We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol
Ranked #1 of 36 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My mom and I stayed here for a week in January 2014. This hotelito could not have been more perfect as all the other reviews attest to. Location: east of the main drag of beach hotels on one of the most pristine parts of the beach. Food: delicious! No need to leave the comforts of Palapas as Maria, Estelle ans the rest of the crew served up some of the best ceviche I have ever had. The even prepared a special mole chicken for my mom after they learned it is one of her favorites. Lodging: all the things you need and none of the things you don't. Each room is lovely, clean and simple. Hammocks hang in the rooms and/of on the porch/balcony. They do have a beautiful pool although we preferred the beach. Cheers to a perfect hotel on an incredible island.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 250 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our first visit to Holbox and Palapas del Sol, but most likely not our last. This small property (only 8 rooms) is well situated on a beautiful beach with a short walk along the beach (20 minute, .8 miles) to "town". While there were lots of options for lunch and dinner in town, the food and company at PdS gave us no reason to dine there. Over the 10 days we were there the only dinner we repeated was the fantastic paella made by the very talented Estela with fresh fish, shrimp and lobster. Papaya, pineapple, cantaloupe and banana greeted us each morning along with eggs cooked to order (huevos rancheros was my favorite). Lunch was mostly fresh ceviche or guacamole. Martin's margaritas were the best we have ever enjoyed. The entire staff was great - Maria, Samuel, Edgar, Rosie and more. We had the "honeymoon" room which is 2nd floor beach front with a 3 story tower only accessible from the room, very very cool. The pool was very refreshing. There were "noseeums" but with spray, did not bother me, but my beloved must have tasted better to them. Loved the dogs, very entertaining. While there were some children there (over the 10 days several folks came and went) but I cannot recommend this property for children. We met some very interesting and quite varied people, many of whom with which we hope to stay in contact. We walked several miles each morning following breakfast and saw most, if not all, of the town. Varied shops and lots of food establishments. The town square was quite active on Saturday evening. If you are looking for quiet and peaceful….look here.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms in each of the 4 "buildings" one up and one down. Both have front porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent a week here in March 2013 and liked it so much we booked 11 nights over Christmas and New Year's. Much busier this visit and the no see ums were problematic (next time we will start taking vitamin B1 and garlic supplements well in advance), but we had a wonderful time and will return as soon as we can. Owners Estella (also the super chef), Samuel, and Adriana and their thoughtful staff leave no stone unturned in order to ensure their guests' comfort and happiness and provide superior accommo-dations, service, and meals at very reasonable prices. The beach area has many lounges, hammocks, and sun beds for passing away a glorious day. There is also a lovely pool for cooling off. Special meals on Christmas and New Year's Eves and excellent food available all day and night. Communal dining table afforded perfect opportunity to meet and get know other guests from around the world. The positive reviews are all true!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BGElisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have booked the stay at Palapas del Sol 8 months in advance, so the expectation was great and we did not get less than expected. Las Palapas is quite distant from the city center, but the walk pays off the peace of the place, where you can get diconnected from all the city noises and just enjoy the noise of the sea waves. I was very pleased with the size of our palapa, nicely decored in Holbox style with dream catchers and you can also find your towels in shape of birds. We could easily get into our palapa with my 2 years old child stuff, her little travelling bed and we still had a lot of space! The hotel has a very good restaurant, so if you do not wish to get out of your hamacs, you can eat very well, at reasonable prices. The cook is famous in the town and she prepares all types of mayan dishes, every one we tried from the "langosta al mojo de ajo" to fish in mngo sauce was simply delicious. The hotel team - Martin, Jose, el Topo - all is dedicated to attend the guests and they always seek you are comfortable. Also, we had the chance to meet the owner Adriana, she knows everything about Holbox and Yucatan and she arranged us the transfer form Cancun Airport to the island. Thank you. Adriana, Martín, Estela, Sheila and Topo, for all your attentions and we hope to come back soon because thanks to Palapas del Sol, we got in love with Holbox.

Room Tip: Orange palapa is one of the newest and the most spacious if you travel with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbs86Df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had the pleasure of a return trip and were not disappointed.

We tried a new twist this time and - with the gracious support of the Hotel owner Adrianna - we arranged for pick-up at the airport in Cancun and then rode in a private taxi all the way to our favorite island getaway.

The price needs to be arranged but we paid around 1500 pesos including tip and ferry for two people to get there on the same day we flew in.

I'd do it again - it saves money right away because you don't need to arrange for an overnight in expensive Cancun hotel and - best ever - you wake up the next day right on the beach in Holbox and are treated to a wonderful breakfast to start your vacation getaway.

Anyway - we are of two minds in sharing - this might be so popular that we have trouble getting back! But here you go - I'm spilling the beans.

Go and enjoy - but remember its a quiet little seaside paradise so please respect it and don't tell anybody else ok?

Room Tip: Ask Martin for one of his killer Margaritas - then sit back, sip it and enjoy the beach life
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceantech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent a wonderful three days at Palapas del sol and could not have been happier with our
choice. The beach was lovely plenty of beds,loungers hammocks and tables for you drink.
The hotel is small and being so lend to a feeling of family. The communal dining table promotes
the building o friendship among guests,the staff is friendly, helpful and does all the possibly can
to ensure your stay is perfect. Martin the manager/bartender/entertainment director/do it all person is a true asset to the hotel.Our room was small but very comfortable with a king size bed
(we were on the top floor with palapa roof thus allowing for a beautiful chaffon drape canopy
with beautiful light fixture. The island itself is the perfect place to get away from it all for
a short amount of time living on Isla Mujeres six months of the year going to Holbox showed us what Isla was 40 years ago. I shall remain on Isla but for total decompression Holbox fits the bill.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachball81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Thank you to the wonderful Palapas Del Sol family. Our stay was picture perfect and we were treated with hospitality, warmth and generosity.

This lovely, small retreat from the world is hosted by Samuel and Estella who work incredibly hard to keep you comfortable, fed like royalty yet feeling part of their extended family. Martin is incredible and was always there for us, making sure we were happy and that all our needs were attended to, always with a smile. I promise to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol

Address: Paseo Kuka | Playa Norte, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range: $182 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol is an ocean front beach hotel intimate and quiet with 16 rooms. All rooms have air-conditioning, private entrances, bathrooms and balconies or terraces with hammocks and seating area. A relaxed beach retreat for barefoot island living. Authentic and genuine Mayan hosts with the intention to make you feel at home At Palapas del Sol and in the restaurant the freshest local ingredients available on the island are used to serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. A beach front pool, beach palapas with hammocks and king size beach beds invite you to enjoy this so privileged spot. We happily assist our guests with transfers, tours, spa and beauty services, romantic dinners on the beach, honeymoon suite available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing