We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here!”
Review of El Chapulim

El Chapulim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Peterborough, Ontario
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Eat here!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband is a great cook and I am spoiled.......we ate here last night and the freshness and quality was outstanding. We really appreciated the effort to create authentic Mexican food and the time taken by the chef to explain each dish to us. Not only was it reasonably priced but it was our best meal on Holbox so far.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaymars1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    114
    35
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you are a foodie go here!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Excellent food. There is no menu. The chef finds the freshest ingredients available that day on the island and then you have a choice from 3-4 entrees. I'm a total foodie and this was excellent food; especially when you think of where you are. How the chef achieves this caliper of cooking in such a remote area without the comforts of known availabilities and a world class kitchen is beyond me! Also, an excellent meal for about $20 US - this would have cost me $50 in a big city.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tahinivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A real and good restaurant in Holbox!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Delicious meals, original and cooked with talent. Certainly one of the best restaurants of Holbox.
And price is very reasonable.
If you like seafood go for it!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaël O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent but could be better ”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Excellent meal. Really tasty. Nice and friendly service but most of all, It is the meal that is outstanding. What i did not like so much is that the welcome drink came out as pretty expensive ! Also vs the quality Of the food, the suggested wines are pretty average while there are excellent wines in Mexico. Last, as there is no menu, you do not know the price until the end.. And It comes out pretty expensive in the end.

Helpful?
1 Thank stephane75009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great food and great service. Having Chef Eric present the menu is unique and fun. The service was great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank salridge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chapulim also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Chapulim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing