We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!”
Review of Viva Zapata

Viva Zapata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Catch of the day. Native & mediterranean cousine
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The food here was excellent! Portions were very generous and everything tasted so fresh. Prices were friendly, too. Delish!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    438
    160
    61
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious once again!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Went here last year and loved it so repeated. It was just as good or better! We had the lobster tails. Started with guacamole which was fabulous! Service was impeccable and the meal was outstanding! Reasonably priced as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston,NC
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food in a great setting”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I loved the food and ambiance here. Had really fresh shrimp. My only word of advice would be to bring insect repellent, as it detracted from my meal. But, I wish I had gone a second time. It was that good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ButBeuatiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lively fun place to enjoy lunch or dinner”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were extremely pleased with our dinner at Viva Zapata. It is an open air fun restaurant with a great bar and a very relaxing atmosphere in which to eat. As in any restaurant you want to enjoy great food but for us more important is the staff. The waiters here were young, outgoing and fun. They went out of there way to make sure your dinning experience was a success. So three cheers for the waiters. That night we really enjoyed the awesome Gucamole with home made chips ( not skimpy on the portion ) to start and then we shared the marinated flank steak tacos that were out of this world. The tacos were fresh and home made and really complmented the tasty filling, probably one of the best tacos we have ever ate. The menus has a large selection of Mexican food to choose from and was very reasonably priced for great quality food. This is a must stop on your list of dining experiences in Isla Holbox

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
czm mx
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Back again and excellent as always”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Once again back to that quaint sand bar island in the Mexican Caribbean, and first night stop for a DELICIOUS fresh ( they were swimming in the ocean that morning) corbina fish fillet in garlic grilled on the fire to perfection... Viva Zapata's is always good. Chendo and Noa and staff have a great product and the new additions to the restaurant ( long wood bar, sitting area and now for World Cup a big screen TV and a 'snack' menu) are nice plus... You will enjoy it here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank czmkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Zapata also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Viva Zapata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing