chairs with cushons , the rest you fill in yourself .
As the hotel is hidden in a nice green forest , keep in mind that mosquitos have their habitat here and start to attack starting from sunset ...stay inside while sun is going down , or see the beautifull sunset on the beach , or better in the water because sand fleas also enjoy sunset .
For the remaining enjoy holbox , for afew days ..ideal to end a vacation ...

Room Tip: Do not spend more money on beach view as you have to look through many trees to catch a glimp of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank svenknokke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed ten nights here and there is much to like. The grounds are more beautiful than in the photos: a very lush, well built property on the beach and walking distance to town. The staff were mixed in our experience - some people exceptional, some seemed clueless or just inexperienced around customer service. We opted for the inclusive rate which we probably wouldn't do as we don't like eating in the same place 3 times a day. The food was okay with a few things that were very good. The rooms were comfortable, but a bit close together so outside noise (neighbors talking, walking by) is common, but nothing major. I would complain about the beds - way too firm, and when we called to ask for extra pillows, they had no more to give so sleeping was poor on our vacation. All that said, the island is amazing and untouched. I cannot wait to go back, and bounce around this charming town and beach. There are minor inconveniences everywhere, so for someone who loves Cancun, the Americanization, I'd recommend sticking with Cancun, Cabo, PV, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Joelth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Holbox and Villas Paraiso del Mar are a unique and fun way to experience Mexico. The property is very pretty and it is a short walk to the ocean. The service by everyone (except for the manager, Nicole) was pretty poor. The staff would constantly forget things like drink orders. The restaurant sometimes had good items but often was just ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James and Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Just returned from 11 nights in this hotel and it was luxurious, clean, quiet, efficient and basically paradise! I have stayed at Mwambi before and would rate this place higher. We booked a junior suit and were originally given a room with no balcony - after speaking to the friendly staff they happily swapped us the next day to a fab room with a balcony. The location is perfect - right on the beach, 10 second walk down to the sea. The pool is cute too but we tended to stay on the beach as the pool seemed to be in the shade. There is a pool bar and one restaurant - the food selection is ok, there were always a couple of fresh meat / fish options that the chef would cook for you in front of you and there was also always salad, nachos, fries, rice etc available. We went all inclusive and although we're not big eaters its definitely worth it for free cocktails all day!!

The villas are made up of 3 levels - the top level does not have any outdoor space, the ground floor has a terrace but its not very private so I'd recommend a middle floor as it has a balcony. However one downside is that if you have heavy footed people above you may get woken up when they start walking around as we did!!

The only criticism of this hotel is that there isn't really a good area to hang out in the evening - there is the lobby which has a bar and free Wifi, or there is the restaurant. This hotel would really benefit from a cool beach bar area to sit and chill in the evening - we tended to walk 5 mins down the road to Mwambi for drinks in the evening.

This was my second time to Holbox and i will definitely be going back. Holbox is a quiet, not commercial or touristy at all. There are no high rise hotels, no 18-30 groups and that is exactly why I love it!

Room Tip: Ask for outside space, middle level with a balcony or ground floor as they have a terrace and hammoc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yaz991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was a special trip to celebrate with my husband on a milestone birthday. Once on the Island the full glory of the ocean is difficult to ignore, I was thrilled with the hotel. Smiling faces and a lovely reception to greet us at the door. Nothing gets left behind in planning it's a perfect holiday here the people are sweet and generous and I loved the little flowers and candles around the room. The important bits were just as good, a deep mattress, spotless housekeeping and fabulous cocktails. We did a bit of exploring but we were drawn back to the lazy comfort of the hotel much too easily. Waited on hand and foot we thank the kind people here for making our trip a special one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.6 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas HM Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas HM Paraiso del Mar

Property: Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Address: Avenida Plutarco Elias Calles s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico (Formerly Villas Paraiso del Mar)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas HM Paraiso del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas HM Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Holbox Island
Hotel Paraiso Del Mar
Paraiso Del Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing