We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa BlatHa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa BlatHa
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Casa Blatha is a peaceful place to stay. The rooms and the view are beautiful and the atmosphere is welcoming and super friendly. The vegeterian food is cooked with fresh and local products (mostly ingredients they produce themselves). The beach is one block away. All those little details makes Daniel's place, the perfect environment for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    117
    26
    15
    10
See reviews for
44
229
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights - the room is not very big (but was big enough for us) and it was nice and clean and of basic standard (queen size bed, mosquito net, bathroom, hammock) We could use the balcony (shared with another room) and the roof terrace. The view from the terrace is really lovely. The staff was very friendly and helpful all the time. Continental breakfast (bread, home-made jam, fruit, cereals, coffee) is included - you could pay in addition for eggs - which were really delicious. You can walk to different lonely beaches from the house (all of them not far and really lonely). You can walk to downtown and beach-clubs in roughly 10-15 minutes along the beach which is really romantic by night (don't forget to bring a torch or a torch app if you do not like to walk in the dark). Also don't forget to bring a mosquito repellent. The neighborhood is really silent - staying there is a very good choice if you want to relax and escape from "touristy" places.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarabella05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rattvik, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hole stay on Casa Blatha was good, until the last day when we saw that 1500 pesos was missing. The owner told us that they have problem with the cleaning staff. So don´t stay here if you don´t want to lose your Money!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Johanna90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablatha, Propietario at Casa BlatHa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
I am very sorry about your lost. Unfortunatly I learn about the situation once you had gone. What I answer to you by email, was not that we have problems with our cleaning staff but that we will take serious measures if it turned to be thrue. The cleaning lady in question does not work anymore with us. I understand that you might want me to reimburse your lost, but you did not went to the police and as a hotel we do not know if you lost your moeny before even getting to the hotel.
We encourage our customers keeps money and important documents at the safe in the reception to avoid this types of situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent the week there and it really made our stay. The building is great with some really cool decorations and art works, making it a nice spot to relax. Theres a roof top terrace which gives you a great view of the west end of the island. Theres two parts to the hotel, one lot of rooms on the beach and the other set back not too far from that. Breakfast is included and theres great muesli and real honey. Sophia was there hosting us and she was lovely! Very helpful with island info places to eat etc.. Like the rest of Holbox mosquitos are around so bring deet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

In Casa Blatha I found a home away from home, but with beach! My stay for a week was wonderfull. All the staff made ​​me feel part of a sweet loving family. They were always aware of my needs. The whole hotel has a relaxed and full of love vibe! You can have yoga classes with inspiring ocean`s view! My room had a wonderful view of the sea. I am a mexican who lives in New York, so I can deeply recomend you to stay here if you want to relax and enjoy organic REAL food.(fruits, eggs, bread, coffe). I can said: do not doubt: go to Casa Blatha! :D

Room Tip: The one on the top of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorocoBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a great time here in my very simple room, with an ocean view from the sitting area outside.
The atmosphere was very nice, felt very personable and Emily in the reception was very friendly and helpful. They also have morning Yoga on the rooftop of the building with a 360 view of the Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mads4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This B&B style echo hotel is the perfect place to get away from it all. Basic room...bed, table, fan. Small bathroom. Immaculate. Patio with a visiting iguana each afternoon, who I named Jagger. Nice cross breeze, bugs in the room not a problem. Continental breakfast also basic, but fresh laid eggs an option if you want them. Charming and rustic. A good value and unique environment. Almost spiritual.

We were greeted by Emily who speaks perfect English and Spanish. Warm and lovely, loaded with local information. Daniel the owner also on site and always ready to help.

Our mission was to swim with the whale sharks and it almost did not happen when our guide cancelled morning of, due to weather. Emily made some calls and hooked us up with Tortuga Hotel Tour...whew...what a relief because we came a looooong way to do that. And BTW, they were terrific!

Beach is a hop and a skip, all flats, no waves. Walk to town in 15-20 minutes by the beach (not 10...Mexicans under estimate time for everything) and perfectly safe at any hour of the day or night. Wish I had spent more time in Holbox and less in Playa. Also, It was hot and humid and very buggy on the beach because of the excessive rain and standing water they had so bring a good bug spray for walking around.

Room Tip: We choose a room with no AC and managed fine for 2-nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LauraJean333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa BlatHa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa BlatHa

Property: Casa BlatHa
Address: Caguama 1 | esquina calle Charral, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa BlatHa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Blatha feelsi like your home in paradise. We have 12 rooms, a roof garden where we practice yoga, a palapa for meditation and massage, an organic orchard and a restaurant with vegan options. Our mision is to create moments that inspire everyone to live in harmony with our surrounding and our selves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa BlatHa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing