We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Casa Las Tortugas was a great spot to choose for our honeymoon and we leave without a single regret. The overall ambiance is very laid back, the beach is clean and the staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Our A/C was fixed within a couple of hours of letting the maintenance team know. The hotel did a great job of arranging all of our activities for us and advising us on other things to do. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Would splurge for the beach side rooms. We will for next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 881 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Individual rooms all with character, good service but unobtrusive . Sun downer cocktail bar catching the sunset each night a must!! Cocktail party great fun and complimentary drub & sushi generous.
Food attention to detail v good and Mexican style breakfasts great

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelagh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was our second trip to Holbox, but our first time staying at Casa las Tortugas. This hotel is lovely, very picturesque and the staff is great. Everyone was very helpful and always willing to answer questions. It was great to have a pool to jump into and cool off, yes you are right next to the Gulf but sometimes it's nice to get out of the salt water.

We stayed in a pool view room. The room was nice, very clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable we've had at any hotel we've stayed at. However, though one side of the room had a pool view (which could get loud when kids were in the pool), the other side was facing a "side road" that lead to a road that ran along the beach. Not that it got a lot of traffic but you would get golf carts going up and down it from time to time, so if you area light sleeper you might want to consider one of their other rooms away from the pool and the road.

Breakfast was included with the room rate and we did have breakfast one morning. The other mornings we had early starts for tours and the restaurant doesn't open until 8am and there was nothing they could do for us, so keep this in mind if you are booking and have early mornings scheduled. The breakfast was good and more then enough for us, but we are not big eaters. If you are used to American sized breakfasts or the buffets they have in Cancun, you will not get that here.

Overall this was a lovely hotel. If we go back to Holbox we'd stay here again, though maybe not in the pool view room.

Room Tip: Pool view room had an extremely comfortable bed but if you area light sleeper you might want to cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We were traveling as a group of 7 with 3 adults and 4 children. Overall the facilities were amazing. Immaculately clean, beautiful pool, friendly staff all on a beautiful little stretch of beach. In our group we had 2 rooms. The ocean view 2 level suite was amazing and definitely worth the extra money. The poolside room for 3 was quite small. Both rooms had porches with hammocks.

The only real negative was the restaurant service, staff and food. The restaurant service was unbelievably slow even when we had mud-afternoon lunch with no other customers. The waiters attitudes varied from inattentive to downright cranky. Breakfast was adequate but minimal and the coffee was disappointing at best. The food there compared to the many other places we ate on the island seemed very expensive. The one bright spot in the restaurant ... The best margarita I've ever had bar none! Truly delicious.

We booked our whale shark excursion through the hotel and went out with Gustavo from VIP Holbox. He was an excellent guide with perfect English. We did pay $40 more pp than our friends who booked in town.

The yoga classes at the hotel were excellent and worth the $15/class we paid.

Overall, Holbox has to be one of the best spots on the planet. Beautiful, quiet, natural and reinvigorating. I plan to return within a year or two and will stay at Casa las Tortugas again.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Came to Holbox for the whale sharks but this hotel was totally super. Way beyond expectations. Room was interesting with local touches and unusual decorations. Totally clean - air conditioning and fan were perfect. Beds comfortable. The beach was so well kept we were amazed. Staff out in early morning removing palm tree debris and shells. Raking. Amazing prep to start each day. Chairs and beach beds put out for guests. Walked the length of the beach and nothing could compare. Restaurant staff friendly and attentive. Hotel booked our whale shark tour and we could not have been happier with the experience. Hotel is only a block away for the town square. Since that needs to be seen at night to get the full vibrancy of the island it's great that it is so close. No noise reaches the hotel.

Room Tip: We heard the beach view rooms were a treat, but we had a pool room over the spa which was nice and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelersTwoPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Well appointed, attentive staff, charming decor, perfect location for relaxing, easy access to variety of restaurants, has it's own great restaurant, Mandarina, quiet relaxation pool, palm shaded beach front, has Kite school and SUP.
We kept loosing our flip flops; just too relaxed and not needed.
Casa las Tortugas is idyllic.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelerabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We just spent a week here and we found the hotel just the right balance of rustic chic.
The hotel is very low key and the vibe is very relaxed....
gorgeous beach front setting on the most beautiful beach (not crowded at all) with the most beautiful sea.
The hotel is SPOTLESS...really clean..ok the house keeping don't replenish everything every day but personally I always find that wasteful and if you ran out of anything they would gladly give you more.
Our room was large bright and airy over looking the pool...huge comfortable bed ...
If I had one fault I think the music in the restaurant spoilt the tranquil peace of the place and hearing the same songs every morning over breakfast was a bit irritating.
The staff were lovely and friendly to us and really we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: take insect repellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mel_at_home_2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented
0.3 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#13 of 20 in Holbox Island
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: $297 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront boutique hotel, run by Italian family. 21 charming new rooms, Spa, Yoga center,Kiteboard school, Beach club and organic restaurant. The design influence of Francesca and her mother Greta is evident in the hotel’s 21 romantic rooms and suites, from the carefully sourced antiques and local artisan-made colonial-style furniture to the fine linens and contemporary twist on traditional Mexican fabrics. It’s a ‘bohemian-chic’ feel that fits perfectly with the relaxed ambiance of the resort. Add in roomy double-loungers and palapa daybeds on the beach – as well as a spacious new pool – and you have the perfect formula for lusciously lazy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel Holbox Island
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel And Spa
Hotelito Casa Las Tortugas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing