We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'd never expect good pizza in Mexico!”

Cariocas Pizzas Holbox
Ranked #26 of 94 Restaurants in Holbox Island
Price range: $5 - $46
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
179 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“You'd never expect good pizza in Mexico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

OK you are on a remote island in the Yuctan and you see a pizza place. Would you ever expect good, no great wood fired oven pizza? Well here you do and more. Great pizza, thin crust wood fired, with seafood to boot. Friendly super casual environment can eat in or take out. Right in the heart of Holbox 1/2 block from Casa Las Tortugas (by the way the best resort on the island). Being from Chicago, I can say some of the piazza joints in Chicago are lucky this guy is not there. He'd give them a run for their money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    55
    16
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Had the lobster pizza here and was not disappointed. Even without the lobster, the pizza at Cariocas is one of the best I have ever eaten. Service here was also great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guitarmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some of the best pizza I've ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough about it. Price was great, pizza was fantastic. It really is some of the best pizza I've ever had, and I can't believe I found it in Mexico! Thin, authentic, crispy crust and a delicious, flavorful sauce. Would definitely recommend stopping here if you're on Holbox.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaBananaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice little place to grab a bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had the veggie pizza and it was very good---a thin crispy crust with just the right amount of tomato sauce. The white wine was good and it was fun to sit outside and watch the people go by on a rainy evening in Holbox. Plus, our waitress was so friendly and pleasant that it made eating there a real pleasure.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank makin-memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanner, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Greatest Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

You gotta go here and try the Lobster Pizza! Its awesome! And the staff were really friendly had a really cool night!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dunk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cariocas Pizzas Holbox also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Cariocas Pizzas Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing