We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel on Holbox !!!”
Review of Tribu Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tribu Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best hostel on Holbox !!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We LOVED this hostel : great vibe, super clean, fairly priced, everything you need (kitchen, chilled out area, swings!) !!! The staff is really cool and make it a special place. There are a lot of places on Holbox and for having visited quite a few, compare prices, location and comfort, and Tribu is the best one. They also organise activities every night to get people together, really cool. There was a jam session night when we were there and we all sat around the fire listenning to the musicians, clapping and having fun, it was amazing! Try it, you'll love it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grigouillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    81
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
87
120
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with a friend in a mixed dorm of 10. We lucked out big time as there were only 4 of us staying in the room but it wouldn't have mattered as the rooms are spacious and well ventilated with fans and air con! The place itself is beautifully done. The different coloured buildings are so vibrant and really come alive in the glorious sunshine. The hammocks in the garden are a great feature too where you can just chill and catch up with other travellers in a tranquil setting. The owners, David and Mia, are two very cool individuals who make you feel so welcome and you can tell that they really have poured their heart and soul into this place. The kitchen is very well equipped, it even has a kettle! The reception staff were really helpful too and told us about this great walk along the sand dunes where we saw sting rays and barracudas! Am definitely coming back to stay again.. Thank you TRIBU!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsaFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at Tribu twice both in a private room (a great value) and in the dorms. I was very happy with both. The place is clean, has a very nice kitchen and the staff is very friendly and helpful.Altogether, it runs like a well-oiled machine. I also appreciated that they took Paypal, super convenient, especially on the island, where they keep running out of cash in the atms. The wifi worked and the well-located hammocks are a great place ot hang out. It can get a bit noisy, since the bar is right there, but at the same time, it's nice to have a bar right at your fingertips.

Room Tip: Private room (Asmara, I believe) was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zayatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I fell in love at Tribu Hostel in Holbox Island Yucatan...in love with the country and its' people.
The hostel was perfect for my needs and the family running it are really down to earth.
Hi Mia !
I know people will now flock to it and possibly ruin it...but I'm counting that the logistics of getting there will deter the less adventurous 1

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank gerard n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here after a bad experience at another hostel on the island which I left early, Tribu had been my initial first choice but they didn't have a private room available..just goes to show that you should always follow your instincts and compromise if necessary, the place is more important in the end than the room. I ended up in a 10 bed all female dorm in which I have to say I had a better nights sleep than the 3 nights in my 'private' cabana in the other hostel. It's very clean, atmospheric and beautifully designed with lots of nooks and cranny's where you can find your own space and lots of nice chill out areas, hammocks, terraces, roof terraces etc.. but what makes it is the attitude of the owners and the staff. They are friendly and kind and as such a good karma pervades at this place which in turn makes the guests feel relaxed and comfortable and feeds the homely unique atmosphere

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Isla Holbox is a magical place, just like this little hostel. They usually run full, so worth booking in advance. I stayed in a 10 bedded dorm - well, as you can imagine, I didn't get the best sleep of my life, it's just a way it is when you share with so many people. But in fairness, perhaps I met the best and the nicest people to share a room with. Other travellers at Tribu were just lovely, you instantly make friends and you can simply hang out with just anyone there. There was a joke running at the hostel "Just another night". Yes, most people get stuck there, for another night and for another night and another one :). They have a lovely kitchen, most people cook there and share food. There is a terrace for people near the kitchen to dine and hang out, the place has a separate bar which opens in the evening and closes at 1am. Tribu bar almost functions as a local cultural hub, they have something on every night from jam sessions through dance classes to drinking games - having said that, it is not a party hostel, you have the opportunity to rest as well (great sitting-hammocks too). Super close to the beach and the town centre! On top of everything I really appreciated the owners' help when I ran out of money - we did a Pay Pal transfer and they gave me the money I transferred to them in cash - it was life saving!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avnire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I heard about holbox and this hostel though a friend and decided to check it out. simple amazing. the place itself is done up with lots of art. the kitchen is big and a great place to make meals. though you have to catch it at slow times or can get a bit crowded. the staff are very friendly and make you feel at home. the bar is closed on mondays but have events every other night, including salsa lessons, quiz night, and jam sessions. well worth the time spent there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadHatterMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
978 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#12 of 19 in Holbox Island
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
1.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribu Hostel

Property: Tribu Hostel
Address: Avenida Pedro Joaquin Coldwell 19 | Lote 6, Holbox Island, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Tribu Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing