We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway”
Review of Casa BlatHa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa BlatHa
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 22, 2013

...we found for our 2-days escape from cancun. This enchanting place is in harmony with nature in the interior and its surroundings. Designed with lots of love to detail but above all with low impact on the environment. Clean, refreshing style of rooms. We enjoyed a marvellous view from our balcony onto the gulf of mexico, swinging in the hammock and listening to nature sounds. A complete relaxation! We had a swim before breakfast, which was served with deliscious homemade products. We rented bicycles and explored the island from one end to the other. Thanks so much to our hosts Daniel & Tatiana for your warm hospitality and professionalism. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: flash lights for the evening walks to the island centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjapawlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 487 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

I do not have enough words to describe now much I love this place!
The owners Tatiana and Daniel are really genuine, down to earth people who have clearly put a lot of effort into creating a cosy, homely, individual hotel that is not over-priced like some of the other hotels on the island seem to be.
The building itself is lovely, especially the quirky lounge area where you can eat breakfast and chat with other guests in the mornings, the roof terrace with great views, and the lovely simple clean rooms with balcony and hammock.
The location is perfect if you don't mind being a 10 to 15 minute walk from the town. If you don't want that then this is probably not for you, but we liked the fact that the hotel had a real feeling of being away from it all, plus once in town you can always get a golf buggy taxi back to the hotel if you feel lazy. There are a couple of great peaceful beaches just a few minutes walk / bike ride away. There is also a really nice cafe about 5 minutes away along the beach towards town where you can get good food and drink in the day if you can't be bothered to go the whole way into town.
We also ate dinner here one evening, which felt great to relax on the sofa and have home-cooked food after travelling around Central America for two months. Tatiana is a really good cook!
Overall this a great place if you are easy-going, relaxed and perhaps a bit on the liberal side. ;-) If you're used to resorts with A/C and pristine grounds then this might not suit you.
We were so sad to leave even after 10 days, which is very unusual for us. I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which had a lovely view. The first room we were in had a palapa roof which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLC_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Blatha. The rooms were beautiful, clean and comfortable. And the same can be said about the lounge area. The location suited us perfectly: the fact that it's not right in the centre makes it a peaceful retreat, but the centre is just a quick and pleasant 10 minute walk away. Daniel and Tahiana are both lovely hosts. We've been recommending the place to all our friends and plan on returning soon. Two thumbs way up!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank corinnefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The "lobby" is amazing, so nice to stay, you share time and breakfast in there with the rest of the visitors, great to know them. There is a very interesting collection of books you can read there, many topics all related to the zone. Casa blatha reflects the respect for nature. You will se all the ecological details :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aazf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had a lovely stay at Casa Blatha. We got a taxi from the ferry and it felt like we were going to the middle of nowhere and couldn't believe that the hotel was only 15minutes walk from the town but it is don't worry! Daniel was a lovely host and the breakfast was great. Rooms are a good size seeing as you won't be in them! Rent bikes and ride a horse along the beach. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd or 3rd floor better views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Casa Blatha - the rooms have been thoughtfully and tastefully decorated, are comfortable and clean. Perfect location 10 minutes walk from the town centre. The hosts are very welcoming, friendly and interesting to talk to. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salrawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This cosy little hotel is one of the most lovely places I´ve been to. The caring and very friendly owners made this place and my stay an unique and wonderful experience. The roof terrace couldn´t be better for my morning yoga, watching the breathtaking sunrises and sunsets. The hotel is just 50m from the quiet beach. I really enjoyed the peace there, as it is not right in the centre. A clean and beautiful place to spent some wonderful days and to live in the moment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amieventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
1.3 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#20 of 20 in Holbox Island
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Pueblito
Hotel El Pueblito
#9 of 20 in Holbox Island
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#11 of 20 in Holbox Island
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa BlatHa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa BlatHa

Address: Caguama 1 | esquina calle Charral, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range: $73 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa BlatHa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Blatha feelsi like your home in paradise. We have 12 rooms, a roof garden where we practice yoga, a palapa for meditation and massage, an organic orchard and a restaurant with vegan options. Our mision is to create moments that inspire everyone to live in harmony with our surrounding and our selves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa BlatHa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing