We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Perfection <3”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Casa Las Tortugas is the best hotel on Holbox -no doubt.
Great location, great beach, SUPERB restaurant, very nice rooms, clean & cosy, great service, lovely staff, fabulous spa, wonderful drinks etc, etc, etc...
You CAN'T go wrong here, and I can not wait to go back!!!!
Isla Holbox in generally is my hidden paradise on earth :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Line D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 852 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Having travelled to many places , and being a fan of small boutique hotels, I have to say that Tortugas is a keeper! This hotel is small enough that staff come to know you and your preferences very quickly. Breakfast is included , with three choices every morning, you will not be bored with the food. They bake their breads on site and all food is fresh. The dinner menu is small and did not change in the week I was there but there are other restaurants a few minutes walk away that may be more economical and offer variety. Service is friendly and helpful. Try a "health water" for the beach, comes in a glass jug and can last all day. Beach has many loungers, hanging beds and hammocks for a day of lazing around. The ocean is unbelievable! Shallow , warm and extremely walkable for kilometres . Front desk staff are amazing and always willing to help,going out of their way to make sure I was comfortable and well taken care of the whole trip. This is a small hotel and island that is worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curlymb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is our third time visiting Casa Las Tortugas. I think that shows you how happy we are to return here. This is much more than a hotel. It's more like a mini spa with "Agua Spa", where you can get a full range of treatments from massages to facials.

A great breakfast comes with the room at the Hotel' s Mandarina Restaurant. Not only are the breakfasts great but all are excellent. Some of the best food in town. The rooms are all excellent. We've stayed in a number of them. The most impressive part of this place is that the staff actually make you feel like they want to enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kabasile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Holbox Island is an entirely unique destination for relaxation, fine weather, and small quaint dining. Casa las Tortugas, which I left just yesterday, is most certainly part of the best of the island. The front desk staff were truly amazingly friendly and helpful. Transfers to the island require transportation from the airport to a ferry, ferry to taxi, then taxi to hotel. All were arranged flawlessly. Stress was absolutely minimal. The room, Canela / Cinnamon was clean, well kept, and beautifully designed. It was reminiscent of a bright cheery cave mixed with touches of treehouse. The view of the ocean was spectacular and the sideline view of the restaurant was constantly alluring. I'm certainly glad that I succumbed to the allure. The food at the restaurant, Mandarina, was excellent. Upon arrival, it was lobster night. I'll never admit that anything equals the Maine lobsters of home, but the dishes prepared were sensational. The carrot soup was fresh and absolutely perfect. I also loved the ceviche - a hearty portion of fish and shellfish rivaled only by those I've enjoyed in Peru. The pool is gorgeous, especially by night, with a central jacuzzi hot tub. Aside from the thought that WiFi boosters in the room would have made logins more predictable, I could find no fault with the establishment or the town. Isla de Holbox is definitely in my re-visit list. I hope my favorite patio table at Casa las Tortugas is still open when I return!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank doc1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have to complement the staff at Casa las Torugas for handling room problems efficiently and with professionalism. On arrival on Holbox our room was not ready. No problem, we had a free welcome drink and purchased a light lunch at their excellent restaurant. When the room was ready we we shown to a great room, but alas, the wrong room. No problem, we were promptly taken to the right room, with a large balcony, with hanging outdoor bed in the back of the complex. The problems started at this point: the toilet did not refill, there was air in the hot water line to the shower, and no wifi. Staff came up immediately to fix the toilet and try to get the air out of the shower line. There is no hot water in the sink for those of us who like to shave with hot water, it is only plumbed with a cold water line. We where shown to a first floor room, darker than the airy upstairs room, as an alternative room, which we declined. We stayed where we were and I talked with management the next morning and we came to an agreement that worked for us. I do thank them for that.
I hope they can get the wifi up and running in the room Estrella. The air in the hot water line will be difficult to get rid of, but adjusting the hot water mix with cold did stop the banging sound.
We would stay here again and hope to in the future.

Room Tip: The older rooms in the back do not have hot water lines in the bathroom sink. They also sit back aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retireandtravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at Torgugas in January 2014. We were excited, as we had heard so many good things and looking at images on-line the place looked very relaxed and very stunning.
We arrived to the harbour to take us to the island on the worst day of weather, the sea was grey, choppy and what we didn't know until we arrived on the island, is that we had only made the ferry by 10 mins, as they were stopping all crossing services due to bad weather.
The island itself when we arrived was very very wet, puddles everywhere and we looked at each other with 'what have we done' expressions. although heading out on the sup'd up Golf buggies was quite fun..even in the rain:)

After speaking with the locals on the way to the hotel, we were told that this was a freak storm that should clear within a few days...unfortunately, we were only there for a few days.

After the wet and disappointed journey to the hotel, we were extremely pleased when we arrived. We arrived at night time and the hotel was lit up and looked very picturesque. we checked in with reception and they gave us great information about restaurants within the island. We were taken to our room and again, despite the weather we were so pleased with the room, it was large and again very well presented. In the morning, the weather was still horrendous and it dampened our mood slightly, knowing the ocean was a mere 15-20 metres awat from our door...not much activity could be done outside.

The bed was comfy and huge, the bathroom was very nice with a rock effect shower which again was massive. It was easy to relax in this hotel and just walk around in bare feet all day.


If you walk from the hotel into the main square which is about 2 mins walk, if that. you have an array of restaurants and little craft shops. also you can rent the golf buggies out at a reasonable price for either and hour, 4 hours or longer. these are great fun to drive and being such a small island you can get everywhere quickly and easy.

As the weather was quite bad, we had to make the most of it and explore the restaurants. Two favourites with very good food and service were

RosaMexicano:
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g616319-d4476757-Reviews-Rosa_Mexicano-Holbox_Island_Yucatan_Peninsula.html
(I recommend the Tuna)

and

El Chapulim:
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g616319-d3222592-Reviews-El_Chapulim-Holbox_Island_Yucatan_Peninsula.html

El Chapulim they don't have a set menus and instead you have a choice of different meals each night. We had a sharing seafood dish, it was amazing!

We also ate at the hotel and this food was very good, very fresh and tasty. The restaurant is quite small but its makes the meal that much more relaxed.

Breakfast was part of our stay at Tortugas, this was simple and nice, and perfect light breakfast for the day ahead.

With the weather as bad as it was, as soon as you enter the pool area of the complex, the wind just vanished. the pool itself was pretty cold but due to the weather i can understand. Still stop me swimming in though.

We finally got a day of sun, unfortunately this was on the last day of our trip so we only tasted what could have been. As soon as the sun emerged, and was there to stay, the place came alive, activities on the beach, fishing, day trips to other small islands its just a shame we arrived 4 days too early!

We would definatley come back to Torgugas as the weather i don't think done it justice. the last day when the sun was out, we still managed a boat trip, trip to the Flamingos and swim in a natural spring, all before heading back to the harbour for our flight back.

The ocean facing room of Manderina was the perfect location and when the sun is out, you will not be disappointed.

One piece of advice though is to prep up on mosquito repellent, cream etc.. If you are prepared then i can't see anything else putting you off this island. although this wasn't too much of a big deal, we were still bitten when it was wet and windy, so can imagine it a little worse on hot day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayglowmoonboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We had 3 nights here but wished it had been more. It is by far the nicest hotel on the beach and probably also has the best spot.....near to the main square but not too near. The hotel staff were always very friendly and smiling and really looked after the place. They were constantly doing repairs and cleaning and you notice the difference that this work makes. It looks so smart compared to all the other places.

The restaurant staff were great and always on hand to cater for your needs. We only ate in the restaurant for dinner once as although the food is nice we felt there were just as tasty options nearby for half the price. Breakfast was delicious and you get to choose from 3 different options each morning. Great coffee which they refilled whenever you wanted more.

Cocktails were great. Happy hour 5-7pm was always a lot of fun! Relaxed atmosphere with good chilled music. Young crowd but also catered for young families too.

Will be back soon I hope.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#5 of 20 in Holbox Island
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 20 in Holbox Island
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: $212 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront boutique hotel, run by Italian family. 21 charming new rooms, Spa, Yoga center,Kiteboard school, Beach club and organic restaurant. The design influence of Francesca and her mother Greta is evident in the hotel’s 21 romantic rooms and suites, from the carefully sourced antiques and local artisan-made colonial-style furniture to the fine linens and contemporary twist on traditional Mexican fabrics. It’s a ‘bohemian-chic’ feel that fits perfectly with the relaxed ambiance of the resort. Add in roomy double-loungers and palapa daybeds on the beach – as well as a spacious new pool – and you have the perfect formula for lusciously lazy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel And Spa
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel Holbox Island
Hotelito Casa Las Tortugas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing