We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Tribu Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tribu Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here for a wedding on the island and was treated with care. The new "presidential suite" turned out very well and there we plenty of activities to do. Isla Holbox is secluded but I could stay connected with the free WiFi. Will definitely do it again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txvago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    81
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
87
120
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Killer location on a lovely little island. I would have liked some Air Con (it was June), but other than that, it was awesome, and the room was clean and cute. An in-house bar. trivia, movies, bikes, really close to the beach, and a great vibe from the staff made this a place I will surely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

This hostel was a great location, block from the beach and about 2 blocks from the main street. Rooms are clean and cute. No need for mosquito net but it was really hot in August and aircon would have been nice. There are bikes to rent, make sure you bike out to see the flamingos. And make sure you take a night time swim and check out the amazing phosphorescence!!!

We booked a whale shark tour through the hostel, it costed $1000MXN. It was a none jarring 3hr ride out to the whale sharks, if you get sea sick, not the ride for you or make sure you take something. We saw 3 whale sharks but only swam with one. AMAZING!!! We were lucky though and the whale shark to ourselves for about 20 minutes and then the place was invaded by people and boats. The poor whale sharks are getting harassed out there. Sometimes we saw 40 people in thw water at time with them and people touching them. It looked like chaos. We have heard they are closer to isla mujares now so you might want to take tour from there but heard it's more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Tribu is my favorite place to stay in the Yucatan. If you enjoy hostel living, Tribu is perfect. The acommodations are authentically cozy and the chef of the house is amazing. And the money you save staying there can be spent on more delicious food on Holbox or maybe a Whale Shark Tour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RB00KER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have been on a 3 night night stay at Tribu hostel in the middle of July, it is a very well designed place with a great atmosphere and some very helpful people working there. The experience in a hostel usually depends on the people staying there at the same time, I was real lucky and we made a great group. The kitchen is very well equipped and the owner was really nice making sure the rooms were working as they were supposed to. It's probably the best hostel I have stayed in, I rented bicycles every day and those do need some adjustments but I was able to go on them for 2 - 3 hours every day. I am hoping to go back in the next few months.

Room Tip: AC rooms are only 20 pesos more and definitively worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueGold33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is the best hostel i have ever been to. The staff is realy nice, they will recomend you tours.
the organice night activities, the bedrooms are clean, there is a bathroom in every room and many showers. Its is a great place to meet new people.
Remember to swim in the beach at night, it is one of the few places in the world where the ocean glows when you swim

Room Tip: They have small lockers in the rooms, you can ask for a lock with a deposit of 50 pesos, they will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Morelos, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Friendly staff - Clean rooms - nice water pressure in the shower - Nicely designed hostel with an artistic touch - The kitchen area is well equipped and organized - Everything is designed and planned so that the travelers can meet and relax. We'll come back and we'll recommend LA TRIBU.

Room Tip: For those of you who need a room with AC: Tribu has dormitories with AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicorentals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
982 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#12 of 19 in Holbox Island
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
1.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribu Hostel

Property: Tribu Hostel
Address: Avenida Pedro Joaquin Coldwell 19 | Lote 6, Holbox Island, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tribu Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing