We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, but be prepared...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Nubes De Holbox
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, but be prepared...”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Holbox Island, off the Yucatan peninsula coast, is 8km long and 4km wide close to the point where the Gulf of Mexico and the Caribbean Sea meet. There are no cars on the island, which is reached by a 20`ferry ride from the mainland. Transportation is by golf carts, bicycles or walking.
The Hotel de las Nubes is at the furthest end of the island next to the mangle reserve. It's a small boutique establishment with bungalows facing the sea and 2 two-story buildings a few meters behind the two pools.
The food is excellent, with freshly-baked bread and pastries and a varies menu of seafood, meat and past dishes. The restaurant is on a raised terrace overlooking the sea. Service is good, although a bit slow when the hotel's two dozen rooms are fully occupied. Holbox often has flooded sand roads that make walking difficult. The town is a 20`walk from the hotel and has a good variety of restaurants and small shops.
The single drawback of the hotel is that due to its location next to the mangles, an invasion of small flies and mosquitos arrives in the late afternoon until sunset so bring lots and lots of bug repellant.
All in all a the most recommendable place to stay on the island.

Room Tip: The three bungalows facing the sea with double beds are the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rozasociados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    52
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
78
153
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

So, I've been to quite some places around the world and seen a thing or two.
BUT, Ihave never actually, literally lost my breath from seeing a view. That's what happened when I stepped in the Las Nubes Hotel, breath taking!
So I spent 7 days with my family at this hotel and I can't find a single thing to complain about.
The service was perfect, the food in the restaurant was amazing, the room and the beds, light clean and quiet. And then the view that we had for breakfast... you have to be there to realize it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCHALKIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I went to Holbox with a friend and another couple and we stayed at Las Nubes de Holbox for 5 nights. Getting to Holbox is a bit of a pain from NYC, 2 hours by car from the Cancun airport and then a 30 minute ferry ride but it's well worth it!

There are no cars on Holbox and golf carts are the easiest (and most fun) way to get around. Las Nubes is at the opposite end of the town square but it's only a 8 min golf cart ride along the beach (phtot attached of the view of the ride). The hotel property and the rooms are Mayan inspired, very clean, natural and exactly what you would hope for when visiting the Yucatan Peninsula. The staff at the hotel could not have been friendlier, and they also have a good sense of humor and were happy to keep the tequila flowing. There is a terrace above the restaurant which was perfect to watch the sunset while catching a buzz. In the morning, there is a nice running trail into the nature preserve where you can run on the beach (the sand is hard enough) and get some nice color. We would normally have breakfast at the hotel (Larena), hang at the beach, take a golf cart into town, eat lunch at one of the amazing, local restaurants near the town center (they are all great). WORD TO THE WISE--BRING CASH. The ATM's do not work and most places do not take credit card aside from the hotel which did for our final bill. Trust me, it's nice to have cash, especially when going into town. Finally, if you like chatzkies (and I do) you can even satiate that desire here in Holbox. I actually bought shell nightlights for my parents house who live on the beach that are handmade in holbox and very cool. There's also ton's of crap to buy while in town to bring gifts home. What more can you ask for?

The reason I take away one star are the RACCOONS! Yes, indeed there are Raccoons who have decided to make themselves cozy at the property and they particularly like to come up to you and beg while you dine on the delicious food at Las Nubes. I personally loath Raccoons and their presence made my skin crawl but the staff was good about shooing them away (but they always came back). Truth be told, even I lived to write this review so I guess they are harmless. I just would have preferred them not to be there at all. Aside from that, you are in for a vacation of rest, relax, watersports, great people and a fun little town center of locals that are warm, welcoming and make you want to return. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have ocean views...the first floor has more of a garden/raccoon view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I went with my family to the beautiful Island of Holbox, northern Cancun. It was an unforgettable experience. We found the Hotel Las Nubes the best option for accommodation, services, and quality of food.
Beware of the mosquitoes!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have read most of the previous reviews prior to our trip, so I will try note to be too long winded. This is the perfect resort for this location. The rooms are large and clean. The staff bends over backwards to make your stay perfect. The Food Service was very good. The sunsets were amazing. Bicycles, Paddle Boards, Kayaks, and a great beach. The only negative I have read about was a positive to me. Las nubes is the farthest away from town which made it the least crowded and quietest resort in Holbox. The Whale Shark Snorkleing was unbelievable. We chartered a flight from Cancun which I felt was well worth the money. A 30 minute scenic flight -vs- a 3 hour van ride. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PapaK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Amazing. Location, location, location. Literally next to the sea (about 1 feet). Very nice hotel. Hippie Chic with great food and service. Yes, its true that service is kind of slow, but they are very kind so that compensates it (my point of view). Rooms are nice. Ask for the ones in front of the beach, they should have breathtaking views.
Sunsets are amazing, calm beaches and tiny but nice pools. I would definetely Come here next year, mosquitos off season (march- april). Bring tons of repelant because mosquitoes are millions and they are tough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luisitorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ok, I must confess to having read pretty much every Trip Advisor review for this hotel, as well as most of the other Isla Holbox hotels, before booking (via Expedia) our stay at Las Nubes. We spent the last week of June at this property, and I think we made the right decision. But that doesn't mean its the best place on the island. It worked for us, but it wasn't somewhere I would rush to return to and it won't appeal to everyone. We chose Isla Holbox for the Whale Shark experience, and wanted to see a part of Mexico that hasn't been destroyed by over-development. Yet.

The location of this hotel is what made it the right choice for us. I love that it's NOT close to any other hotel, and is literally at the waters edge. The main road connecting the hotel to town runs BEHIND the hotel, not in front. So this means that when you're in your room, or sitting at the restaurant or bar, or in your beach chair, you don't see, hear, or smell those noisy/smelly golf carts. You can feel the breeze from the water, you can hear the water lapping on to the beach, and you can see the water from almost anywhere on the property. You feel "isolated', in a good way, at Las Nubes. Not just another property along the "strip". And in the hot summer sun, that breeze off the water is essential. At the edge of the hotel is totally undeveloped beach, making long walks (both on the beach and/or in the water, since its so shallow) easy and you might be the only people around.

However, the isolated location also means that if you want to walk to town, its about a 20 minute walk for shopping, errands, and dining if you choose to not eat at the hotel. If you do this walk while the sun is out, it's pretty darn hot. If you do it around sun set, it's cooler and beautiful, but cover up with bug spray. Yes, you can bike in to town or take a golf cart taxi, but we opted to walk. Bring a flashlight if you plan to walk back after it gets dark.

The property is in good condition, and appears to have been well maintained. There is a lot of staff, and we found the service to be excellent. For a few of the nights, it felt like there were more staff than guests. The majority of the staff didn't speak English, including most of the wait staff, but our ipads and google translate came in handy on occasion. We saw very few other Americans at the hotel, and on the island in general, so the lack of english speakers appeared to be the norm on the island. Not a big problem for us, but it might be for some travelers. The front desk person always spoke English, so any issues were dealt with easily. I felt that the paddle boards, kayaks, and bikes were intended to be "self serve", so I didn't have an issue with doing just that. It all seemed pretty easy and self explanatory.

Yes, there are iguanas and raccoons. I found that both added to the unique charm of this island and of this small hotel. They weren't a nuisance, and I never felt that they were a problem. But if animals like this wandering around the grounds freak you out, then you may not like the "rough edges" of Isla Holbox, where there is an abundance of stray dogs, no paved roads, restaurants with no air conditioning, and only a single ATM which may or may not actually be operational when you need it.

We had booked a bungalow with water view, but upon arrival, we were given Room 27, a junior suite. Once we saw the bungalows, we were quite glad that we were NOT in one. Our room was at the end of the property, a corner unit on the ground floor with views directly on to the water from two sides. It was a spacious room, fantastic views, our own hammock and lounge chairs on our front patio (which appeared shortly after we requested them) and unlike the waterfront bungalows, there is not a steady stream of people walking in front of our room since we were on the end. The A/C worked very well, and the room also had black out curtains which made sleeping in quite easy. Spacious bathroom too.

However, if I had to rate the room based on charm, character, or romantic aspirations, I'd have to give it a pretty low score. It felt rather cold and sterile, both in terms of furnishings and especially the lighting. It had two double (not queen) beds, which for most couples would make for some pretty uncomfortable sleeping. Each bed had a side table and reading light only on a single side. I found a little table between our beach chairs that I brought in to use as my side table. The flooring in the room is a soft concrete type floor, cream colored to match everything else in the room. But there was no area rug, runner, or any type of soft floor covering in the room, so any sandy or wet feet inside the room just stayed sandy. No mosquito netting, no fancy towel/floral decorations on the bed, no soft lighting, nothing colorful or atmospheric to create a sense of character or romance. So if this a much needed couples vacation, you might be disappointed. Great location and view made the room pleasant, but otherwise, the room was probably the least attractive I've seen in a long time. And from what I could see when walking by (and looking directly in to, since you have no choice but to walk right in front of them) the bungalows at the waterfront, these too also appeared to share some of the shortcomings of our room. And a mini-fridge would have been a nice addition, as it would have been good to keep some cold drinks on hand, and maybe some snacks. A fresh ice bucket is brought to the room nightly, along with bottles of water, so a cold glass of water before bed time is at least an option. The bathroom was big, with a lovely bowl for the sink,and had a decent shower with ample hot water. But the A/C from the room isn't vented in to the bathroom, and there was no ceiling fan (in either the bathroom or main room). So the bathroom pretty much was hot and stifling. You wouldn't want to spend too much time in there.

The continental breakfasts were fine. I'm not entirely sure the pastries are made on site, but they were pretty good. We usually saved most of them to eat at lunchtime, as the fruit platter was enough for us. I did order scrambled eggs twice, and they were very good. The dinner menu was a bit heavy and rich for us, given the heat and weight reminders provided daily by our bathing suits. So we ate dinner in the restaurant area only once. We found that eating upstairs off the snack menu suited us fine, with a nice breeze and more casual vibe and menu. The burger was decent, as were the chicken wings and guacamole. We ate dinner in town most of the nights, though. I can recommend Viva Zapata, Mandarina (at las tortugas) and the taco truck (tacos quetos).

On our daily walks into town along the beach, we could see the beach experience offered by other hotels. Many had nicer, more interesting, more comfortable beach lounge options than Las Nubes. Padded/swinging beach beds, with protective/stylish fabric canopies, colorful cushions and pillows, hammocks suspended over the water, etc.....Most of the beach chairs at Las Nubes looked like they were straight from a big box store, with no pillows or padding and pretty unattractive and not very comfortable. There are a few great beach beds on the property, including a pair of them at the waters edge. But the one we used most was the one tucked away in an alcove behind the upstairs bar. Always in the shade, and a nice breeze, to keep it cool and free of bugs. And perfect wifi, which was appreciated since it rarely worked in our room. Keep in mind that our visit was at the end of June, and it was really hot, humid, and yes, there were mosquitos and other bitey/fly-like inspects. A summer visit for us was dictated by the presence of the Whale Sharks ONLY at this time of year....

There is a new general manager at the hotel, who has been there a month. We spoke with him briefly, and he seemed very nice and interested in ensuring we had a good experience at this property. It is likely that he will initiate some changes that will enable Las Nubes to more easily justify its higher price tag, as i'm not sure the location itself is enough to make it the most expensive property on the island. But for us, the location of the property AND of our room was worth it.

Room Tip: Room 27 had probably the best location/view, but we did occasionally hear the footsteps and water ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeniferb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
704 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
451 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Nubes De Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Nubes De Holbox

Property: Las Nubes De Holbox
Address: Paseo Kuka s/n | esquina Calle Camaron, Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Nubes De Holbox 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Nubes De Holbox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Nubes De Holbox Hotel Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing