We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“almost excellent”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

everything was really good, the rooms, the personnel, the beach, the view, everything except for one thing, the food....
continental breakfast which includes box orange "naranjada" juice, a loaf of toast, a muffin, and coffee or tea, wouldn´t even try the "o.j."
not enough food, so we ordered extra and it tasted rotten, omellete with ham, tomatoes and cheese.
other than that we think it´s one of the best locations in holbox... don´t eat here and you´ll have the perfect time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank food_lover973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    148
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
109
434
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Imperial, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel from May 24 through May 29, 2013. This was our first trip to Holbox Island. We stayed in Room #5. Pepe from Holbox Adventure was waiting to transport us from the Cancun Airport to Holbox. Pepe was very friendly and gave us an informative tour as we travelled to Holbox. The ferry ride to Holbox was awesome and very quick! A golf cart was waiting for us to escort us to our hotel. We arrived at our hotel and was greeted by Robert who was extremely gracious and friendly. Robert provided us with a detailed overview of the hotel and its amenities. Brenda was also very helpful throughout our stay! The hotel was perfect! Our room was comfortable and very clean. We loved the balcony with the hammock, tables, and chairs. We had a perfect view of the beach and the ocean! The location of the hotel was superb and we could walk leisurely into the village to enjoy the restaurants, bars, and shops. We loved the onsite restaurant (Casa Nostra) and enjoyed our continental breakfast that was included with our room each morning. The coffee was excellent, the muffins delicious, and we added a bowl of mixed fruit for an extra cost. A perfect start before our beach strolls that we took each and every morning. Beppe (the chef) and Lupe (the waiter) were always wonderful to us and provided excellent service. We had cerviche and drinks every afternoon while we hung out on the beach. I loved the mojitos and mango margaritas! We had two meals at Casa Nostra and both were delicious! The setting was picturesque with the sunset in the background! We rode bicycles, rented golf carts, explored the restaurants and bars in the village, and enjoyed the gorgeous view and beach! The people of Holbox were very friendly and the island was very safe. We explored every hotel on the island to compare to La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel while we were there. I can honestly say that I picked the best hotel on the island for my stay! La Palapa's beach, proximity to the village, onsite restaruant, excellent staff, and clean and comfortable rooms made our vacation a dream come true! I look forward to coming back again very soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights and loved it very much. First night in room 17 with partial view on palms and beach, no balcony, but a kitchen, fridge, free water and a huge bed. The other nights we spent in room 4, ground floor with balcony with a hammock and ocean view, two free bottles of water, two king size beds. Room cleaning every day. Friendly and very helpful staff (thank you Brenda and Robert)!! The beach was clean and surrounded by palms, therefore enough shadow for everyone. We struggled along the beach on holbox and must say that the beach and the facilities at hotel la palapa were the best (direct access to the sea, shadow, clean, bar and restaurant). We booked this hotel due to a friend's recommendation. Wifi worked perfect everywhere. The restaurant casa nostra offers great italian food and breakfast (juice, muffin, tea, coffee and toast are included). The hotel is very close to themsin plaza, restaurants and supermarkets. There even is an ATM, but didnt work during our stay. There are 5 more on the island. We decided not to do the whale watching & snorkelling tour because if the long boat trip (whales seemed to bee close to isla contoy). So we did nothing here than relaxing and having a good time :-) we were very happy and satisfied to stay here at the end of our mexico-trip.
Only thing to improve (my subjective opinion :-)): a free fruit for breakfast would have been great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the La Palapa Hotel in the beginning of May 2013 for 4 nights. Our room (Nr.6) was on the first floor and had a partial seaview. The room was always very clean and the bathroom is really nice with beautiful details. The Location is great, just a short walk away from the town center, but still very quiet and peaceful. The staff was very helpful and friendly and made our stay perfect! Wifi is included while staying at La Palapa. Be prepared to keep (some) of your clothes in your luggage, as there is not such a big closet in the room (the only point I would critisice, but for us it wasn't a big deal as we stayed there only for a coupe of days).
Isla Holbox is a place for people who like nature, the possibility to walk around without needing a car and above all great sunrises and - sets! There are nice places to eat, restaurants or also cheap taco-places. We will definitely come back to Isla Holbox and the charming Hotel La Palapa.

Room Tip: Number 6 is a big room on the first floor with a partial seaview and double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninalina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I traveled with "spmuell" and agree with her review. We will definitely be returning to enjoy the lovely beach, pleasant rooms, excellent restuarant and truly hospitable service.

This is a great place for people who want a quiet, low-key experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDRehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have just returned from my third trip to the magical Isla Holbox. I have previously stayed at the very nice Casa Las Tortugas, but they were all booked up, so I decided to try La Palapa. I am so glad I did. I have found my new home away from home. The rooms are very nice - large, well maintained and expertly cleaned every day. The grounds of the hotel are well taken care of and the beach is clean. The restaurant serves great food and hospitality, and the staff at the hotel are welcoming, kind and efficient.
One recommendation: it would be great to have mosquito nets over the beds. I woke every morning with a fresh crop of bites, despite applying repellent before bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spmuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We found this hotel and this destination to be magical. A place for true travellers who want to be away from the floodlights of Cancun and Playa del Carmen ( though Playa is far better than Cancun). This is just what we wanted after travelling so much in the Yucatan. The rooms were colourful spacious and very clean. The village square was just a short walk away from the hotel. We enjoyed breakfast and the sea food served in the restaurant very much. An incredible setting right on the beach in front of the hotel. During our stay we never put our shoes on. A big thank you to Robert and all the staff who really took care of us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,041 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented

Property: Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Address: Avenida Morelos 231, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachfront Hotel La Palapa is a romantic hotel for adults only that is located on Holbox Island in the Yucatan Peninsula, Gulf of Mexico. We offer an incomparable setting with 25 comfortable rooms at literally feet away from the white sandy beach and tourquoise water. The Beach Bar & Restaurant, lounge chairs and hammocks allow to relax on the quiet beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel By Xperience Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing