We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn´t worth the money you pay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I think that the $5,800 pesos (like $450 usd) per night, don´t worth what the hotel has to offer, the rooms are ok, but they do not have amenities, if you want to have a kayak drive you have to go to another hotels to ask for the service, they do not have any other activities within the hotel. Their restaurante menu have like 5 choices, the food is not good and also is very expensive. But we found out that there are many other excelent choices for less than half of what we payed. And Holbox is an incredible place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALEJANDRA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director of Sales at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments, we appreciate each one of them as they are an opportunity for improvement. We strive to meet all of our guests expectations, and we are sorry we did not meet yours, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 458 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at Casa Sandra in February and fell in love with the Island, the people and the hotel. We arrived in the dark on a speedboat because we had missed our ferry. But I am getting ahead of myself, the Casa Sandra service started in the zoo that is Cancun airport where every flight seems to arrive at the same time! When we emerged from the airport there was a man with a friendly face holding a sign with our name on it ( Hint: go right out of the airport building) he drove us about 90 minutes to the port where you get the ferry to Holbox but because we had just missed the ferry he rang the hotel and organised the boat. We hurtled towards some distant lights and arrived in a badly lit harbour where a voice called out our name in the dark. The voice belonged to a man on a motor bike who put us on a waiting golf cart which bumped it's way along potholed roads through the edge of Holbox town and out to the Hotel. Our arrival was greeted with scented flannels and a fruit drink. We were taken to our room which was large with two comfortable queen sized beds under little canopies. There was a fan and air conditioning but we actually never used ( the fans were enough) The view of the beach appeared in the morning light the next day - beautiful!

Breakfast each day was generous and included in our deal - lots of croissants etc and a cooked Mexican breakfast or just ham and eggs or boiled eggs.

The staff are friendly, discreet and hard working. The hotel is kept neat and tidy and clean with a little team of hard workers. The pool is small but very pretty with a thatched bar area and comfortable sun beds but the main attraction is the gorgeous beach with lovely double sun beds under thatch.

The Ceviche is the best we tasted on the island and the cocktails (Mojito's and Caipirinhas in my case) were also amazing but all the food was of a very high quality. My only small criticism is that it didn't change much but the service was fast friendly and efficient.

Architecturally Casa Sandra was rustic (we didn't see the newer rooms around the pool) we were in the main house with the wonderful views but our shower room was very small and cluttered by a wooden bath "mat" which was a bit unnecessary. The water temperature varied but with patience there was plenty of hot water. It was also a little bit smelly.

If there is one mosquito and five other people in a room it would bite only me but I wasn't bothered at Casa Sandra - our window netting was effective. My favourite time of day was early morning watching the beach wake up in between chapters of a good book. I have travelled extensively and expensively so I hope am well qualified - overall this was a great place to lay your head.

Room Tip: We loved the older rooms in the main house overlooking the beach - the track along the beach (50 yar...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Discerningvoyager5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director of Sales at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest: What a treat to read your review, thank you for your time. Hopefully we will see you again? we'd love to serve you and help you make some new memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

without question the best hotel on the hidden mexican island of holbox (amazing beaches and nature) and beyond. small, romantic and beautiful. very friendly staff and best one-on-one service, excellent food. the perfect place to relax. a piece of paradise in a paradise, a true caribbean dream. chapeau to sandra and her team.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlinoandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director of Sales at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear guest: Thank you so much for your review, please come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were two friends travelling to find a place of peace and relaxation. We got all we were looking for at Isla Holbox and Casa Sandra. The island is truly a paradise of white beaches and crystal-clear water. We felt completely safe the whole time we were there, despite being two women travelling together. We had no trouble walking alone after dark, or leaving our stuff on the beach. We experienced no hassle on the beach.

The Casa Sandra has the best location of the hotels on the island. A bare 5-minutes walk to the village, yet with the cleanest and most beautiful part of the beach. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was definately the best of the different restaurants we tried.

We visited the nearby hotel Tortuga for Yoga and spa-treatments. Also a nice hotel, but much busier and more of a crowded feeling. The Nubes hotel seems nice, too, but is a bit far off, and seemed more formal. At casa Sandra, we experienced a welcoming and homely atmosphere, yet with all the facilities to be expected of a hotel in this price-range.

We had a room in the mail buliding, with a sea view, which we would highly reccomend! Not all the rooms/ cottages have a sea-view, but they all seemed to be of a high standard. We would love to come back to Casa Sandra, and would definately reccomend others to go there!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lineOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director of Sales at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear guest: Your review of your last visit to CasaSandra is greatly appreciated. Please do come back we will be happy to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We loved everything about this hotel. Romantic and peaceful, CasaSandra has beautiful decor and the dining room speaks romance plus. All the staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozlocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHolbox, Propietario at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you for your opinion. It is very important for CasaSandra staff. The best, Sandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Just returned from Casasandra yesterday. Was upgraded to a master suite and the room was simple and beautiful, just like a remote island resort should be. If I owned a house on an island this is exactly how I would decorate it. The beachfront location is great and the walk to town is only 5 minutes. Of all the places we ate on the island the food here is by far the most elegant and thought out. Its certainly nice to relax at a cheap beach bar once in a while but some nights it was great to have a more composed dinner and the restaurant at casasandra is perfect for that. We spent 5 nights there and all of the staff were great, always helpful and super polite. There isn't a lot to do on the island but that is the beauty of it. There are very few places left where you can relax and do nothing and just enjoy the quiet. We are looking forward to going back, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHolbox, Propietario at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Yes, you are right, Holbox is authentic relaxing escape, we are working every day with love. Thank youuuu, the best, Sandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We have paid daily 350$ US for very bad bathroom, poor breakfast without usual food. You have to paid yourself more to get something normal to eat. But the team is very kind and the area is beautiful. We are experienced travelers around the world.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nardis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHolbox, Propietario at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you for your opinion. CasaSandra was my home for create my art and now is the hotel like house. Sometimes the bathroom in the beach houses are irregular, but that is our difference: the spirit of home made hotel.Thank you. The best, Sandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,077 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#5 of 20 in Holbox Island
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.4 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaSandra Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaSandra Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle de la Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77730, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: $279 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaSandra Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a long time owner, Sandra, wanted to write by the sea. She went in search of a remote world, quiet, where the blue was obvious. One day, she landed in Cancun and the attraction of the Mayan land was overwhelming. She took a small plane and flew over the island of Holbox.Nothing was more attractive to her than the Feast of the colors of nature, barefoot fishermen with their gold teeth, women weaving hammocks or sheathed with their heels in the sand. "I want to do something here, " she said and began to imagine in her head this project now called "the hotel with a human touch" on this very beach.The land of more than 150 species of birds, whale shark, or Damero world's largest fish, mangroves in each corner, all were an inspiration to this artist.Then she wanted to welcome friends from around the world and to express, through a hotel on the island of Holbox, a point of view on life: "peace and art are a great treasure for humans. " Because of this she thought of a place that is romantic, sexy, creative, where the personalized, warm, rustic atmosphere in a luxurious twenty rooms that look to the sea, where one could meet the privacy and whims of its guests. All done out of love and passion. The same place where one can dream and create, and in the best case, where one can rest.The joy of giving and expressing a new way of caring for guests, has been the commitment of the hotel. Every detail has a reason: from the small art gallery with paintings by renowned artists to the beautiful furniture that inhabit the halls.Feelings, emotions, poetry, touches of color, aromas of black coffee, hammocks, fabric on the balconies, fluffy sheets, the sea at every angle, and romantic evenings create the magic of the "place of your dreams." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your CasaSandra Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sandra Hotel Holbox Island
Casa Sandra Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing