We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic students hostel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa BlatHa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa BlatHa
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic students hostel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was one of the worst places we´ve ever stayed. It is only suitable for studenty types that think it is "cool" to hang out in old dirty hammocks. The rooms are very basic and not very clean. The hotel is not right on the beach although we discovered many of the other hotels on the island are, so a big downer all round. The food reminded me of the stuff my old veggie uni. friend used to concoct when there was nothing left in the cupboards to eat. The staff do seem like nice enough people but really they need to up their game and property big style.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablatha, Propietario at Casa BlatHa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Our restaurant offer organically locally home made food, and most of our clients appreciate it. You claim to have stay with us on may 2013 but we only opened the restaurant for the fall 2014.
Our rooms are for sure simple and rustic as we are oriented to people that want to reconect with nature but we make sure to have clean rooms and common area to anyone that stays with us.
We do not have any record of your stay with us. As we have been targed to false reviews in the past. We would appreciate to know under which name you register and we could reimbure your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    120
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
50
233
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I came with my partner and daughter, and each of our brothers and their girlfriends. We took the three bottom floor rooms of the second house nearer the beach. It was amazing! The rooms are well apportioned, but not so much that it makes them hard to leave. Your door opens to a view of the water and beach, and you're only 10-12m from the water. The beach itself is pretty awesome, no more than 2 feet deep to 40m or 50m out, and well sheltered from Holbox's already mild waves, which made it great wading for our three year-old. There are ample shells to collect, and I even got to swim through a school of flying fish - which was quite a surprise.

Staff is excellent, calls cabs, helps with very good, off-the-strip food suggestions, and manages it all with a very mild, unobtrusive manner. Breakfast is excellent and very inexpensive relative to the square, everything is fresh and hand-made to order. Although getting in to town is a great option, we took all four of our morning meals (and one in the afternoon) there. I have heard a few people complain about the distance, but it is unwarranted - 15 minute walk at most (20 with a toddler) or a 4-5 minute cab ride (ask them to take the beach route, it is much nicer than going around the airport).

They offer tour arrangements, although we did not use them much, but I am inclined to trust that they are just as good as anything else on the island. The owner helped us get back to Cancun for our flight out, and even shared a boat with us on his way down to the Belizian border to pick up a group of tourists. They are also French fluent, if that is a more comfortable language for you.

TL:DR - great for families, great for couples, and even excellent if you're on the island yourself, just getting away.

Room Tip: The 'second house' has views directly out the door to the beach (rooms numbered 20+). I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was my second visit to Holbox, and after staying at Blatha I would never think of staying anywhere else. The food is fresh and AMAZING (vegan quesadillas!), the hotel itself is lovely and organic, but what we appreciated the most was the warmth and grace of the very kind people/staff. We stayed in the second building closer to the water, and the view was amazing. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Rooftop yoga at sunset or sunrise...priceless. It's a short walk along the beach into town, or a quick bike ride. It would be wise to grab a taxi from the pier when you are hauling all of your gear. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The seaside building has more spacious rooms and is a few steps closer to the beach, but the other b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevasimran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caye Caulker
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at Casa BlatHa. The staff is very friendly. The place quickly becomes a second home. The food is freshlyprepared (in many cases harvested in their own yard!). The location is quite good, not right on the beach, but only a few steps away. The balconies with sea view are quite nice. But the most remarkable aspect are the mosquito nets. The beds have nets. The area inside (where the restaurant is) is protected. And even the balconies are surrounded by nets.

Of course, there are a few things that could be improved. One annoying aspect was the shower pressure and the temperature. The rooms are also pretty small and don't have a desk or chair, for example. And it's a bit of a walk from "downtown." But a walk on a beautiful beach...

All in all, Casa BlatHa is really great value for money. Book it and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerForscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We found this hotel online and were only hoping it would be decent enough to shelter us during our trip to this amazing island. It was absolutely beyond our expectations! Though the rooms are quite simple, its proximity to the beach and isolated calm from town make this place wonderful. What makes it truly perfect is the staff: Daniel, the owner, is helpful and friendly in the extreme, as is the rest of the staff. Their kitchen is outstanding, and indeed we ate as many meals at the hotel as we could, and it was not for lack of great food on the island! They make their own yogurt and granola for breakfast, which was great. They also have beach towels, sun hats, tents for shade, and beach chairs to borrow for free, as well as unlimited bottled water, which in the hot sun was very important. Finally, the hotel and its staff are clearly ecologically minded without being preachy; a perfect balance.

So great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Thank you Daniel, and the entire staff of Casa Blatha. It was a purely enjoyable stay with a beautiful room, relaxing hammocks (in and out of the room!) and a fantastic breakfast. The complimentary breakfast was really good with different choices including a hearty oatmeal/porridge type dish that was a great way to start the day (packed with fruits & grains!) The staff was super nice, including Daniel, Paty, the restaurant staff, and all the others, and much thought and care was put into the decor and details of this homey hotel. The thoughtfulness of the staff was most appreciated. The garden was beautiful and scenic, and the hotel provided complimentary provisions and equipment, which was a nice gesture (umbrellas, beach equipment, purified water...), also had yoga classes while we were there. What's more, it is accessible to the budget traveler! We really enjoyed our experience.

Room Tip: They all seem to be good to me. I don't remember our room number, but some have hammocks that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 234Johnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fano, Italia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

The perfect place to relax, to enjoy the sun, the ocean and the birds.
10 min far from the pueblo, you can reach it by bike.
Very quiet, it offers vegeterian cousine and yoga by night below the stars.
Very recommended
Gianluca

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alexisfano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
1.8 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa BlatHa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa BlatHa

Property: Casa BlatHa
Address: Caguama 1 | esquina calle Charral, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa BlatHa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Blatha feelsi like your home in paradise. We have 12 rooms, a roof garden where we practice yoga, a palapa for meditation and massage, an organic orchard and a restaurant with vegan options. Our mision is to create moments that inspire everyone to live in harmony with our surrounding and our selves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa BlatHa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing