We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!”
Review of El Chapulim

El Chapulim
Ranked #22 of 130 Restaurants in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 30, 2015

We had the most incredible meals here, we went back and brought half of the hotel with us. Eric is a fantastic chef, an artiste with his ingredients. It's a MUST if you are in Holbox:)!

Date of visit: June 2015
2  Thank PACObrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 334 of 826 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2015 via mobile

We recently spent 8 nights on Isla Holbox and ate twice at El Chapulím (it means grasshopper, which is why there's a stylize drawing of a grasshopper on their sign). The food was outstanding as many have noted. The seafood dishes (3 were offered both times we ate there but we're different each evening) were excellent. We had shrimp in a uniquely spice sauce and a mixed seafood dish in a different sauce also uniquely spiced, both accompanied by two side dishes: a fabulous mango, onion and jicama salad and some roasted red potatoes. We began the meal with two house special cocktails (yummy) and finished with two desserts (which we could barely finish). All that for around $60 U.S. Our second meal, a few days later included a grilled fillet with an avocado and chile sauce and a beef filet rolled and stuffed with a mild cheese and young asparagus, perfectly grilled and accompanied by a rice dish and a tropical fruit salad. Another memorable meal.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Adorevoyagerpartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2015

All the reviews of this place are true. The chef came to the table and explained the menu. We were there around 7:00 PM and were the only ones there in the beginning. The restaurant was filling up as we left. I had the largest serving of lobster I have ever gotten at a restaurant. It was superb! My husband had a seafood pasta dish that he loved.! The total meal was under $60. with drinks and dessert included. Go here

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank WilliamH178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2015

The menu is fixed as the chef shops daily for ingredients. The chef comes to your table and explains what is on the menu for the evening - four or five items of sufficient variety for all tastes. My Dorado (Mahi Mahi) was exceptional. The restaurant atmosphere is very pleasant with good menu and drink prices. My only complaint is the meal was rushed; it arrived shortly after we ordered with a salad so the meal was over too quickly. This restaurant does not accept credit cards (the norm for the island) and is located on the main street in the middle of town.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2015 via mobile

Took a punt on this place after walking past; the fact that there was no menu intrigued me and my fiancee. We were pleased we did as the meals we had were the best on our Mexican sojourn to date. I'm not a cocktail drinker but the ones suggested sounded delicious - and they were - and the main meals were simple but well executed. The mains had two accompanying side dishes: a bowl of fragrant, spiced rice, and a fruit salad seasoned with a combination of things (oregano was the one that stood out to us). Despite feeling quite satisfied we had to try their desserts and were again pleased we did. I had a very smooth flan de queso (with coffee liqueur), whilst the Mrs-to-be's peach tart was pleasant without being outstanding. Cost-wise, we spent about $870 pesos (incl. service, no prices were advised until we received the bill) which was probably the most expensive dinner we have had but we didn't mind as we both felt it was worth it.

Date of visit: June 2015
2  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chapulim also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Chapulim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing