We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tribu Hostel the best on Holbox Island!”
Review of Tribu Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tribu Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

well, David & Mia are very good host...you need to meet Mango too! beautiful happy beach dog.
just 2 minutes and you're on the beach! the best hostel to meet travelers on Holbox Island...take a siesta on the roof top terrace or just look the amazing sunset.
before leaving you need to try the tasty BBQ
hasta pronto!
alberto

Room Tip: dorms are very clean & bright..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betour02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 374 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2011

Tribu Hostel on Holbox island is a fairly new, purpose built hostel beside the beach and two minutes walk to the main square. Accomodation ranges from dorms to private rooms at good rates but, what sets this hostel apart, is the superb friendly staff, the ample cooking facilities, the cleanliness, and the fun atmosphere. Anyone I met while staying there either prolonged their stay, or were really sorry to have to leave. The guys running the hostel maintain professional standards while being really warm and welcoming...there's a fun and inclusive ambiance...if hostels got star gradings,Tribu hostel deserves at least five stars!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mixer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Let me start by saying that I worked in a hostel that has been ranked #1 in Mexico for two years straight, and that place does not come close to Tribu.

Tribu is clean, bright, colorful, and well organized. The attention to detail is amazing. The owners have put a tremendous amount of effort into the hostel, and it shows.

Specifics:
-Location - a 2-3 minute walk to the beach, 3-4 minute walk to the center of town.
-Quarters - I stayed in the 6 person dorm. It had an attached bathroom and a side porch. The mattresses were in good shape. There were lockers for each bed. All room items were clean and virtually new. The water pressure in the shower was strong, and the water can get HOT if you want that.
-Amenities - A very large kitchen is available and well stocked with utensils. There is a great bar where the guests meet (you have to be there for quiz/trivia night - a great way to meet people). There is a cinema room for the rainy days, hammocks everywhere, and a rooftop area to see the sunset. There is a covered deck area off the kitchen that people use for eating, and checking email. There is free wi-fi at the hostel, as well.
-Value - I paid 145 pesos (around $12 usd) per night during high season. For what this place offers, I felt it was an incredible value.

Bottom line - I couldn't find a thing at Tribu that was lacking. This place is on par with many hotels, at a hostel price! I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hudson_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We were greeted by the friendly owners and found almost everything just perfect. Rooftop views with hammock to watch the sunsets, great kitchen, clean rooms, fun bar with theme nights and friendly atmosphere. My only tiny complaint is that the mattress in the private room is very hard (but this was common throughout Mexico) so sleeping didn't come easily. The shower could also use a curtain to stop water getting all over the floor. Located only one block from one of the most beautiful beaches I have seen and short walk to all local restaurants and shops. Definite thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee007jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Just back from an 8 night stay at Tribu in Holbox with my girlfriend. This is easily one of the friendliest, cleanest and well equipped Hostels I’ve every stayed in. The owners Mia & David and extremely helpful and friendly. The kitchen is clean and well organised, there is a nice bar and roof top terrace.. Its 1 street back from the beach and 3 mins walk to the main square of the town - Location is perfect!

I can 100% recommend Tribu!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidshan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!! this hostel is very nice, the two owners and the dog mango is extremely nice. the rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable! the rooms are cleaned every day:)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

stayed here with a couple of friends and loved it. Lovely looking place, with great spaces including bar, kitchen and roof access. Loveliest staff ever. We really enjoyed our time here and met some great people.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yemisi_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,099 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#16 of 20 in Holbox Island
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
1.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#20 of 20 in Holbox Island
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribu Hostel

Address: Avenida Pedro Joaquin Coldwell 19 | Lote 6, Holbox Island, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Holbox Island
Price Range: $11 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tribu Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing