We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice journey!”
Review of Casa BlatHa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa BlatHa
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 29, 2012

this a very nice hotel ! The place is very peaceful, and the host was really helpful and helped us organizing our journey. It really is the perfect place to disconnect and enjoy the island ! We really had a nice stay with our friends

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armoulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 474 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

I went with my girlfriend for a week...I wish we could have stayed longer!!
Beatifull little guesthouse, tastefull and original decoration, nice rooms, amazing views from the roof top, perfect to enjoy sunsets.The best place to be for a relaxing and authentic stay! The owner was extremely helpfull and friendly, gave us lots of good advices to enjoy the island. There is a cosy living room where you can chill out on the hammock, they have very interesting books you can read, you can also use to the little kitchen (which can be very usefull)..basically you really feel like home ! The beach is just one street from the hotel, and the west side from the island only a 10min walk, so really....I can't miss it !!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frederichebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Simply decorated rooms, with excellent views that make you feel like you're on your own on the island. 10 minute, nice easy walk from town, which made it nice and quiet. Daniel, the host provided excellent information, taxis/transport, and breakfast with home grown tea and fruit. We loved this place and would recommend it to anyone after a real break.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor if you don't mind doing stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a great stay at Casa Blatha. Daniel, the owner was extremely helpful at arranging things that we needed during our stay (taxi, bikes, tours, restaurant suggestions, etc). The hotel is small and beautifully decorated. It has no TV so I was truly able to disconnected and tune into nature. I loved the location since it is located on the quiet side of the island away from the city centre; it was just a 10 minute bike ride away. I would definitely return to Casa Holbox. It was a true get away and stress free time. We loved the homemade Chia-mango preserve we got every morning for bfast!!!!!!! Rent a bike while you are there and enjoy the sites and beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlvinYebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband & I stayed at Casa Blatha with "Pohvacation" at end of June 2012. We agree with her comments totally. Daniel was such a gracious host, nothing was too much trouble & he was always making sure our stay was comfortable, offering us drinks/coffee etc. Aurora, the housekeeper was always cheerful as well & helpful. Eventhough she doesn't speak english, messages still gets across! The rooms are not huge but good enough, particularly when there is a living area, one can "hang out" & its nice to meet other guest & chat with Daniel, when he is about. One issue though is the ventilation in some rooms(ours was ok) can be a problem, when the doors need to be closed due to mosquitos. The mosquito net probably needs to be more "ventilated", we had our own so we just used ours.We enjoyed our stay & the view from the rooftop is great. We enjoy going up early in the morning when the sun is not too hot yet. Good luck Daniel!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed with some friends in casa Blat-ha in June. it definatelly has the WOW factor!!
The location of the "casa" is unique...it's not situated in the hotel area which is good and it's close to the village centre..... Caribbean see can be seen from the bed and its mosquitonet allows you to sleep with the door open... just listening to the Caribbean sea song ;)
In the bedroom's balcony there's a hammock from wich you can see lovely sunsets after spending the day in the beach...serching for Flamingos... swimming with Pelicanos...collecting seashells... or just hanging around in the village :)
Daniel is lovely and really hospitable; he took really good care of us at every moment! everyone at casa BlatHa was really friendly and the atmosphere was amazing!
The price of Paradise are mosquitos so don't forget your mosquito repelent and if you go... just ask Daniel to show you the "luminiscencia" which can be seen just at night in the Sea :)
I highly recommend casa BlatHa and I really hope to be back very soon!

Room Tip: higher floor room... views from there are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NURI_NURI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I and a couple of friends stayed in Blat-ha end of June and thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality. Daniel was there to greet us with full enthusiasm when we arrived. Offered us a drink, his lemon grass tea is refreshing.Coffee during the day was no trouble. Breakfast was very generous. He even let us use his small kitchen to cook something simple. Aurora the housekeeper was also very hospital. She makes great mango jam served at breakfast.
Daniel was also very helpful in arranging the whale shark tours for us. Also a taxi from Holbox to Cancun airport for a very reasonable price.
We thought the rooms were very bright, attractive and comfortable, albeit small. Aurora makes the bed everyday. Nice touch.Unfortunately the wet season came earlier than normal and we got a lot of rain. Hence, a lot of mosquitos. They were savage!! The council tried to fumigate the whole island but it only helped slightly.The room could do with a fly screen in the door to the balcony one way or another so that one could leave the door open for some breeze. Really that would suffice otherwise. The lounge downstairs was a perfect spot to get to know other guests & catch up with your reading
The distance to town was not an issue if not for the mosquitoes. It would only be a pleasant 10-15 minute walk along the beach.
Overall, we had a lovely time at Casa Blat-ha and we hope you every sucess, Daniel. You are a very nice guy! Thanks for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PohVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#20 of 20 in Holbox Island
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
713 reviews
1.1 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#11 of 20 in Holbox Island
564 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 20 in Holbox Island
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa BlatHa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa BlatHa

Address: Caguama 1 | esquina calle Charral, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range: $55 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa BlatHa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Blatha feelsi like your home in paradise. We have 12 rooms, a roof garden where we practice yoga, a palapa for meditation and massage, an organic orchard and a restaurant with vegan options. Our mision is to create moments that inspire everyone to live in harmony with our surrounding and our selves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa BlatHa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing