We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The staff are very friendly and professional. This beautiful boutique hotel caters to a variety of clientele, and they manage to please everyone - this hotel is great for travellers, families and/or romance! The grounds have a very intimate and tropical ambiance, and are perfectly kept, the rooms are clean and well decorated. The very enticing pool area and the beach hammock/chairs are also kept clean. The restaurant, which is on the beach, serves good food and the staff is great. They offer a variety of services onsite (yoga/spa) as well as setting up whale shark tours, birding tours, kiteboarding, kayaking, etc. They also arranged transportation to/from Holbox. This is a quiet, safe, friendly, beautiful relaxing place - enjoy! p.s. the beds were very comfortable!

Room Tip: west facing rooms / beach facing rooms may hear music from beach bars/fiestas. all rooms are nice, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mud21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    119
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
143
471
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here at Hotel Casa Las Tortugas. The shaff were great and we really liked the pool and the nice little rooms. The first night we were way up stairs and the stairs were very steep and narrow and my wife had a knee problem. We asked about changing rooms, but they did not have anything else that night, but they were able to move us the next day. The staff were great and the service was very good. We came to the Island of Holbox for the Whale Shark Tour, which was fantasic. But we also wanted to sample the Island life. Very nice Island, with very nice and friendly people. If we ever come back here we would stay at Casa Las Tortugas again. A little more money than some of the other Hotels, but worth paying a little bit more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diver0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Once again I trusted the recommendations in trip advisor and wasn't disappointed with the outcome. It's small and very cute hotel. The entrance already gives it a way. The pool has the right size to relax after sundown. The staff is very helpful and forthcoming. We stay 3 days in a normal suit and the last night in a pool view suite (which also has a partial beach view from one of e two balconies). To be honest in term of space we prefered the standard suite, because it is really big, has a fridge, a huge balcony and less sunny and noisy for a realxing good night sleep. The pool view suit is beautiful in terms of designand the shower is more powerfull, but it is noisier and in morning it gets really bright. All rooms (at least the once that we stayed in didn't have blackout shutters.
The restaurant is very good but very expencive for the amout of food you get. We just had dinner once and the dish I wanted was out. Breakfast is ok, but do be honest a bit thin. You choose between to variations of eggs and a fruit salat. It is not possible to get the eggs and the salat. At least not without paying extra. Coffee is ok and the bread is really good. It's homemade! Mmmm

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Faltboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had never written a Trip Advisor review before, but my experience staying at this hotel (and visiting Holbox in general) pushed me over the edge. I'm tempted to say that the island didn't meet expectations, that you are much better off staying in Cancun, and that you shouldn't stay at Tortugas, but that's only because I want to keep the island and the hotel all to myself.

Seriously folks, this hotel is pure paradise. My girlfriend and I stayed at Tortugas for 4 nights, and I have to say the whole experience was perfect:
- Spacious room (a second floor with another bed - are you kidding me?; 2 balconies, one of which has a hammock - insane; and, oh, by the way, ocean view).
- Delicious food (homemade pasta and fresh fish and vegetables plus an extensive juice menue for those of us who like that).
- Pristine and comfortable beach area with cabanas, lounge chairs, kiosks, and full service.
- Spa with 3x/week yoga lessons. (Of course, you should also get private lessons, which at $24 per person are unbeatable.
- Sweet, cozy pool.
- National Geographic-style private Kayak tour with wild flamingos and a crocodile (admittedly, we got lucky with the crocodile, but still)
- Most importantly, a staff that combines competency, professionalism and responsiveness with warmth and friendliness (only other place I've seen that at that level was at the French Laundry).

So, don't even think about it. Book the hotel, get to the island (Tortugas organized our transfer from Cancun, and it was absolutely flawless), check in (if you can, splurge and get an ocean-view room - totally worth it), enjoy the Happy Hour, get in the pool, visit the little town (and eat at Peleones, Viva Zapata and Buena Vista), and, oh yes, go on the Kayak tour.

To the staff at Tortugas, keep it up! Amazing.

Room Tip: Splurge a bit and go for the ocean-view room. Worth it! We stayed in Vanilla, and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Santiago60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I checked in on July 30th and stayed 4 nights for the beginning of our honeymoon. We couldn't have been happier! The room, spa, service, location, beach and restaurant were all wonderful.
The staff in the restaurant was great. if you are almost solely English speaking as I am, there was was a refreshing language barrier. I cannot say enough good things about this place. My wife and I want to come back many times and can't wait to being our family.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredstravelingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Guest Relations Manager at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Hola!
We are so happy they enjoined your stay in our Hotelito!
We also want to thank you for the nice review.
Hope to see you next time.
Best regards
Staff Tortugas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have worked in luxury hotels for 8 years and it is my job to focus on the details and this hotel is amazing down the every last detail. The decor of the hotel is beautiful and everything is clean and groomed. All of the staff are so friendly and helpful from checking in to drinks at the bar they all were happy to have you there. The food was so good we ended up eating there for most of our meals. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111MarkP111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Front Office Manager at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Hola!
We are so happy they enjoined your stay in our Hotelito!
We also want to thank you for the nice review.
Hope to see you next time.
Best regards
Staff Tortugas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just got back from a honeymoon to Isla Holbox where we stated at Mawimbi, Tortugas, and La Palapa (all reviewed here). This was our favorite, with Mawimbi as a very close second! Very comfortable rooms and beds, super nice staff, amazing beach spot, and excellent free breakfast! It was nice to have a pool as well to get a break from salt water swimming. Great beach location with generous beach front. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Public Relations Manager at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Hola !
We appreciate for your amazing review!
Was very nice to meet you.
and we hope will see you next time
greetings
Staff TOrtugas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront boutique hotel, run by Italian family. 21 charming new rooms, Spa, Yoga center,Kiteboard school, Beach club and organic restaurant. The design influence of Francesca and her mother Greta is evident in the hotel’s 21 romantic rooms and suites, from the carefully sourced antiques and local artisan-made colonial-style furniture to the fine linens and contemporary twist on traditional Mexican fabrics. It’s a ‘bohemian-chic’ feel that fits perfectly with the relaxed ambiance of the resort. Add in roomy double-loungers and palapa daybeds on the beach – as well as a spacious new pool – and you have the perfect formula for lusciously lazy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel Holbox Island
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel And Spa
Hotelito Casa Las Tortugas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing