We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Casa Takywara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Takywara
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed in the penthouse at Casa Takywara for a week in January and it was absolutely perfect. The property is very well maintained with a pretty garden and beachfront. The rooms are lovely and well appointed with full kitchenettes (complete with coffee maker). Every morning, the caretaker would come by with a huge selection of fruit, freshly baked bread or croissants, butter and preserves at about 9:00 a.m. We supplemented our breakfast with eggs that we picked up at one of the mini supers in town. Mornings were spent either down on the water or lazing in one of our two hammocks (the penthouse comes with two so you don't have to share). Afternoons we went for long walks down the beach. Evenings were spent in town enjoying delicious seafood (it's about a five minute walk into town - bring a flashlight as only part of it is lit by street lights). Isla Holbox is about my favourite place on earth and I really enjoyed my stay at Casa Takywara.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBumbler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 320 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2008

Casa Takywara is an authentic and charming place. The quiet atmosphere makes it so easy to relax and enjoy nature in so many ways. The rooms are as comfortable and spacious as they could be, with a homey feeling and great care put on details. We stayed in the penthouse with an amazing panoramic view of ever changing shades of green and blue.
The hosts - More and Santiago - made this pleasant stay a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank yurodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ticia199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tamrabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha Ivette P, Gerente at Casa Takywara, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank andm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ezebecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
1.6 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
1.0 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#5 of 20 in Holbox Island
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Takywara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Takywara

Address: Paseo Carey sin numero | Mcpio Lazaro Cardenas, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range: $95 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Takywara 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Casa Takywara you will be able to enjoy the nature surrounded by mangroves and native vegetation, in the comfort of an ample and calm space with terraces, hammocks and an incomparable view in front of the sea. Full unforgettable moments of encounter with dolphins, pelicans, flamenco and other species. Our small island belongs to a Protected Natural Area call Yum Balam. We participate in communitarian activities for the environmental education and protection of flora and fauna.Casa Takywara is in a calm beach, near the town, without traffic nor tourist agitation and of great privacy.Starred skies, unique sunsets, encounter of colors between the sky and the sea, to walk barefoot, to breathe pure air, all are rewarding experiences that we invite to you to share in our House.We have created a refuge of rescue, rehabilitation and liberation of fauna located within the town and you can visit it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Takywara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing