We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved La Palapa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2010

This hotel is great...small, great service, clean rooms. It's located right on the beach! Hammocks are available fon the terrace and staff is extremly helpful and knowledgable.
La Palapa is a great place to just relax.
My two favorite things atr the hotel?
The AMAZING Conch shell showerhead that offers excelent water pressure and the Margartias served at the Bar. The BEST margritas I have had in a long time and I do my best to try as many margaritas as possible :-)
I really recommend thi hotel...safe, clean, great location and great service....what more could you want...I mean you are already in Paradise!

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank LG_Cancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
There are newer reviews for Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 737 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2010

We had the most amazing trip to Isla Holbox, and La Palapa was a wonderful place to stay with our one year-old baby. First, we used Transfer Holbox to get there ($125 one way for two adults and a baby). So easy! We took the bus back and, although it took longer, was not a problem for us and was worth the savings. The perfect part of the experience for us was that the hotel was close enough to town that we could easily walk to favorite spots for meals or to pick up things we needed, but it was also right on the beach. We could sit in the hammock and listen to the waves crash while our baby was napping or after he went to bed. The room was pretty basic, bed was a bit hard, but perfectly clean. We paid $65 USD a night through a deal on http://www.holboxisland.com/. This was better than we could find on the hotel's website. La Palapa also provided a portable crib for the baby free of charge, and when we had to change our plans at the last second due to weather delaying our departure from home, they did not charge a change fee. The gardens in front of the hotel were nice for reading (our baby loved to crawl around there). The beach was beautiful, and we hiked to both sides of the island where things were pretty deserted. We experienced a few mosquitoes, but it wasn't too bad because it was cool and El Norte blew through a few times. So many wonderful local spots for cheap tacos, panuchos, etc. We particularly liked the place right behind the hotel for breakfast, fruit stand near the square for fresh fruit, juice, coffee, La Serenita - amazing family run place for tacos and soup, Ricos tacos for perfect tacos at lunch. Our baby had a blast on the beach and we were shocked at how many people (locals and tourists) stopped to meet him. We made so many friends and loved that locals who owned the restaurants would entertain the baby while we ate, which made our dinner so much nicer. Basically, if you are semi-adventurous, you will love Isla Holbox with a baby. We definitely did.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We went to Holbox at the beginning of December, 2009 and stayed at one other hotel and La Palapa. We stayed in the bungalow, and I never saw any of the regular rooms so I can't comment on those. The bungalow was it's own, private unit behind the hotel. It was nice because there was no one upstairs, downstairs, or on either side, almost like a little house. The bungalow had a very small kitchen and bathroom downstairs. The kitchen had a small refrigerator, sink, and 2-burner portable gas stove which required matches. The bathroom shower had no curtain, and we always managed to flood the bathroom. Fortunately there were several drains on the bathroom floor to help with this. Upstairs was a double and a single bed, and lots of windows to let in light. There was a ceiling fan in the kitchen and upstairs, but no A/C and the room was very hot. There was a nice little table and chairs outside our bungalow door in the sand, which was nice. However, the hotel public bathroom and showers were attached to the bungalow which made for a little less privacy. Also, the hotel was completely booked while we were there.
The staff were super nice and helpful. The hotel was in an ok area on the beach, and very close to town. The room was pretty clean. Soap and bath towels were provided, and beach towels on request.
We did enjoy our stay, and for the price, I can see why this hotel seemed to be the only hotel that was full during our stay in Holbox. However I did like our other hotel, Casa Iguana, better and it was located in a nicer and quieter area on the beach.
For a cheap place to stay on the beach, La Palapa is good. We got a deal online for the bungalow for $47/night.
Watch out for the mosquitoes in Holbox. We needed repellent from the time we woke up, all throughout the day, and then right before bed.
Favorite breakfast spot was Colibri. Good food, nice staff, fantastic juice, and lots of character. Good, cheap tacos at Tomy's Tacos on the plaza. Carrilla de Juan was expensive but the best food we had on the island and the nicest staff.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel La Palapa in Holbox. The location at the end of town right on the beach was perfect for our get away. The hotel is small and was nearly empty the dates we were there. The rooms were the typical Mexician fare with hard beds and ify air conditioning but Holbox would not be a destination for those looking for push accommodations. The staff were helpful in booking our whale shark tour and anything else we needed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

My husband and I have traveled all over the world and this was one of the most perfect places ever to stay. The rooms had such a great feel to them..whitewashed walls, the natural beams in the ceilings, the genuine Mayan cloth throws on the beds.And very very clean. It feels like a quaint, European pensione.
The people! Oh the people! We became friends within hours...Nino, Cesare, Valentina, Carolina and Margarita were genuinely interested in making us comfortable and feeding us well. Oh my goodness....you must try the Mango Mousse and the Nuttella crepes!
They are located right on the beach. Many of the other hotels have a cart path in front of them...be aware that although "cart path" invokes images of placid donkeys...the carts are Golf Carts and they are noisy. We were thrilled to have nothing but white sugar sand that stretched out to perfectly aqua blue water in front of us.
They made arrangements for a boat to pick us up right in front of the hotel to take us out to swim with th whale sharks. I want to go again and this time take the kids!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathyflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Last summer, I went to Holbox to dive, beacuse I was supportive to my friend with her thesis work. The job was done in a week. We stayed in the Hotel la Palapa. The hotel is in front of the beach near to Faro Viejo. The rooms are confortable and the view of the sea is beautiful. There are hamoscks to rest while you enjoy The hotel is cheaper than the others in the site. If you want to go to Holbox in a family trip, you can stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

My daughter took a look at our spartan room and wanted to stay there at least one more night (not possible, they were full). The rooms are large and sunny, all have a veranda with a couple of chairs and a (very small) hammock and a view of the beach. Alas, it's either too hot to hang out in it, or too full of mosquitoes, so I couldn't really enjoy it.

What we did enjoy was the white sand beach (yes, there are fishing boats docked on both sides of the beach, but the empty stretch is large enough for bathing. The sea here is pretty shallow and the waves very, very gentle, so it's an ideal place to go with little children. There are plenty of lounge chairs on the beach, some in the shade. If you have young kids bring your own sand toys, as they don't have any.

Oh, and by the way, they are done fixing the roof, so there was no noise during out stay.

The hotel has a small, overpriced restaurant under a palapa, it's a good place to hang out (and the only place from which you'll get a wireless connection, it doesn't make it to the rooms) but the pizzas, at least, was frozen and re-heated. Still, there are plenty of restaurants around (many even more overpriced).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soyyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,077 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#5 of 20 in Holbox Island
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 20 in Holbox Island
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented

Address: Avenida Morelos 231, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: $123 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachfront Hotel La Palapa is a romantic hotel for adults only that is located on Holbox Island in the Yucatan Peninsula, Gulf of Mexico. We offer an incomparable setting with 25 comfortable rooms at literally feet away from the white sandy beach and tourquoise water. The Beach Bar & Restaurant, lounge chairs and hammocks allow to relax on the quiet beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel By Xperience Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing