We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“¨The best of the best¨”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Just came back ¨again¨ from this gorgeous small boutique hotel and let me tell you, theres no other property Ill rather stay when visiting this beautiful island. When visiting Holbox, your goal should be to be in contact with nature and yourself, take your shoes off, laid back, relax and let CasaSandra staff take care of the rest, Im sure youll will really appreciate and enjoy the daily breakfast included, the outdoor pool and all the delicious mexican specialities they'll prepare right on site (quiet a few people we met from other hotels coming for lunch or romantic dinners at the beach). I got to see different rooms and really like them all, beds are very nice and comfy and spacious bathroom with organic amenities (bring your own bug repellent if rainy season). Cant want to come back

Room Tip: Not all room are beach front, if this is important for you, make sure you write your request down at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PjDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear guest: First of all thank you for coming back, and thank you for your wonderful review, we will be waiting for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 476 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

The first impression of Casa Sandra was very good. We arrived and were received with complimentary drinks. The hotel is very well present and full of cool art work to look, very unique.
We went to our room which was beautiful decorated with flowers and candles (as it was our honeymoon). However immediately we notice that the air conditioner wasn't working properly and the room was extremely hot. The receptionist that took us to the room made a comment about it apologising, so we thought that this problem would be resolved soon. We also notice that only one of our luggage where in the room, the remaining bags had been left behind at the hall of the hotel, where anyone could get in and take it. So my partner went to the reception asking for the remained luggage.
We went out and when we came back the air conditioner (A/C) wasn't fixed. We couldn't open the window because the Island was recovering from a flood and was infested with mosquitoes, also the smell of the ocean was putrid, a mix of dead fish and sewage. We left the bedroom to have dinner at the hotel, which was very good, but at the time to sign the bill they were charging us an extra water we let the waiter know and it was very hard to convince her that we didn't consume that water. We had looked for someone at the reception to talk about the A/C didn't have anyone available. So at 11PM when we came back to bedroom and notice that the A/C wasn't fixed we went down the reception and they sent us to a inferior room for the night, which had a strong smell of cigarettes.
In the morning they promise to fix our A/C or put us in a similar room, similar because we were at the best room of the hotel. We decided to go for a wonder in a bicycle that the hotel offer for guests, but the same receptionist that didn't care for our A/C was with a group of people and asked us to wait for 5 minutes. We waited for 20 minutes and gave up. So we ended up walking to our destination. Also I asked the receptionist about my hat that I left at the pool a day before and she said that I would have to wait until later when the barman arrive to get the hat that was in the pool bar (that she has access to it but couldn't be bothered get it or asking someone to get it, just like the bicycles).
When we came back after lunch I wanted to have a little sleep, but didn't happened because the A/C wasn't fixed and it was unbearable stay inside of the room, went to the reception again to talk about it and of course they were trying to resolve. We went to the pool and the barman gave me back my hat. He was very helpful and polite.
At night time they finally said to us that the A/C couldn't be fixed and moved us to another room, a little bit inferior. My husband had to carry two of our luggage up and down to the next room. In this room the shower was mouldy and the curtain from the shower didn't hold the water properly flooding the bathroom. The sheets were damp and the balcony door didn't open.
When we went to check out they charged for the outstanding balance of the room which we already payed a month in advanced and luckily we had the bank statement printed.
After all that no one said I'm sorry, or any type of apologies were made, very disappointing.
The hotel has good qualities, but for the amount of money that we payed I expected much much more.

Room Tip: The basic rooms smell cigarettes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flavia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear guest: We thank you for your review on your visit to CasaSandra, we truly regret the inconveniences you experienced on our behalf we can say that we work very hard to attend our guests needs as our goal is that you have a wonderful experience, this may sometimes not be the result of our efforts. We hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great place to go swim with the Whale Sharks and much much more but not a party town. Takes awhile to get there 2 1/2 drive from cancan and a 45min boat ride to holbox but well worth it. You could fly there and get there in 45min landing on all coral landing strip and they will come you up in a golf cart and drive you to Casa Sandra.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you so much for your review, in fact Holbox and CasaSandra are a quiet retreat where you can get away from it all. We are happy to know you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings. Please do visit us again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 days there and we purchased a couples package which included transfer to and from the Cancun airport, ferry to Holbox Island and taxi to the hotel on the island; Whale shark swimming tour and a romantic dinner on the beach.
From the moment I spoke to them to inquire my experience was of a laid-back, caring company. Laid-back in the best of senses.
the room was nice, artfully decorated and the bathroom was the prettiest I've seen in any hotel anywhere.
We LOVED the toiletry kit (organic shampoo, conditioner, mosquito repellent, body soap, BODY LOTION was especially yummy). BRING YOUR OWN MOSQUITO REPELLENT. we brought 100% deet and it did the trick. the organic stuff didn´t repel much.
The American breakfast was tasty, remember that you can have eggs any style included in the breakfast. anything on the menu is additional.
We ate lunch and dinner several times and everything was exquisite.
The romantic dinner on the beach was IN-CRE-DI-BLE. Watermelon gazpacho, passion fruit Cebiche, the setting... what can I say.
We found the staff to be very kind and warm, the day we returned from our trip we were almost depressed, wanting to return immediately to Holbox and CasaSandra!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19, ground floor with a terrace facing the pool. the room was great, perhaps a sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank performxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest: Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it's pleasing to learn we at CasaSandra filled your expectations. We hope to have you back in the near future, it will be a pleasure to serve you again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Loved staying at Casa Sandra in May, had an amazing relaxing week with my husband. All staff members have a great service attitude. Hotel has a great location. If you plan to go for dinner highly recommend Saturday Cuban night with live music.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest: Thank you so much for your time, your review is wonderful and we sincerely appreciate it. We are also looking forward to having you back at CasaSandra. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We loved Holbox, and CasaSandra was one of the reasons why. The structure is small, quite intimate and perfectly designed to suit the needs of the guests without altering the landscape of the island. We spent a week there, and loved it: our room was enchanting, even without tv, wi-fi or phone. Beach just in front, beautiful pool, the kindest, most sympathetic crew we ever met. And the food: spectacular in an island where the food is generally good. We'd love to go back, soon...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Witerbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest: Your comment is much appreciated. We are happy to learn you enjoyed the premises of CasaSandra and love learning you will be back, we look forward to serving you again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Friendly faces, charming service. A restful experience. Food is fantastic and views breathtaking. Massages are nurturing and healing! The mosquitos here are dreadful, bring an effective repellant and remedies!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellastorm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest: Thank you for your review, we love that you loved it. Mosquitos can in fact be a bit of annoying specially during the rainy season, nothing repellent cant take care of. Hope to have you back in the near future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.5 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaSandra Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaSandra Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle de la Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77730, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: $312 - $636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaSandra Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a long time owner, Sandra, wanted to write by the sea. She went in search of a remote world, quiet, where the blue was obvious. One day, she landed in Cancun and the attraction of the Mayan land was overwhelming. She took a small plane and flew over the island of Holbox.Nothing was more attractive to her than the Feast of the colors of nature, barefoot fishermen with their gold teeth, women weaving hammocks or sheathed with their heels in the sand. "I want to do something here, " she said and began to imagine in her head this project now called "the hotel with a human touch" on this very beach.The land of more than 150 species of birds, whale shark, or Damero world's largest fish, mangroves in each corner, all were an inspiration to this artist.Then she wanted to welcome friends from around the world and to express, through a hotel on the island of Holbox, a point of view on life: "peace and art are a great treasure for humans. " Because of this she thought of a place that is romantic, sexy, creative, where the personalized, warm, rustic atmosphere in a luxurious twenty rooms that look to the sea, where one could meet the privacy and whims of its guests. All done out of love and passion. The same place where one can dream and create, and in the best case, where one can rest.The joy of giving and expressing a new way of caring for guests, has been the commitment of the hotel. Every detail has a reason: from the small art gallery with paintings by renowned artists to the beautiful furniture that inhabit the halls.Feelings, emotions, poetry, touches of color, aromas of black coffee, hammocks, fabric on the balconies, fluffy sheets, the sea at every angle, and romantic evenings create the magic of the "place of your dreams." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, MrandMrsSmith, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your CasaSandra Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sandra Hotel Holbox Island
Casa Sandra Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing