We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tribu Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tribu Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Beautiful clean rooms, helpful staff, movie room, great large kitchen, good location. Hostel was great, only downside was the beach - it's smelly & full of seaweed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjreddot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    78
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
85
119
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Its a good place to stay if you have a low budget or you go with friends or solo, you can have a room by yourself with bathroom, very nice, clean and good space. Nice and helpful staff. Lots of activities, and a good place to find different people to share with. The only thing is that is not right on the beach, but its very very close. You have a nice view of the ocean on the rooftop with hammocks and the bar is really nice. I have a very good time here, then I change to try another place because I wanted more solitude and its was good also. Its a great island to rest and have a good time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaGrinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

There is not much more to add to the other reviews but I can confirm all the good things that were said about Tribu, the rooms, the laid back, the help, etc! And how creative they all are. I love their work of art! An awsome place to be. The staff and especially David and Mia are helpful and friendly beyond expectations... Not that we became friends over my stay but on my last night Mia was supposed to join me at the bar for a drink and did not show up. I thought something came up or she was tired and went to bed. Upon my return home, I received and email from her apologizing because in fact, something came up and she had to stay in town. How nice is that? Thanks for everything guys!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madamelamarquise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I felt very welcome as soon as I arrived. Tribu was recommended to me before arriving on the island. Bed linens and towel are provided upon checkin. They'll change them when you want. Kitchen and bathrooms are kept clean daily. Personal locker space and baggage room is available. A cinema and hammocks on the rooftop terraces make it hard to leave the hostel some days! If your roomates are messy or noisy or party animals or early risers, just change rooms! Everybody was very respectful and generous during my stay, but communication is key. My advice: just ask! More than likely, you'll be humbled.

Never a boring moment, and there's always someone with whom to hang out, chat, bbq, fish, cook, jam, bon-fire, explore the island. Bicycles are available to rent for very cheap. Also kayaking tours around the island and its rivers. If you're shy at first, take it easy and read... someone will soon make sure you are enjoying your stay. Bbq nights are common and great for socializing. Fish is fresh and cheap in Holbox!
Quiet hours are after 11 or midnite, but there are more places to stay out late on the island. I often crashed at 9pm cuz of tiresome long days under the sun, and no complaints.
Many sole travelers stay for a few weeks or even months, but many groups come through as well. Great atmosphere always, very international and tolerant. Davide and Mia are great hosts and very dedicated so they will make sure everything is just right. I really appreciate their support for a sustainable barter economy and talent sharing. Look at the artwork and woodwork all around! Very inspiring and motivating of the new world order I yearn.

The bar is an awesome gathering spot for all young spirited and fun people on the island. Carolina is the sweetheart who works at the bar...she makes awesome drinks and cocktails and will play sweet tunes The regulars include Holbox kiteschool instructors, other kiters, hotel & restaurant employees, eternal snowbirds, travellers growing roots at Tribu, and even some doctors from the ER on Holbox! Great connections, epic storytelling, and good advice to be taken from all of them.

It has been hard to leave!!

People I will never forget that you may also meet there: Davide, Mia, Carol, Jason, Alma, Javier, Jirka, Eva, Gabo, Arlene, Nana...and of course, Mango!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unhookedraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I am 46 and went to this Hostel with my son of 13! Mia and Davide are very helpful and friendly. We met people of every age and background. The rooms are beautiful and clean.
The private rooms are better than in hotels!
We were at the hostel for new year and some people who had not booked arrived with no bookings. Mia e Davide turned the cinema room into their room to help them out.

Room Tip: Both dorms and private room are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susumau66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt Am Main
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We staid at tribu for 6 days and had an amazing time there. Staff is very friendly in particular the owners Mia and David. It has a very chilled out atmosphere and it is easy to get in touch with other travellers. The best place to stay when you travel on a shoestring.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolin310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

I have travelled the world twice all through europe asia middle east americas carribean and this hostel is a standout! the design is amazing very well put together the walls a thick to keep out any heat there is no a/c required the staff are super friendly there a movie room swings and hammocks above on the sun deck and below on the ground there is a resident labrador Mango who is fun to play with but keep your clothes and towels away from him as he likes to steal them when your in the water which is Hilarious theres a great bar trivia nights games bike rental
close to the beach phosphrantes that light up in the water at night whale shark swimming tour its an awesome place to be dont stay anywhere else on the island we did for the first night and changed immidiatly

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#9 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribu Hostel

Property: Tribu Hostel
Address: Avenida Pedro Joaquin Coldwell 19 | Lote 6, Holbox Island, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tribu Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing