We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect trip for relaxation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. We didn't have one bad experience.

The previous reviews were spot on so I will just highlight the exceptional points.

-I would highly recommend paying the few extra pesos to use the transportation services provided by the hotel. It was all seamless. We never had to guess where we were supposed to go to next. This was nice considering you don't know where you are going from Cancun to the hotel.

-We had one day when the weather was windy. The hotel is designed to where you can spend your time at the pool instead of the beach. The buildings block all of the wind and make your time very pleasant.

-The service was exceptional! We dealt with 3 different waiters in the restaurant. Josimar and Jaziel were very helpful and pleasant. They answered all of our questions fulfilled all of our requests. I am not too sure about the name of our other waiter, perhaps Carlos Luis, but he was also very friendly.

I can't describe how relaxing this place really is. The pictures and reviews do not truly give you the best insight. You have to experience it for yourself. It is not touristy and is a very quiet place. It is not Cancun, Cozumel, etc...it is a small town with friendly locals who welcome you to their home.

We loved it and will continue to recommend this site to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 863 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our visit to Isla Holbox
We began our adventure from the Cancun airport in a Van that had been
pre-arranged by our hotel. We arrived at the dock in Chiquila' just under two
hours later after a pleasant trip through the countryside and through several
small towns. The ferry ride on the Holbox Express was $80 Pesos each (about $7)
and the ride to Isla Holbox was less than 30 minutes. When we arrived we were
greeted by our Hotel representative and our golf cart taxi. Just a few minutes
later we arrived at Casa Las Tortugas. What a paradise! They call themselves a
Petit Beach Hotel & Spa. Upon our arrival, the staff quickly took our luggage
and took us to the reception desk. The staff is delightful. Lorena and
Citlalin were both very helpful. There are 22 rooms and instead of each having
a number they each have a name. We stayed in "Frida". A very nice room tucked
away privately on one of the sand pathways that meander through the hotel
grounds. The room was spotless and
freshened each day. Bottled water was replenished each day as well. A lovely
private porch with chairs and table was just perfect for our nightly glass of
wine.
We also appreciated all of the help from Carolina. She was instrumental
in answering all of our pre trip questions in a timely and efficient manner.
There is no hairdryers in the room and just one or two at the front desk
to borrow and there are no washcloths provided, so you may want to pack those.
Our room included breakfast each morning at their Mandarina Restaurant and
it was delicious. Each day there are several meals to choose from, as well as
delicious fresh made juice and fresh bread and jam. We enjoyed getting to know
the staff and especially Natalia at breakfast. She was very sweet and helpful
about what we could find in town and spoke English, Swedish and Spanish. We
also enjoyed several lunches there at the hotel. The salads and shrimp
quesadilla were great. The lamb we had for dinner was excellent as well.
The spa services were very very good. Massages by Julietta and Erin
and facial by Julietta were all excellent. They also offer Yoga each morning.
The Hotel has a beautiful fresh water pool and spa. It is lighted
at night and very beautiful surrounded by pretty foliage and comfy lounges.
Great break from the Ocean...
Beach: The sand on the beach is soft and pure white. You can walk out
into the water at least 75 yards and not have water above your chest. Very
small waves lapping the shore and very calm. Being so shallow and near the
shore line the water is nice and warm. There are lots of lounges with cushions,
bean bag chairs, hammocks hung between palm trees and cabanas with thick
mattresses and pillows. A little for everyone and quite beautiful and relaxing.
Plenty of shade and plenty of sun. Decisions...decisions!
Around town: Walking into town is less than five minutes. Just on
the main square is the Catholic Church and many restaurants and shops.
One afternoon we rented a golf cart ($10 per hr) and our leisurely tour of
the island was fascinating. Seeing the islands homes, hotels and stopping at
the small convenience markets along the way was very interesting. A visit to
the small airport and the island's cemetery was quite enlightening as well. It
is absolutely impossible to get lost. The hard packed sand roads are easy to
follow and the island is small. Shopping was fun as well.
Some tips: We suggest you take pesos with you. There are a number of
ATM's on the island, but most were not functioning. Also remember that you will
probably be charges a transaction fee for the international usage. All sales
are transacted in pesos everywhere. Most add a 5% surcharge for the use of a
credit card.
Watch your travel times, especially leaving for the Cancun airport. Plan
to leave the island about 5 hours before your flight. (The earliest ferry is 7
AM). Try for at least a mid afternoon flight hoe if possible. Going to the
island be sure to get to the ferry before the last trip of the day , which I
think is 6 PM. There are always golf cart taxis waiting on the island at the
ferry. There are no cars on the island. Many times the hotel will make the
necessary travel arrangements with a reliable driver to get back to Cancun from
Chiquila'. Otherwise, use the taxi company at the airport.
In-town restaurant prices are generally less expensive than those of the
hotels/resorts. There are numerous restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner
that we didn't have time to try.
Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mickywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have had a fantastic time at Casa Turtugas. Great rooms,food, beach and atmosphere. Yoga classes was a plus. The spa treatments were great too. A little paradise! I would recommend it anyone who wants a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I have just come back from our honeymoon on Holbox Island. We stayed at the very lovely Casa Las Tortugas for 11 nights and I would come back again and again. The hotel is charming - considered without being contrived. The staff are all brilliant - friendly and warm without ever being in your face. You feel like you're at home....except that it's on the beach, with amazing food, delicious cocktails and beautiful sunsets.
If you like chain hotels, this is not for you. If you like something chilled & a little bit classy, this is your place. We usually backpack (*love*) and this was a brilliant upgrade without all the stuff we don't like about resorts/ overly touristy places.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaVita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for one week - we had an amazing time. The hotel is wonderful...loved the room, the food was wonderful, the staff was great! This was our first visit to Holbox. We will be back and we will certainly be staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Casa las Tortugas is absolutely amazing and it's located on one of the very best beaches on Holbox island, and it's also very close to the town centre.
You will have a great time if the weather is nice and you will also be able to enjoy some very nice food at the hotel restaurant, where there is an amazing beach view.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bass63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I loved this place - everything from our room in a Swiss family Robinson style thatched house, secluded up a private staircase, to the beach with its swinging beds and service which is at once both relaxed and attentive and never leaves you without a corona or a margharita for company. Good breakfast, great beach design, seriously good vibes plus they set up all our trips around the island for us including whale shark diving, sorting out a golf buggy, etc. can't say enough good things about the place.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sacha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.3 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 20 in Holbox Island
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: $212 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront boutique hotel, run by Italian family. 21 charming new rooms, Spa, Yoga center,Kiteboard school, Beach club and organic restaurant. The design influence of Francesca and her mother Greta is evident in the hotel’s 21 romantic rooms and suites, from the carefully sourced antiques and local artisan-made colonial-style furniture to the fine linens and contemporary twist on traditional Mexican fabrics. It’s a ‘bohemian-chic’ feel that fits perfectly with the relaxed ambiance of the resort. Add in roomy double-loungers and palapa daybeds on the beach – as well as a spacious new pool – and you have the perfect formula for lusciously lazy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel Holbox Island
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel And Spa
Hotelito Casa Las Tortugas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing