We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a spectacular view and food”

Casa Nostra Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 94 Restaurants in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casa Nostra....on the beach is a Mediterranean cuisine restaurant & beach club with a hint of Caribe. A pleasant mix of two islander's culinary cultures ( Sicily and Holbox) able to tantalize the most demanding taste buds.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a spectacular view and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

A chef who is passionate about his craft produces tasty dishes that blend his Sicilian-Italian background with the freshest of local goods. Outstanding ceviche and pastas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janetteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    68
    25
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best dish I had in Holbox”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I ordered pasta from here. It was sooooooo good. I tried pasta in other restaurants in Holbox and this was the best. The Chef really cares about his food. He always goes out to make sure everything is okay, and you are happy with your food. While dining there, almost every person would ask the chef what ingredients he used to cook the pasta. I was very satisfied. There is also a good view of the ocean during the day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Just O.K.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Casa Nostra has a beautiful setting on the beach, but the chef who waited on us was very arrogant, which was a real turn off to us. He seemed insulted that my husband wanted a hamburger for lunch one day, and my husband said it was the worst meat he has ever tasted on a hamburger. My dish was good---an Italian fish dish---but it was spoiled by the attitude of the chef. We did not eat here again after our first expericence.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank makin-memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Slice of Authentic Italia...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

...but do not expect pizza!

At first glance this unpretentious little restaurant, consisting of only a handful of tables located outside the equally small La Palapa hotel, belies just how great the culinary adventure you are about to undertake will be as you begin to take in the beautiful setting under the palm trees on the beach. You can get Isla Holbox's famous lobster pizza at many other local restaurants on the island, but reserve this place for a much more upscale dining experience.

You are almost immediately greeted by the owner/chef, Guiseppe Genovese, who is very excited to tell you about the evening dinner specials. "Pepe", as he prefers to be called, is a humble man who originally hails from Sicily and his creations embrace both the classical Italian preparation and the best of the fruits, vegetables and seafood available locally. That being said, he has also taken great pains to import many favorite Italian ingredients in order to present the authentic quality and taste one would expect from the best Italian restaurants. In addition, he maintains a selection of quality Sicilian wines and even makes desserts from pure chocolate brought in from Turin.

I would recommend you allow Pepe to make suggestions for your dining experience which, along with being amazingly delicious, will enable you to witness his distinct passion for cooking as he effusively describes each dish and the ingredients which go into it. We ate dinner at Casa Nostra twice during our stay on Isla Holbox, and we did not even look at the menu either time. Also, do not be surprised if Pepe brings out a unique appetizer or two for you to try as he is preparing your main meal, all of which are exceedingly tasty and leave you longing for more.

Finally, at the end of your meal as you savor every dish you have just enjoyed, Pepe will impress you with his sincere appreciation of your patronage, as he feels genuinely honored by your visit and your trust in his abilities as a chef. We highly recommend this restaurant and its owner/chef, as this wonderful discovery seems almost to be too good to be found in such a charming, yet remote, island destination far removed from the crowds in Cancun.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico city
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“"The soup nazi"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The food is ok, the temper of the cheff is a little bit out of my kind. They have trobles whith their credit cards conection and I get a lecture about "we are in an island". Nice view but the cheff needs to relax or you don't get your soup!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MildredMexicocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Nostra Restaurant also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Casa Nostra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing