We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So simple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent four nights on Holbox Island. We were a bit surprised at the next style furnishings I had thought it would be plusher for the cost of the holiday. The meals were fine but it would make a difference if the chef could add a few more dishes to his menu. We enjoyed the beach and how close it was, although you are restricted with things to do here. We are used to having a bit more action and by the second day we were longing for some. The main letdown was the water pressure in the shower with lots of minute turns you could get something ok going on. Very expensive in my opinion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSandraHotel, Director de Recepción at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments, we deeply regret CasaSandra did not meet your expectations, Holbox is certainly not for everybody, it is however ideal for guest in search of a quiet paradise, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 467 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was just perfect for an intimate meal with my wife. We thought about booking our stay here but was unsure. We walked past it during the day while walking into the local village and thought it looked nice so that night we decided to eat there and was not disappointed. Its not a big restaurant, not many tables, very relaxing, nice quality interior and table settings. Menu and wine range was good, when the food arrived it was excellent. Service was good, no rush, very relaxing, drinks flowed, coffee great, other tables as we did seem to enjoy the whole atmosphere the restaurant tries to create. I have to say thank you to CasaSandra, its staff and place for a very enjoyable evening. (on some nights they say they have live music or themed nights which could be lively and I'm sure equally as enjoyable, but for me and what I wanted after a hard day sun bathing, swimming, beach walking it was perfect).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSandraHotel, Director de Recepción at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear guest: Thank you for your lovely comment! We aim to make our guests feel the comfort and romance of CasaSandra, we so happy you learn you enjoyed your visit and hope you can come back and experience our hospitality and Cuban nights with live music on saturdays and try the best mojitos on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a wonderful week of doing very little on Isla Holbox. Sun, air, water, good drinks and delicious food, occasionally interrupted by short expeditions down the beach or into the small town. Our suite was lovely and clean, cool except during a short power outage, but still airy from the breezes. The hammock on the porch was a great idea, but at this class of hotel, they should be real sisal and woven so that the sides are tighter than the middle rather than the reverse. We had a daily visit from a calm iguana! Nice touches, like the conch shower head and natural toiletries, interesting picture books in the rooms, and general natural feel of the decor made for a perfect beach experience. We appreciated the owner's art throughout the hotel as it gave a unique and personal flavor, although I admit to not liking much of it. The staff was often not quite up to the professional level one might expect, but their friendly natures more than compensated for that, and we quickly learned to be a little more aggressive with certain servers when we wanted a second drink or more tostones, for instance. Everything we ate was at least very good, often excellent- no mean feat when getting the basic ingredients is no small challenge! Personally, I was surprised that they try to maintain a permanent menu under those circumstances. I would have been perfectly happy with a 'Here's what is available today' approach, in keeping with the exigencies of island living. Only one real complaint: when we left, we asked for help getting a taxi/van to Meridá. The staff was happy to help, but we ended up paying $350 for a very small car and driver from Chiquilá when we were told it would be a van, and the price posted on the dock there was $180. They could have given us better information and saved us enough for a high quality large hammock!!

Room Tip: Upstairs! More air. Also, if you like a sitting area with air conditioning (there's plenty of pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcequinox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSandraHotel, Director de Recepción at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Family: It was a real pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for letting us know your concerns and how much you appreciated CasaSandra's art and details, we take all our guest comments very seriously as they help us better our guests experience, we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Sandra in March. This property is just lovely. Our room was classy and elegant with nice amenities. We found ALL of the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was very generous and delicious! Home-made breads and muffins, yogurt, coffee, tea, milk, juices and eggs. The location is perfect -- on a great section of the beach and far enough away from the noise in town. This is a sophisticated option for lodging on Isla Holbox, but it is pricey for this area. (Still, Casa Sandra is MUCH nicer than another luxury resort that has recently opened further down the island, with NO beach at all)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director of Sales at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Room was great but we found the manageress to be unwelcoming and disinterested with no inter action. Food was overpriced taking into account what we ate nearby and not a very inspiring menu but seeing the size of the kitchen perhaps not surprising.Breakfast average in comparison with other hotels on our holiday but the location was great.Slightly disappointing


Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director of Sales at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments our management and staff strives to serve our guests to the best of their abilities we regret we did not meet your expectations. We hope we may be of service once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Casa Sandra overall is great.The rooms are great, the service amazing, the food is good, but in the end it's a small and cozy hotel, not luxury, and yet they charge like a St.Regis. The other good hotels in the area are at least $100 US less per night. When I return to Holbox the most I will pay is $150 US per night after seeing all the hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelinFoodJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director of Sales at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you so much for your review, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, you are welcome to try other hotels in the area of course, however, keep in mind that we at CasaSandra will always be waiting for your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at CasaSandra in February 2013 and really enjoyed the hotel. The staff members were great - so warm, friendly and helpful - they made us feel like family. The little things that the hotel did meant so much - e.g., when we arrived we were given cold, refreshing towels and a great cocktail of lime juice, cucumber and mint (try it with vodka at the pool); at turndown the staff would light candles in the room; we were there over Valentine's Day and were given a lovely poem and some heart-shaped brownies at turndown. The food was excellent with lots of fresh fish items. The hotel is right on the beach and there is a good variety of seating options by the beach and the pool - hammocks, chaise lounges, beds. The location is very good as it is just a few minutes walk from town.

We stayed in the main building (room #4). The room was a little dark for my taste as I prefer a lot of sunlight and none gets into the room because of the roof overhang (not a fault of the hotel, but a personal preference). Also, the shower temperature needs to be adjusted as it always ran either too hot or too cold. Otherwise the room was nice.

Overall we had a lovely time at CasaSandra and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dheronimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director of Sales at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guests: We thank you for your wonderful review, it was our pleasure to serve you and hope we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.5 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaSandra Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaSandra Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle de la Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77730, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: $295 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaSandra Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a long time owner, Sandra, wanted to write by the sea. She went in search of a remote world, quiet, where the blue was obvious. One day, she landed in Cancun and the attraction of the Mayan land was overwhelming. She took a small plane and flew over the island of Holbox.Nothing was more attractive to her than the Feast of the colors of nature, barefoot fishermen with their gold teeth, women weaving hammocks or sheathed with their heels in the sand. "I want to do something here, " she said and began to imagine in her head this project now called "the hotel with a human touch" on this very beach.The land of more than 150 species of birds, whale shark, or Damero world's largest fish, mangroves in each corner, all were an inspiration to this artist.Then she wanted to welcome friends from around the world and to express, through a hotel on the island of Holbox, a point of view on life: "peace and art are a great treasure for humans. " Because of this she thought of a place that is romantic, sexy, creative, where the personalized, warm, rustic atmosphere in a luxurious twenty rooms that look to the sea, where one could meet the privacy and whims of its guests. All done out of love and passion. The same place where one can dream and create, and in the best case, where one can rest.The joy of giving and expressing a new way of caring for guests, has been the commitment of the hotel. Every detail has a reason: from the small art gallery with paintings by renowned artists to the beautiful furniture that inhabit the halls.Feelings, emotions, poetry, touches of color, aromas of black coffee, hammocks, fabric on the balconies, fluffy sheets, the sea at every angle, and romantic evenings create the magic of the "place of your dreams." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your CasaSandra Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sandra Hotel Holbox Island
Casa Sandra Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing