We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for the week of our honeymoon in the middle of August. Fabian and Brenda were amazing and very helpful with anything we mentioned. The room was clean and we always felt safe. We let it slip that it was our honeymoon and the next day the cleaning staff had heart balloons and bride and groom towel swans in our room. The beach was wonderful and we highly recommend La Palapa to anyone looking to stay on Holbox. It's close to the main square and many restaurants are within 5 minutes if waking. The noise on the weekends was mildly disturbing, but we were so tired from spending the day in the water that it didn't matter much. We look forward to returning to La Palapa in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Ambassador,

We are really grateful for your 5 points comments! Seeing that the passion of our staff for hospitality, the attention put in the decoration of your room and the wonderful place our hotel is located in, made you spending a great vacational time in Holbox in your honneymon!

Thank you for choosing us to celebrate such an important occasion with us!. We would be very glad to welcome you in a near future, for enjoying our equipment and the paradisiac landscape of Holbox.

With our Best Regards,

Carolina Baca
Guests Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    140
    38
    13
    8
See reviews for
106
411
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel is in the best location possible, the staff will anything to help you and are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable. If I have one complaint it would be they don't offer water while you stay. Most places in Mexico give water. We got 2 bottles only.

There is little to do on the island, so wont suit you if relaxing on the beach is not what you want to do. Love it and will go back to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Ambassador,

Thank you for your positive review about our hotel. We are pleased to see that the passion for service of our team and our facilities created a great vacational time for you. We appreciate all your comments, they are our main motivation to improve our services.

We hope to see you in a near future for seeing our improvements and relaxing in the paradise of holbox.

Best Regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

La palapa hotel has now become my favorite place to stay in Holbox island, I have visited the island several times as I live in Playa del Carmen, this hotel with its private beach and its great service is the perfect option to visit paradise. Our check in was fast and the receptionists did everything to help us, all the staff was always hepful, they also have an amazing whale shark tour. Even though we did not book it on time they did everything so we could go and swim with this beautiful creature the next morning after our arrival. They also have great suggestions on what to do and where to go in the island. There is a small italian restaurant which has delicious food. I will definetely come back next time I visit the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnVill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Ambassador.

First of all, we are very grateful to you for letting us such a positive review. We are very proud to see that the friendliness of our staff and their devotion to the service were appreciated. We are also really pleased to know that our beach, the delicious food of Casa Nostra and the amazing experience of swim with whales sharks made you spend a delightful vocational time with us.

We hope that we could see you another time for enjoying life in the paradise of Holbox,

Best Regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights with friends. The hotel is well located; directly on the beach and within walking distance to restaurants and city center.
The room has basic furniture but fine details like sea-shell shower head, beach sun-lounger and hammock on the terrace of the room!
The staff was really nice (special thanks to Fabian), the food at the restaurant was good and the chef very friendly.

Room Tip: Room facing the ocean are nicer of course! but quieter as there is a live band playing some nights a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBoLaVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Ambassador (as we are used to name our guests),

Thank you very much for your positive review!.We are glad to know that you had a great stay at La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel thanks to the beauty of the place and the friendliness of the staff. We are also really happy that you appreciated the decoration of our ethno style hotel. We will be glad to share the remark you made about Fabian's Service.

We hope to see you soon for another good stay in the Paradise of Holbox

Best Regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

After 15 hours of travelling it was a delight to arrive at the Hotel to be greeted by Brenda.
Our check in was quick and we were given room #1. The room was very clean and spacious with a massive bed. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was different, instead of a shower head, there was a conch shell. The only quibble we had with our room was that there was not enough storage space. Our terrace / balcony was big enough with two chairs, a table and a hammock, we spent every morning & evening sitting on our terrace / balcony. The air con in our room was very good, the bed was medium to firm which we found very comfortable, the room also had a ceiling fan.
The beach at La Palapa is very nice and well maintained, there are plenty of sun beds which have good mattresses with lots of shade, there are also chairs, hammocks, tables and a very nice cabana. It is worth noting that the edge of the beach to the sea is a public area, and people do walk along it, however we didn't find this a problem, as it was not busy, you do get the occasional hawker selling their wares, but they are only trying to make a living and they are not aggressive or persistent at all. The water is shallow and ideal for youngsters, with a sandy bottom, there are a few fish around but nothing of interest to the snorkeler.
One thing we found which was intriguing, was that each morning we woke up and went onto our terrace / balcony, was that the whole beach area of La Palapa had been raked. We later found out that at around midnight a man would come around and damp down all the sand and then rake the whole beach, which made it look very nice.
Included in our stay was breakfast. this was served at Casa Nostra which is situated within the grounds of the hotel, although privately owned. The continental breakfast included in your stay is toast with jam or honey, coffee, juice and a muffin, which is very nice, but if you want a cooked breakfast you can order from the extensive breakfast menu, an omlette costs approx US$6.00, two fried eggs with ham on a tortilla cost approx US$6.00, it is also worth noting that if you want more toast or coffee you only have to ask and this is brought to you at no extra charge.The food at the restaurant is very good, we particularly enjoyed the Arrachera Maya ( Mexican Flank Steak) which cost approx US$16.00. Cocktails at the restaurant cost approx US$ 5.50 and there is an extensive cocktail menu, you can also have food & drink served on the beach during the day. As one of our party is a very fussy eater Beppe (the owner), Lupe, Rafael, Manuel and all the other staff at the restaurant went out of their way to accommodate our needs, these guys really are the best, and we must mention that Beppe's bread is "Molto Bene" The service and the food at the restaurant is excellent.
All the staff at the hotel are excellent and we must give a special mention to Brenda and Fabian for organising our trips and transfers and making our stay that bit more special.
Muchas Gracias to you all for giving us a holiday to remember.!!!

Room Tip: Room #1 is an amomia room and is very close to the restaurant, if you want a quieter room pick a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markpeter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Clean and welcoming. We spent 9 days among the hospitality at La Palapa. We have a family of 3 teenage boys and we all enjoyed our time. Brenda and Fabien could not have been more helpful; especially when my son needed to go to the local clinic for a minor emergency. They helped arrange taxis, tours suggested restaurants and acted more like hosts than front desk clerks.
The rooms were large and very clean. Beds were a bit on the firm side, but I can't complain about anything else. The airconditioning worked well. There is a very nice breezeway on the third floor which made a pleasant spot to sit in the evenings to catch a breeze, or relax in the shade in the afternoons.
The beach is a bit on the small size, but it wasn't too far to walk down the beach to the Holbox Dream hotel where we could also use their facilities as well. Otherwise the hotel is so centrally located it is a very easy walk about 3 blocks to the square and about 2 from the fishing pier where many of the tours leave from.
The attached restaurant has delicious food and
Pepe, from the Casa Nuestra restaurant was also very accomodating and nice. He came to check on my son when the Dr was putting in the stitches. (Yes, a hotel call from a local Dr.) The food was authentically Italian and included some local specialties such as ceviche.
If you stay here be ready to be welcomed at this home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a great time at La Palapa resort and Holbox Island. Great view of the beach from our room. Its a beach front property so all rooms have ocean view. The staff was excellent especially Fabian and Brenda who were very helpful with all our needs, questions and recommendations as to where to get great food in the island. Holbox island is a very nice community, friendly people and excellent food everywhere. La Palapa was also home to a great restaurant Casa Nostra. The resort and our room was clean. Rooms are cleaned a swept sand free everyday. There is not much to do at La Palapa or Holbox island, it is a calm and peaceful place where you can just walk around town ( peacefully without being hounded by vendors), enjoy the nice beach, scenery and warm hospitality of the people of Holbox island. The only thing you need to keep in mind is that there are lots of mosquitoes and you really need a repellent when you go to the island. You also need to carry cash because very few places take credit cards. Don't forget to try the crepas sold by vendors at the plaza:) We will definitely be back and stay at La Palapa again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented

Property: Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Address: Avenida Morelos 231, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachfront Hotel La Palapa is a romantic hotel for adults only that is located on Holbox Island in the Yucatan Peninsula, Gulf of Mexico. We offer an incomparable setting with 25 comfortable rooms at literally feet away from the white sandy beach and tourquoise water. The Beach Bar & Restaurant, lounge chairs and hammocks allow to relax on the quiet beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel By Xperience Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing