We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unplug and Unwind... A great place to relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Nubes De Holbox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Nubes De Holbox
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
stevehalloma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unplug and Unwind... A great place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I went here at the end of Feb. The room was VERY clean and comfortable (we had a Junior Penthouse) - great view!! The bed was amazing - I haven't slept that well in a long time. I was a little disappointed the room did not have internet even though there was a wireless router in the room...maybe it was better that way so we can could really 'unplug"... internet around the property was spotty at best.

The staff was incredibly attentive. We mostly experienced the wait staff and the bartenders - very, very nice people and always with a smile. I really liked Janero up at the bar - good kid!! They also brought us a sweet treat and dropped it off in our room each night - it was a nice touch.

Although went into town for a variety of food, the 2 dinners we had there were very good. The lunches were great!! We had fish tacos - unreal. The cont. breakfast was OK, but I opted for eggs with the peas and sauce, (I can't remember the name but it was very good). However, by the end of the trip I had asked them to make me a breakfast quesadilla - bacon eggs and cheese with salsa on the side - just ask for "Egg's Estaban". Overall a great trip.

As for transportation we used Holbox VIP - very good curb to curb service. Pepe was super nice and so was Roberto! Do not be scared when they turn off the main roads- they are either taking you to show you a tourist attraction or taking a short cut... It was a little nerve racking at first because of all of the stories. It's a bout a 2.5 hour drive.

Overall - a great trip.... Also - I think we were the only people from the US there, it was kind of nice:)

It's definitely a unique experience and a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: We had #25 and it was very nice. Great ocean view - at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevehalloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasNubesHolbox, Director de Recepción at Las Nubes De Holbox, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Holbox is a place to relax and to forget for a while the big city. We work everyday in help to our guests to have a great time. Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    48
    25
    9
    10
See reviews for
70
143
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you are looking for a spot that is the epitome of tranquility, that offers a high service quality experience and a spectacular scenery, Las Nubes is definitely worth a visit!

The beach is amazing with its shallow waters that allow for a unique "ecosystem", where you can walk in the ocean with water up to your ancles or knees surrounded by small turbots and other fish, if they are not victims of the pelicans.

Perfect place to go if you need to unwind and get away from the busy life in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peleus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Las Nubes.
The hotel is ideally located on this pedestrian Island. The last one before the beach with the pink flamingos and the pelicanos.
You can borrow some quite rusted bikes to join the village, or take the local cab (golf car).
The receptions organizes great day trips. Whale shark tour, fishing tours and fresh ceviche made with your catch... it's really worth doing it!!
Excellent service, nice restaurant with an amazing view on the sea,
Wifi only at the reception (a perfect way to disconnect...)
I wish we could come back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a couple nights in JUL 2012 and it was fantastic. I must set the mood; the day we checked in we had just completed a private whale shark tour with fishing and eating our catches (40 lbs tuna my wife caught) with a very nice family from New Jersey and some local fishermen on an island. Back to Nubes........ Our Capitan actually navigated the boat right up to Las Nubes's deck / stairs and we were met by Nubes staff with cold bottled water and warm & moist towels. With this type of service, I thought I was in a movie or living someone else's life. Truly first class! The female who ran the front desk / concierge was fantastic. Her name escapes me, but she was very helpful. We stayed in a "bungalow" which overlooked the ocean and was in front of the "rectangular pool". AC worked and the bed was good. It was very cool to see the iguanas sneaking around the decks. The food we had was very good as well. Now, here's where there should be some changes that Management MUST consider if they want to be considered upper notch. While we ate outside on the deck my wife saw and encountered several mice, that were either scurrying about to get scraps, and or, avoid iguanas. At first this seems to be “oh part of the Holbox experience". However, when considering these mice were not scared, but rather were aggressive, leads one to wonder where else do they frequent..I.e. the kitchen. That coupled with the iguanas and "a family of raccoons" we heard of gives major concern. I would definitely go back to Nubes

Room Tip: Ask to see what's available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasNubesHolbox, Front Office Manager at Las Nubes De Holbox, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your opinion and comments. I want to let you know that the animals that you are talking about are racoons, which are part of holbox's nature. They really are wild animals, but tourists have been feeding them day after day and now thay are used to that.

Until the moment they haven't atacked anyone. We give the advice that they are not our pets.

We would be very happy that in the end you had a nice stay at Las nubes de Holbox.

Best regards,

Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

the best voyage!!! with the family,and service excellent!!, Restaurant have an excellent food,The beach its really clean, the service in the beach always quick, Las Nubes de Holbox, the place to relax!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abrildentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a great stay at Las Nubes, everything was perferct for our honeymoon, very quite, nice rooms, terrasse on the sea, food awesome ! The beach is really clean, with towels everywhere...
Not in the hotel area, THE place to relax in Holbox !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The island is beautiful, no doubt about that, and the place+amenities in "las nubes de holbox" are perfect but the service wasn't good at all...

When we arrived we had to carry our bags into the lobby ourselves, no one said "hi" and apparently everybody was too busy doing nothing... When finally got paid attention to, lobby people were cold and mecanic, after we did the chek-in we were told that one of our rooms wasn't ready yet, not a big deal so we decided to leave out stuff in the room that was ready and have supper meanwhile, on the way to the room the guy from the lobby said that both rooms had kingsize beds (we booked thru expedia and made sure that one room was 2 doublebeds and the other 1 king size) the worst part was that he didn't even try to solve it or offered other option...

Rooms are a bit dark day&night, water pressure when using the shower is great, bed is comfty and having a hamaca inside the room is a great touch.

Food at the restaurant was good, presentation and flavor was excellent, service in the restaurant was perfect and surprisinly fast, the views from the restaurant are great.

If you may need internet during your stay, dont count on it, wi-fi didn't work for over an hour...

At the next day we used the hotel bikes (again no one was at lobby and we had to go en grab'em ourselves), good thing that we have been in the island before and knew where to go... Bikes are old and in very bad shape, but was fun though.

After a ride thru the little town came back to the hotel and decided to use the kayaks, once again nobody showed any interest on helping so we took them ourselves, we were there to have fun so we tried not to paid extra attention to the lousy service...

When came back, again had to do everything ourselves and out the kayaks back on their place.

Had breakfast, which was included and really good, got really and left. Again we had to carry luggage ourselves because the guy from the lobby found extremely hard to offer himself to help.

If you dont mind about service this is a great choice. If you do, go somewhere else (like casa sandra, those guys know their job)

Room Tip: Choose rooms 26 or 27, the best by far (ask first if they have finished the construction next door)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4dad3sparza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.9 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#9 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
1.1 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Nubes De Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Nubes De Holbox

Property: Las Nubes De Holbox
Address: Paseo Kuka s/n | esquina Calle Camaron, Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Nubes De Holbox 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Las Nubes De Holbox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Nubes De Holbox Hotel Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing