We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We (a couple 40- and 11 year old son) stayed here in july 2011 with the purpose to snorkel with the whalesharks. We traveled from the north of Yucatan to the south of Belize in 2 weeks and started our journey here. It was the most perfect stay of the vacation and even during other holidays my stays haven't been so perfect as it was here. It helps you get in a holiday mood instantly (I have difficulty relaxing; busy job), the food is perfect, the people are lovely and helpful and the rooms are clean and pleasant. Also is Isla Holbox a perfect stay for the end or start of your holiday because everyone is very friendly. Playing basketbal in the centre of the Island, snorkling with the whalesharks is such an incredible experience with these big friendly giants and the animal shelter is also a good place to visit. If you would like a night walk to search for turtles laying eggs in a protected area you can ask for a tour guide here. La Palapa an Isla Holbox couldn't be more perfect. Leave your high heals at home; I walked bare foot everywhere: so nice!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaMG v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 758 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

Everything in this hotel is excellent, the food, the rooms, the views, the beach. Location is great, walking distance to downtown plaza. Holbox is a great place with many restaurants for a great relaxing vacation. Excellent service by the chef Pepe.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

There is really nothing you could complain about. The location is quite central but still very quiet and right at the beach. Rooms and hotel facilities are in a top condition and the restaurant was great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomYvesMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We paid in advance for three nights and the hotel is not cheap at all. When we arrived they gave us a small room with such a small bed that we didn't know how two persons could sleep in there.
The room was really simple, there was not much difference to a 300-Pesos-room somewhere else. There was not even air condition and it was really hot in July.
When we asked for another room or an extra bed, they were not interested at all in helping us. And they also didn't accept return the money so we could have looked for another hotel.
The service is really poor, they should work on that.
The hotel itself is a nice place, with a private beach and really quiet. But we didn't feel welcome.
Besides the juice for breakfast was some kind of lemonade. That's probably the only place in Mexico that has no fresh juice for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miriam1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

What a fantastic vacation! The hotel is quaint, clean, and the staff was incredible. The service was outstanding with smiles all around. The environment was relaxing and the beach was lovely. We will definitely return and stay a little longer next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I can't say enough about La Palapa and the people who work there. The hotel was exactly what I was looking for - safe, comfortable, relaxing and right on the beach. Room #10 is beautiful - an end unit with king-sized bed and balcony with hammock overlooking the beach (the view is partially obscured by palms, but this also keeps it cool!) Very cold and quiet A/C. The grounds are very well-kept .. the sand is raked every night. The beach is clean and the water felt like a bathtub! But the real highlight is the people who work there. Cesar and Vicente were a huge help when it came to arranging transportation from the airport, the whale shark tour and just tips on where to eat, what to see, history of the island, etc. Marcello and Beppe with the restaurant are two of the sweetest guys you could meet! They really go out of their way to make sure you're satisfied with your food and drinks, and even give you little "amuse bouches" of whatever they're cooking so you can sample some of their outstanding pastas! The hotel is only two blocks from the town square, so you're close to other restaurants and shops. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Front Desk at Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Mrs. Burgess,

We appreciate your preference on your most recent vacation at La Palapa by Xperience Hotels, it was an absolute pleasure meet you and we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was our priority to serve you and hopefully, exceeded all your expectations, wishes and dreams in this trip.We constantly read in detail and with great curiosity all of our guests comments and we are very grateful for your kind suggestions. Now you have one more reason to come back to Holbox Island since now you can consider us as your new friends that will be very happy to see you again.

We are always striving to provide the best service to all our guests since we love our job just as we know you loves yours too! I really loved that big storms that you show me in a video. Now “Mi casa es su casa”, as we say in México. We hope to see you in a future WHALE SHARK SEASON again, we will be be very happy to assist you.

The entire Xperience Group Family truly hopes to hear from you soon.
Muchas Gracias,
Vicente R. Trujillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We just returned from an 8 day honeymoon on Isla Holbox. We stayed 4 nights at Mawimbi, 2 nights at La Palaba, and 1 night at Casa de Las Tortugas. This was by far the worse of the three and I would not recommend it. Although the website says they have queen beds, they are double beds (at least in the two rooms we stayed). The first night we stayed in the bungalow. The sheets were stained and dirty and their was a dirty mosquito net unproperly hung over the bed so that you would feel completed trapped if you tried to use it. No AC (on a hot island) and very slow moving ceiling fans. Their are not curtains on all the windows, and because of the heat you have to keep the windows up. We did not sleep at all with the noisy street, bright lights coming into the room, and super hot room. The hotel was nice enough to offer us a different room the second night, this with AC (but still a double bed advertised as queen). The only problem was the electricity went out from midnight until 8 am so we were once again super hot. We were informed it had gone out in the whole island, however, we left that night to stay at Casa de Las Tortugas and their electricity had not gone out. Compared to Tortugas and Mawimbi, La Palapa has a very small beach area and less chairs. Also--the restaurant food is a total rip-off! This was the only place where for breakfast you get kool-aid juice (everywhere else on the island is fresh juice) and white wonderbread as "toast". This costs about $6.5 US, with coffee and one small muffin included. I would not recommend this place to anyone. The one plus side was excellent service and friendliness by local staff.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EberDominguez, Public Relations Manager at Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Ambassador Kate,
We would like to thank you for your comments, they help us improve our services and facilities.
We apologize for any inconvenience occurred during your stay; our main goal is to have all of our Ambassadors (guests) feel at ease during their stay in any of our Xperience Hotels.
Your original booking was for our bungalow, the only room with palapa-thatched roof. In the description profile, it’s specified that this room does not have a/c, and features ceiling fans instead. Having a/c in a palapa hut isn´t as efficient since, the cool air filtrates through the ceiling. Ceiling fans are the only option for this type of room and, as we mentioned to you during your stay, the fan speed is adjustable so as to be at its fastest. This phenomenon of intense heat is not very common since we are in a prime seafront position and enjoy a constant breeze.

Holbox is a paradise island, but, like any remote area, at times, it is hard to solve quickly situations like power going off at midnight.,On this occasion power went off in most of the island due to the excess in power demand during the high season.

We are truly sorry we were not able to fully portray our “infinite hospiltality” philosophy on this occasion and would like to ask you to give us a second chance to proof our sentiment of dedication and passion for service to you. Feel free to contact us in order to arrange a stay in any of our Xperience Hotels, whether in Playa del Carmen or Holbox.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 20 in Holbox Island
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented

Address: Avenida Morelos 231, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: $122 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachfront Hotel La Palapa is a romantic hotel for adults only that is located on Holbox Island in the Yucatan Peninsula, Gulf of Mexico. We offer an incomparable setting with 25 comfortable rooms at literally feet away from the white sandy beach and tourquoise water. The Beach Bar & Restaurant, lounge chairs and hammocks allow to relax on the quiet beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel By Xperience Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing