We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Sushi de Holbox

El Sushi de Holbox
Ranked #13 of 94 Restaurants in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: El Sushi de Holbox is the best asiatic restaurant in the Island. Our starter, fresh tuna tiradito won the first price on the holbox gastronomic awards. The terrace has a wonderful atmosphere as it is hidden from the noise of the street. Come and enjoy of our chefs rolls as sakana roll, niguiris or just a delicious margarita!
Falkland, BC. Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Above and beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Great atmosphere and the coldest beer on the island. The food was delicious, but it was so well displayed I didn't want to eat it. Seriously, I took pictures of every dish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJRobnoxious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    54
    15
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Delicious food, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I went here with a friend during our last night on the island and it was the perfect way to end our trip. The food completely outdid our expectations, as we weren't entirely sure what to expect from a Mexican sushi bar. The seaweed salad was a delicious starter, and the tuna roll was made-to-order and wonderfully fresh. The ambiance was casual but thoughtfully designed and perched on a second-floor covered balcony that overlooks the street. Surrounded by treetops and glowing lanterns, the place has a charming, slightly whimsical feel. The staff were attendant and friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. A wonderful last dinner in Holbox!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena2127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a chance to visit this cozy restaurant during our visit and enjoy their specialty, they offer a 2 x 1 promotion in Caipiriñas and it's conveniently located a few steps from the main square inside El Pueblito, a unique shopping mall in Holbox. Prices are very reasonable =)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mau-Cancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayangue, Ecuador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I asked what they recommended, and was told the 'Mango Roll'. It was crab, avocado, mango and a mildly spicy sauce. It was wonderful on its own, but when I dipped it in soy sauce it was incredible! I was drinking Sauvignon Blanc and it paired nicely! The atmosphere and music were very nice, and as it is on the 2nd floor, there is no street noise. Highly recommended by me as well!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent sushi in Mexico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

On the second floor of the "big city mall" you wil find El Sushi, a small outside restaurant on a balcony.
Very friendly staff welcomes you. We ordered regular sushi and the Mango roll (not on the menu, chef's special). All of the sushi was made when ordered, and was very fresh! The Mango roll is highly recommended!! Delicious!
Also the prices are very low compared to other sushi restaurants.

Certainly a place to get back to...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamRooijmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sushi de Holbox also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Sushi de Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing