We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yummy food, good Italian vino” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Pelones - CLOSED

Los Pelones
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Oakland CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“yummy food, good Italian vino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We ate here our last evening on the island. The location is nice; it's fun to watch the hustle and bustle of activity on the square. The food was good Italian fare and it was nice to have a good glass of wine with dinner. I don't know that I need to go here again, but it was a very pleasant dinner. (We're probably spoiled, living in the Bay Area with millions of fabulous restaurants.)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank allison444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

The menu here is very limited and compared to other Holbox restaurants, pricey. El menu aqui es muy limitadad y en comparison de otros restaurantes, cuesta mucho.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sababa56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New ownership/Menu change”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This was unquestionably the best restaurant in Holbox, run by a Mexican/Italian couple. Pastas and Italian fare that rivalled any big city restaurante Italiano. I took my family there on Tuesday for my Mom's birthday and was disappointed to find that Los Pelones( The Bald Ones) had grown their hair back and moved to Solferino.
The food is OK but the days of the big chalkboard menus, great pastas and gelatos are gone. This restaurant was a treat that I always looked forward to when in Holbox.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ExpatAlbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We were at holbox for our honeymoon for 4 days in august. We arrived at this amazing restaurant on our final night, and we were very upset we had to leave the next day and couldnt return!!
This is a perfect place, overlooking the lovely holbox street, with excellent service and the higlight- the food: everything we ate was perfect, and they made the best Muhito i drank in mexico.
You must visit! Just be adviced, when we were there they were closed during lunch,so plan going for dinner!!
Lovely, lovely, lovely-would love to return!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Good good good restaurant!
All the plates ( fishes, pastas...) were cooked very well. The place is very nice and the owner is a beautiful person, so kindly!
We didn't spent much ( only about 400 pesos) and the food was abundant and excellent!! Perfect interpretation of the italian cousine made by italian people!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Pelones also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing