We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Takywara
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casa BlatHa(Holbox Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Spirit Holbox(Holbox Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Para Ti(Holbox Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Amaite Hotel & Spa(Holbox Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel El Pueblito(Holbox Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Casa Maya Holbox(Holbox Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi(Holbox Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveler rating
267
44
10
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
44
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousewarm breadevery morningfresh fruitin townbeach bungalowten minute walkour home away from homerestaurant recommendationssmall kitchenprivate deckour honeymoonmain buildingair conditioninganimal shelterkayak tourrooms are beautiful
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 330 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were looking for a quiet, charming, and scenic place to vacation from May 5-10, 2013. Holbox fit the bill. We spent quite a bit of time trying to decide where to stay and have absolutely no regrets about choosing Casa Takywara. I sort of hesitate to write this review because I want to be selfish and keep this gem to myself... :)

Takywara is perfect if you want to be off the beaten trail, if you are looking for quiet and tranquility. We almost felt like we were on our own private beach. We rented Luna (house on the beach) and this was the only hotel room that we saw on the island with such close proximity to the beach. Nothing obstructs your view of the ocean. The other hotels that were right on the beach behind the town had a mini-Cancun feel to them. Lots of chairs, overpriced bar drinks, that sort of thing. If you want to be around other people and drink and party all day, you will not like Taywara.

The walk into town is an easy 10 minutes along the beach. We walked into town every day for lunch and dinner. The kitchen in our cabin was super handy with leftovers and groceries (snack foods and drinks).

The other thing that made Takywara stand out over the other hotels was the service. It's a small hotel with just a few rooms and Bertha (manager) is the sweetest, most accommodating and helpful person. She booked a nice day trip for us, arranged for our transportation to and from the airport, tried to book a kayak tour for us... She got the best prices possible for us and we felt like she really cared about whether or not we had a good experience- there were no high pressure sales or scams. Here you get a personal concierge service.

Another bonus is that the owners care about the environment. That's why we travel here, right? To enjoy clean beaches and water? Good to support people who have animal refuges and are protecting the sea turtles.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Chelsea and Ned. Really nice to read your comments and find out the quality of your rest days. Casa Takywara and its guests will always be a voice of support to those who have no voice. Thank you very much for selecting our little hotel for your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Wonderful, quiet, relaxing place at the northern part of holbox island beween palms and the ocean front. Very nice and helpful staff. You feel like home. Good breakfast with fresh fruits and warm baguette. The kitchen has a cafe mashine, a mixer and is good equipped. I would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. The most important thing is that you enjoyed your vacation. We look forward to another opportunity with the same determination to make them feel at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I spent six wonderful days in Casa Takiwara, more precisely in the romantic "Luna", the bungalow right on the beach. Holbox is nothing like anywhere else in Mexico. No mass tourism or big chain restaurants and casa Takiwara is the essence of tranquillity. We were welcomed by Bertha, the general manager. Although we arrived with a very early ferry at 6.30 AM on a sunday morning she was there waiting for us with her great smile and breakfast: fresh fruit salad, freshly made jam and warm brioche. (which you get every morning right on your doorstep)The bungalow is right on the beach. A few steps divide the porch from the warm calm water of the Caribbean sea. It is very quiet and private, the Sea is the only thing you will see or hear from there, day and night. It is a unique experience. A great opportunity to live the seaside and the wilderness of the island from a very well equipped, nicely finished, and looked after environment. Everything is relaxing in Casa Takiwara. Showering surrounded by plants in the on-suite half-open-air bathroom (there's a net for insects, privacy and hot water) is simply wonderful. You can really notice the attention to detail. The bungalow is spacious, with an equipped kitchen space and with plenty of windows and a fan. The absence of air conditioning is absolutely not a problem as the sea breeze does the job! I don't know if this was planned this way or just luck but he position of the bungalow is perfect to have the porch in a cool shady condition almost all day long and especially the best position to admire the amazing caribbean sunsets while lying in your hammock! This a the perfect holiday destination if you want to keep away from main stream tourist areas and big hotels of the Mayan riviera. No annoying staff or big reception areas, no massive concrete structures, the only feeling you get by staying in Casa Takiwara is "your home, immerse in nature, on the beach". There is no restaurant service but the centre of the pueblo is 5 minute walk away and there are plenty of good places to eat. (you can always order a take away delivery in your room or, like I did, shop for a few simple groceries and prepare lunch time snacks). Totally worth it. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Staying in the Beach bungalow was an amazing experience. I have also seen the penthouse and it is a luxury apartment with a great view. I wouldn't know what to choose next time.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claudios179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you so much dear Claudio. it´s wonderful read about your enjoyable days in Holbox.
We hope to see you again. A warm greeting.from Casa Takywara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My son(19 years) and myself stayed 8 nights at Casa Takywara in february, and loved EVERY secund of it! The penthouse is for sure the best choice, a huge flat on the top with beautyful view and two hammocks on the lovely terrace. Super breakfast brought to your door every morning with all you need. The hostess Bertha is just a fairytale, and make the best green juice on the island :) The rest of the staff is also just great, great, great! They bring you fresh coconuts on the privat beach -wich you have all for yourself. No restaurants, but they fix takeaway if you don't feel like walking into town, wich takes five minuts! This peaceful location is absolutely priceless, and you simply cant go wrong. This IS the defination on paradise, and we WILL be back very soon.

Room Tip: The penthouse:-)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Line D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Line & Nico.
Great!!!! You will be very welcome to our paradise all the time.
Thanks for writing the article about Holbox and thanks for your friendship.A big hello to Norway from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very quiet,romantic,clean,airy,hammocks make relaxing rest outside.The manager makes it feel like home.Its a treasure.nice restaurants close by.Golf cart rentals available from your hotel.easy walk to hotel zone and center

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuzik2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thanks dear Anna & Michael
Hope to see you again. We appreciate your decision to celebrate your wedding anniversary at Casa Takywara.
A big hello to you and your friends Debbie & Michael.
Thank you very much for your emails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews