We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-key private Leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Guesthouse Holbox Apartments & Suites
Ranked #2 of 35 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Holbox is a low-key, relaxing place, and the lovely Holbox Apartments perfectly matches the atmosphere of the island. The spacious upstairs apartment was exactly as advertised--the photos are accurate. Gorgeous view from the large terrace, which is partially covered with a high palapa roof & includes loungers for sunbathing and hammock for siestas. The sunsets from this vantage point are the best on the island!

We slept well on the king-sized bed under 2 ceiling fans, and were quite comfortable. I loved the huge, step-in shower, and took several cool rinses daily, as the temps were in the upper 90s. The upper deck catches the constant cool ocean breezes. Spacious closets, sitting area, kitchen table for eating & a mini-fridge that kept our drinks icy cold. We ate out every meal, but it was nice to have a coffee maker, sink, some dishes & a big dispenser of drinking water.

The new caretakers, Adla and Matthias are wonderful--answering all our questions, making recommendations, assisting with the wifi, and checking on us regularly to ensure we had everything we could possibly need. They were warm & welcoming, helpful yet unobtrusive. Having stayed in similar accommodations in the Virgin Islands and Bermuda, we know well that the balance between having privacy but service can be hard to find.

The apartment faces a large sandy courtyard with small palms, a couple of hammocks and chairs, where I enjoyed many mornings and afternoons in a little shade. Beyond is an outer courtyard with 2 palapas & wooden loungers, and beyond that a shelly beach. Unfortunately, there was quite a lot of seaweed awash, but this did not deter us from the water. Daily we strolled down the beach to the nearby small hotels where small fishing boats docked on the beach, but we much preferred our own beach for its privacy.

The location is ideal--just on the edge of town, which is only a few blocks square, so that you can easily walk to restaurants, cafes, and small markets, and just far enough from the small beach hotels that you feel you have your own private island. For the price, Holbox Apartments is an outstanding value. We've traveled a lot in the Caribbean, a lot in the Yucatan, and other parts of the world, always staying in apartments. For location, privacy, hospitality, and amenities, Holbox Apartments is definitely a top pick.

P.S. We did not encounter the raging mosquitos we had heard about. Coming from Alabama, we found far fewer here than in our own back yard! Do take repellent, though. I'm sure this varies by time of year, and they're certainly out at dusk.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Beach Guesthouse Holbox Apartments & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 144 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

We just got back from a relaxing two weeks on Holbox Island, "a hundred miles from Cancun geographically and a million miles culturally". The island is 90% tropical wilderness and 10% Mexican fishing village and virtually autoless. Tramping on the beach and birding in the interior interrupted by marvelous seafood dinners in town and jaunts to the mainland for coral reef snorkeling & underground cenote swimming. Best of all were our hosts, two more gracious caretakers would be hard to find: Mandy took care of our daily issues & John filled us in on what to see and where to look. A special treat was his friend Juan, who taxied us on the mainland to memorable spots. We can recommend the place unreservedly to like-minded people.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We returned two weeks ago from a wonderful visit to Holbox Island and the lovely Holbox Apartments. I had been looking for the right place to rent with the other couple we were going with. One house a little further down the beach fell through but in the end we decided that was a blessing. We later saw it and although it was very private I think we were much happier where we were. Holbox Apt’s are just wonderful. It is owned, built by and lovingly taken care of by John and Mandi a fun couple from Holland. You could not ask for more friendly and gracious hosts. From letting me sit at their dining room table to get reception on my iPad to arranging taxis back to CUN and best of all calling every day or two for beer delivery to our gate. John would call and we would have our beer icy cold delivered by golf cart within 5 minutes or so.

There are 4 units , two below and 2 second story. One of the two units below is John and Mandi’s and this one is not for rent. The other one below is large and very nice with full kitchen. Holbxo Apt’s is perfect for 2 couples to rent. If you want the option of a full kitchen one couple can stay in first floor unit. The other can stay above and then you both have access to the great view and sunsets. We both had upstairs units and this worked great too. The balconies stretch across the whole building. They are separated by a little gate but there is access between them which is handy. They are roomy and nicely equipped with two loungers on each and each has a table and chairs. There is also and hammock which none of us used. We did spend many enjoyable hours on the balcony reading, chatting and playing Power Yahtzee. And of course enjoying those delivered beers while watching fabulous sunsets. The room on the west (?) gets more sun and a little better view but otherwise I think they were equal. The rooms themselves are also roomy and nicely equipped. The bed is king size and a bit firm but we loved it. There is a small stainless fridge which worked great and we made good use of. There is a also a sink and coffee maker so all that is missing is a cook top. Plenty of closet space and living area too. Bathroom was nice and shower large. Took a while to warm up but plenty warm and plentiful when it did. The entire unit is clean and comfortable and we loved the high palapa roofs and style of the building.

We 4 are very low maintenance people so we absolutely loved this place but if you need constant pampering etc you best look elsewhere. We had help and advice as soon as we needed it from John and Mandi but otherwise were left on our own. Just as we liked it. We loved the people and town of Holbox also. The town square is a 2-3 block walk from Holbox Apt’s by beach or street. The first part of the week we took the beach to town as the sand streets near us were flooded at the corners from a very large rain they had the week before but this was just fine with us. If you need tons of action etc again, you best go somewhere besides Holbox. It is a peaceful, lovely, quiet island just perfect for rest and relaxation. Tons of good restaurants and little stores for snacks/beverages. We will return again and will most definitely stay again at the Holbox Apartments.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We recently returned from a 4 week trip through Belize and Mexico and one of the highlights was staying a week at Holbox apartments.We rented the upstairs apartment and it exceeded our expectations.From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by Mandy into their little slice of paradise.The apartment and grounds are lovingly taken care of by this wonderful couple. John even lent us his cooler so we could keep our cerveza icy cold why we sat on the terrace and enjoyed the sunshine and incredible views. The two upstairs apartments sit side by side so it was ideal for two couples.The short walk into town is a perfect way to start the morning( after a good cup of coffee) and watch the town come alive and see the children heading to school.We loved Holbox and John and Mandy thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinneapolisGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed five days in this very nice palapa style accommodation. It is a palapa-style building with only two rooms in the first floor with a great seaview and an apartement downstairs. It is very quiet, and just 10 minutes wak from the town. Enjoy a walk along the beach and have a cold drink in one of the bars. It is a wonderful and relaxing place the island of Holbox. The Apartamentos Holbox are a very good adress if you do not need hotelservice or a pool. Everything was exactly as we expected and it was very clean. The bed has a moskitonet, wich is highly recommended!
Thank you very much for a nice time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MexicoFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Holbox Apartments is a small gem tucked away on Holbox Island. It is a simple place with a real Mexican flare. The palapa roof and the beautiful wood interior give the apartment charm. The view from the upper balcony is spectacular. It has sun and shade with hammocks to enjoy afternoon siestas. The property is close to town and is easy walking distance on the beach. It is a rare find with reasonable pricing. Would return again and stay at this unique apartment on the beach with amazing views.

Room Tip: Two Apartments. Upstairs has a refrigerator and downstairs has a full kitchen
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

the site is fantastic. arriving ffrom the "port" is great to see this beautiful house handmade by John and Mandy. each angle has a specific theme, all the sand garden is full of seashell, iguana, flowers ...
let's spend some days here to live in paradise ....
from the room you can see fantastic sunrise and sunset... some of the best ever seen...
and the owner are very kind, and available to help you to visit the island..

do IT, you will be HAPPY !

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrembolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,078 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.5 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#5 of 20 in Holbox Island
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Guesthouse Holbox Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Guesthouse Holbox Apartments & Suites

Address: Av. Pedro Joaquin Codwel 126, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range: $120 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Guesthouse Holbox Apartments & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEACH GUESTHOUSE HOLBOX APARTMENTS and SUITES is a wonderfull private Mexican Beach questhouse,located on a private beach,on the quiet part of the island,into 3 minutes walking distance from Holbox village.The house is divided in two BEACH FRONT Apartments,* in one of it lives the owners* , on the groundfloor and two beautyfull OCEAN VIEW suites on the first floor.The aparment has 2 seperate sleeping rooms garden-and ocean view.,A fully equiped kitchen,with cooking facilities,fridge stove . The OCEAN VIEW suites have a wide private balcony with,,hammock and amazing oceanviews with spectacular sunsets.The OCEANVIEW suites have a fridge,coffeemaker,but no cooking facilities and a kingsize bed. The BEACHFRONT apartmenthas one bathroom as well as the suites have private bathroom, in room safe,purified water On the private beach there are sunshade palappas with wooden loungers and hammocks. The owners will advice you with pleasure about all available tours on and around the island. Mexican or French breakfast included.On site staff ,no minimum stay requiredOne of the highests rankings on ,Holbox island!PERSONAL ATTENTION, Service to provide you with the best advices about restaurants ,tours and TRANSFERS, arranged by ourselves from Cancun Airport,hotel to and from Holbox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beach Guesthouse Holbox Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing