We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Nostra Restaurant

Casa Nostra Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 92 Restaurants in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casa Nostra....on the beach is a Mediterranean cuisine restaurant & beach club with a hint of Caribe. A pleasant mix of two islander's culinary cultures ( Sicily and Holbox) able to tantalize the most demanding taste buds.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We really loved it! it is one of the best restaurants in Holbox and food is very very nice. We often go to italian restuarants at home but we do not get this nice food always. Price is very good and I see some people complaining here about the price but we found it very good value. In two times visit here we went away happy and we recommend it to all visitors.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    65
    25
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretencious italian”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We tried to eat there several times, but the pizza a doughy, the food you are served is not what is listed. We had canned sardines, spinach for arugula and a few other disappointments served. The drinks are not very well mixed- they dont bother to mix the sugar and the lime for the mojitos at 80 MEX etc.

Its a beach restaurant, but the staff there insist on it being a fine dining experience. As such we were told to eat at other tables than the ones we wanted to sit at (twice)- they didnt want us to have sand in the food supposedly... We may just have been unlucky the times we tried, but we had much better luck next door at the local Mexican place or at Colibri in the village- both of whom dont pretend to be anything but what they are.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank B0bsyruncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A visit to the heaven of italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wow, our visit to Holbox was all about immersing ourselves in the white sandy beaches, bright sun and turquoise waters of this remote Caribbean Island, and although that was all well and good, what really knocked our socks off was Cosa Nostra Restaurant at The Palapa Hotel. We are pizza and pasta lovers and pretty fussy about quality and freshness of ingredients, and charming & inspirational Chef Giusseppe (Pepe) kept us coming back for four nights in a row, each time delighting us with variations of seafood pasta (highly recommended gnocci with gorgonzola & parmesan or spaghetti with calamari and octopus ink sauce, incredible ceviche with guacamole... and home-made pizzas!!!). Words won't do justice, a must visit well worth a detour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 945joaquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, but not quite as good as we hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Nice setting, cosey little set up on the beach in among palm trees, chilled tunes & friendly welcome and service.
Very quiet for lunch (unlucky cold patch in March) which is maybe why food not quite there.
Nice little bruschetta to start, pizza prety good, "interesting" octopus salad, mozzarella & tomato salad mediocre but good enough effort this far from Italy. Special of day was canelloni bollanaise - looked and tasted like lasagne ? I didn't like much - came sprinkled with parmesan from a bottle, which I don't like - but 10 yr old critic rekoned it was prety good, but then he is a sucker for lasangne.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramblinnmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
183 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The atmosphere is lovely, the service outstanding, and the food delicious. It is an upscale restaurant with reasonable prices. The ceviche alone is worth a visit--the most attractive presentation ever!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jvcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Nostra Restaurant also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Casa Nostra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing