We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the price”

Holbox Whale Shark Tours
Book on TripAdvisor
$125.00*
and up
Ranked #3 of 22 Tours in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Holbox Whale Shark Tours offers Both Public & Private VIP Tours to swim with Whale Sharks from both our Original Departure Point "Isla Holbox", as well as our latest departure point "Cancun". We've got a solid 9 year "Safety" record having satisfied 1000's of nature lovers enjoy this experience. Safe for the entire Family! We've got the Best, most comfortable boats & highly experienced Captains & In Water Guides. We are the Tour "Operator" not just a "Ticket Seller". Dont trust just anybody selling tickets to a tour, Go with the Best to satisfy your Whale Shark Dream & to check this off your "Bucket List"!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the price”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We took the VIP tour Aug 28th with Elmer and Raul as our guides. They are absolutely the most awesome guys ever. Very knowledgeable, and took us right to a school of sharks mixed in with mantas. The boat is great, Elmer is an excellent captain-- very smooth ride, and Raul is such a great guide. He led us by the hand in the water and even took our camera so that i wouldnt have to be concerned with it. We've been on many tours in this area and all over the world. We had the best, most comfortable time with these two. We are vegetarians and they made us the greatest lunch without balking at our special diets. Highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kasjudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Yes its always What you receive vs what you pay. There are Less expensive tours out there that dont offer the Same Services as we do. Dont have the same SAFER Higher Quality boats, nor the Same level of Experienced crews. Usually the Price "Difference" is Not that great. Unsuspecting Tourists "Dont Know" this difference & should rely on past participants via Trip Advisor to make an intelligent decision.

As my Daddy used to say: " The LOWEST PRICE is not always the BEST DEAL.......He went on to instill in me the other Proverb........." It costs just a Little more to go FIRST CLASS"!

We feel we've Earned the First Class Rating via our Trip Advisor Ratings & Certificates of Excellence bestowed by Trip Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    19
    5
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Whale shark tour, Holbox”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have a house in Cozumel and when my daughter visited I thought I'd do something special: a whale shark tour. I reserved through "Thisiscozumel.com", a local tour broker who provided first class service.

The trip itself was an early morning ferry from Cozumel to Playa Del Carmen followed by a two hour van ride followed by a one hour boat ride. A bit of an ordeal, but OMG then the whale sharks came into view. Envision being in the middle of the ocean in an area about 2 miles across filled with whale sharks and mantas feeding at the surface. Hundreds of these impossible beasts placidly cruising along scooping up plankton and krill. There were probably 50 boats out there, but it didn't seem crowded at all.

The tour guides have really strict rules (thankfully) about not disturbing the animals as they feed. With 8 people in the boat, we were allowed to enter two at a time and swim for about ten minutes. Then back in the boat and another pair gets a turn. We swam until we couldn't go any more, probably five turns.

The deal is that you wait until a whale comes your way and then start swimming like crazy along side the shark about an arm's length away. The tour provides fins and mask so its not too hard, although after five turns I was really worn out.

Observing these animals was awesome, in the literal meaning of the word: full of awe. My daughter and I agreed that it was a lifetime experience and recommend it very highly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kcox60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
So glad you enjoyed the Whale Shark Experience with us. We'll continue to work hard to continue to provide the Highest Quality Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Whale Shark Tour”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We totally enjoyed our trip to see the whale sharks in Holbox. The Whale Shark Daddy tour group was top notch. Alex was an excellent dive lead. And we were always in competent hands with our captain. Everything was first class with this tour group. They picked us up as scheduled outside of the Grand Mayan hotel near Playa del Carmen and transported us to the marina in Cancun. At that point, we had a dive briefing and light breakfast. Then they assisted us with loading our gear on the boat. It took about and hour and a half to reach our dive location. It was easy to spot in the distance because there were at least 50 boats concentrated in a small area with about 100 whale sharks swimming around. After three free dives, we loaded everyone back on the boat and headed to Isla Mujeres for lunch and a swim. Then the captain took us back to the marina in Cancun. The shuttle back to the hotel was quiet because everyone was napping. This excursion was so wonderful that we hope to do it again sometime.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Another HAPPY Client who appreciated our 5 Star services. We appreciate the fine comments & comments are personally shared with all crew. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beyond Amazing”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I don't even have words to describe how amazing it is to be swimming alongside such graceful, massive, beautiful creatures. It is breathtaking in every way imaginable. To be swimming with a manta ray on one side of you and multiple whale sharks on the other is just one of the most incredible things you could ever experience. The entire day was just awesome, from start to finish! The crew on our boat was exceptional and did everything they could to ensure we got the most out of our experience. Raul, our guide, was so so amazing. While most people were exhausted after 5 minutes of trying to keep up with the sharks, Raul did not get out of the water once- and we were out there for 3 hours! You could tell he cared about the whale sharks and had a lot of interesting information about them. Our Captain Elmer was wonderful at spotting the sharks and letting Raul know where to find the next one. Holbox Whale Shark Tours really takes the protection and conservation of these animals seriously- which is so important.
This is honestly one of my favorite things I have ever done in my life!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
STRONG WORDS.....but obviously real. We welcome the opportunity EACH & EVERY day to provide the High level of Customer service to all of our participants. Our crews & staff work 7 days @ week during the 4 month Summer Whale Shark season. Its VERY HARD work but WE LOVE WHAT WE DO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
300 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was an experience of a lifetime. Our captain was very skilled; our guide was brilliant. I am in my mid-sixties and like adventures. My partner has dreamed of swimming with whale sharks for over a decade. She and I were thrilled beyond words. I got the bonus of swimming with a manta ray! Some people may say that the price is expensive. But, for what one gets, it was very, very reasonable. We swam with the whale sharks, snorkelled closer to shore, saw dolphins, purchased lobster at sea from some fishermen, saw pink flamingos, white heron and other birds. All 10 people in our boat were absolutely blown away by the experience. Included: a lit snack at the start (one doesn't want too much food going out to sea); lunch (if you want chicken instead of ham in your sandwich, order in advance); cerviche; snorkelling; lovely bird watching and photo opportunities.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MykieHamiltonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
THANKS! for this vote of Confidence. We Appreciate the kind comments & I will be sure to SHARE this with our Crews & Ground staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holbox Whale Shark Tours also viewed

 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Holbox Whale Shark Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing