We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Octopus”
Review of Rosa Mexicano

Rosa Mexicano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newmarket, NH, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Try the Octopus”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Lovely restaurant with lively outdoor seating. The Pulpo Enchilado, a grilled octopus with a phenomenal grilling sauce, was the best I've ever had. Excellent!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank doc1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    110
    43
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Don't judge restaurant by road side appearance”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We did walk by a couple of times, from the outside it looks like a typical taco style establishment, don't be fooled as we were. If they had a menu posted outside they would have drawn us in sooner. The food is not your typical burrito with rice and beans. The chefs have creative Mexican dishes that are excellent. The fish dish I had was perfectly cooked. My wife had a excellent cut of meat with mushrooms. Drinks are good too. You will pay more than you would for a street taco, but you are also getting a lot more. Try it, you should not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retireandtravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent food, nice location, server was super gracious”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

our gracious server spoke great english, explained the lovely menu very well and made great cocktails
we had a super great dinner dispite my son not behaving very well while we were there

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastBeeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Excellent modern Mexican food. Very nice place. We got offered the desert (without asking anything) because there was a 20 people table next to us and they thought that the service was not perfect even if We were pretty happy about the waiter.
White fish ceviche and tuna steak were excellent! One of the best place I've eaten in Mexico so far.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bricebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top notch contemporary Mexican cuisine”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

After a few days on the island we decided to give Rosa Mexicano a try. Being Holbox Island #1 on TripAdvisor we expected big things. We weren't disappointed. We started with the chorizo and melted cheese starter (Queso Condido...?) and then we both opted for steaks for our mains. The New York Strip was tasty and cooked perfectly. The flank steak was also cooked perfectly and very, very flavoursome. Each was served with simple accompaniments/sides with bold Mexican flavours. For dessert we opted for what I would describe as a Banana Split with a Mexican twist. Also very good.

Rosa Mexicano is a small restaurant run by passionate, young staff who serve good quality, contemporary Mexican cuisine with fresh local produce and although it is at the pricier end of the scale it is well worth the money. Due to the size of the restaurant booking would be advised.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SBKLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa Mexicano also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rosa Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing