We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice clean place right on the beach with perfect staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2009

the rooms are very good and almost on the beach, the beach is big and clean.
nice place to chil down.
when we have time we wil go back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiterDenBosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 871 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2009

We have been to Hotelito Casa Las Tortugas twice. Once in April and once in May/June. It is a great hotel with a very friendly staff. The hotel is runned by an Italian/Dutch couple. If you like a serene scenery and enjoy some quiet time then you should check this hotel for yourself.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbaraVoorhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Las Tortugas arranged for a late transfer from Cancun for us - which was excellent, until we arrived at the Hotel. Reception shut, and no-one around. Eventually our taxi driver rang around and dragged one of the staff out of a local restaurant to let us in - not what we wanted after a long trip from UK! No attempt to provide us with anything to eat - which might have been a nice thought!
Next day we had breakfast in nice little open-air restaurant, and then went onto beach for a day of relaxation - this is a 'towels at dawn' resort - the sun is strong out here and ou do need shade - but with just 3 thatched canopies there weren't enough to go round - and if you weren't up at dawn to get your towel down then you found shade where you could! Bit annoying.
We took a beach bungalow for a bit more space, but not worth it . The rooms are very dingy, dark and small, with no outlook at all - rather claustrophobic. Beach front we were promised, but it wasn't - you could see the beach from our front door but it was 50 meters away through a narrow 'corridor' with bar and restaurant on one side and other cottages on other, then there are the various beach furnitures to negotiate. En-suites were fine but very compact - but remember this is not 5*, but neither do you pay for that.
Best part was the village and its people, Margaritas at the beach bar at sunset, Los Pelicanos restaurant in town and the ambiance of Holbox island.
We still enjoyed our stay, never felt threatened once, saw few mosquitos, and we do hope that the threatened Americanisation of eastern Holbox doesn't happen - as it has in Cancun [the pits!!] - it would ruin a beautiful unspoiled habitat and part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dragonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitomanager, Manager at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2009

we are really sorry about waht happened with your transfer.
the transfer company always advise us with a phone call but that night somethink went wrong and they didn t call us on time. i hope you understand that we are always triyng to do our best to let feel our client confortable and of course we know that after a long trip from Europe you don t espect to be waiting for long time before going to bed.

so i apologize again with you about what happened.

i also want to say that the room you had is a Suite and is a room with soft illumination to give the romantic feeling , and many peolpe loved it especially young couple and honeymoners. probably it wasn t the same for you and in this case i m sorry you didn t like it.
again i woul like to say that this is a family run B&B and we are always here available to try to do of your holiday a nice and relaxed stay..so i think that with communication you resolve all problems.

i hope this relpy makes thinks more clear .

saludos

enjoy Holbox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

casa las tortugas is a very nice hotel and the staff is friendly .
the beach is nice and clean with chairs and beds enough for all the people that are staying there. The lunch is very good.In town there are very good restaurants for diner and nice bars for a drink.The people are very friendly and will allways help you.
In the hotelito there is airco and a good werking shower with hot water that always works. I did not hear the disco and I did stay for fourteen days.
I will be back this year again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klazien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

It has taken awhile for me to get to this but what a great hotel in a great location. Was looking for a place that was small, clean, safe, and friendly. Las Tortugas fit the bill perfectly. The staff was was helpful and friendly. The bartenders at Midori's (part of the hotel) were wonderful and make a mean margarita. The hotel sits on a beautiful beach. There were beach chairs, hammocks, and a couple of hanging beds to relax in and soak up the sun. The only bad thing was that guests would throw their towels and other belongings over the chairs very early in the morning so if you are a late riser you may not get a chair as there were not that many. Midori's also serves breakfast and lunch. I didn't eat off the breakfast menu as continental breakfast was included in our room price so stuck with that (real basic but enough for me). The lunches were fantastic and the guacamole out of this world. The hotel reception area is nice, a central courtyard outside of reception provided places to sit and admire the flora and fauna. The hotel also provided small bottles of natural shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel-very nice. It was nice to see that there were only two levels of bunglows instead of all the highrise glitz one would see in places like Cancun. Our room came with a small frig which was nice to keep our water and beer cold. If nightlife is what you are after this is not the place to go but if all you want is a charming, small, relaxing, beautiful setting then Isla Holbox and Casa Las Tortugas is the place to go. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theworldismydestiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 6 days @ Casa Las Tortugas. It was unbelievable. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the staff is very friendly. The moment we walked into the 'hotelito' (the word hotel suggests big white building, this has typical mexican builiding style with palapas; thatched roof) over the white sand into the bar with view on the beach and sea, all we could say was "whoaa" and "wow"! We were overwhelmed by the beauty of the scenery.

In the bar (which is practically on the beach) you can have a very good lunch with nice sandwiches and delicious smoothies. On the beach itself are several beds and hammocks to enjoy the sun. But there's also enough shade from palm trees.

For activities around the island just ask the staff. There are some good kitesurfing spots, the owner can tell you all about it since he is a fanatic kitesurfer himself.

Having a good diner is no problem on the island. There are some good Italian restaurants and a very good Argentinian on a roof just 1 minute walk away from Casa Las Tortugas. I don't know the names anymore...but you can't really miss them.

Overall, it was the most relaxing holiday we've ever had, thanks to the staff, pat&fran&vic, the white beach, sometimes blue/sometimes green sea, the pelicans, the golf carts, sophia the dog, the library, the nicely decorated rooms, the gardener, the mother, etc. etc. Have a nice stay!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pitmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in February and it was better than we ever expected. We had the Tucan room which is two stories and lovely. Downstairs is the sink, hot plate and dishes and table, and upstairs is the bed, bath rocking chairs and a little balcony. The place was spotless everyday -- not easy given all the sand we probably dragged in. It also had a great front porch with a hammock and table and chairs where we could sit when the sun got too hot (get up before 11 to reserve your chair -- just throw your towel over it). The location cant be beat, there are chairs and palapas for everyone. Breakfast is simple and good -- coffee is hot, juice is cold and there's a variety of jam, bread and cereal. The staff was wonderful as well. Francesca and Patrick were very helpful and just nice to talk to, Sara answered my MANY questions as well, and Jean-Carlos at the bar was great to chat with during happy hour too. My advice is: definitely let them plan the transportation for you from Cancun -- so worth the money. Also, sleeping with a straw roof is great, but can get chilly if the wind blows...bring warm p.j.s just in case. Also-- great hot water--just takes a few minutes for it to get warm.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented
0.3 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#12 of 20 in Holbox Island
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: $332 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront boutique hotel, run by Italian family. 21 charming new rooms, Spa, Yoga center,Kiteboard school, Beach club and organic restaurant. The design influence of Francesca and her mother Greta is evident in the hotel’s 21 romantic rooms and suites, from the carefully sourced antiques and local artisan-made colonial-style furniture to the fine linens and contemporary twist on traditional Mexican fabrics. It’s a ‘bohemian-chic’ feel that fits perfectly with the relaxed ambiance of the resort. Add in roomy double-loungers and palapa daybeds on the beach – as well as a spacious new pool – and you have the perfect formula for lusciously lazy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel Holbox Island
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel And Spa
Hotelito Casa Las Tortugas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing