We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Villas Flamingos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villas Flamingos
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel is just amazing, rooms are full of little details that makes this place very unique. I wouldn't change a thing. The staff (like everybody on the isla) is cool & funny (and additionally very efficient) The food is delicious. The beauty of waking up in such a magical place is priceless, I would go back tomorrow if I could :).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachidaellamisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    111
    25
    26
    20
See reviews for
123
389
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

All of the staff were amazing! All friendly, attentive, funny, etc.
The pool was great! The house iguanas provided entertainment during the day.
The bungalow was amazing. No TV, but good wifi strength. The beds were comfy and the upstairs Jacuzzi had great views of the beach and beach bar.
The breakfast was made to order and tasty. Their lunch food was also very tasty.
Will go back 10 out of 10!

Room Tip: Bungalow 1 was in a great spot!. Staff would bring drinks to your porch from the beach bar. Wifi str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PantsPocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is a good 2 star hotel but the amenities of the hotel are like a 1 star hotel. Location is also very poor and basically you are too far from everything. If you are to visit the area, avoid this hotel and probably Holbox all together and try Cozumel or Cancun as there is nothing happening here. We were even more disappointed as the hotels labels itself as an EcoHotel to justify the basic amenities that every hotel should have. Also if you need Wi fi forget it if you are staying here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holbox1, Manager at Villas Flamingos, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Google Translation
En verdad me da lástima leer que no les gusto el hotel y tampoco le gusto Holbox.
Pero creo que les dieron una información equivocada sobre el concepto de la isla y de los hoteles que están en ella. Efectivamente el hotel esta a 15 minutos del pueblo. Pero ese es el concepto del hotel que este alejado y privado de todo con el fin de que nuestros huéspedes puedan disfrutar y relajarse.

En mi opinión creo que no se informaron bien del concepto de la isla y del hotel.
Quiero recalcar que haremos todo lo posible para que nuestros huéspedes no se sientan como ustedes se sintieron

Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Best location- best hotel and super service. Perfect safe beach and pool for kids. Ivan the receptionist gave the best service. Remember to visit Zapata resaurent i town, super seafood and stake. Both absolute monys worth. We vent 9 people- family of 3 generations- and all had a great trip to this hotel in Holbox. Allso a super kitespot, kiteschool 100 meters away and lots of spot only a few minutes away by cap. We have stayed many places in the world and this Hotel is a place to remember.
Regards Denmark

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fkold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is beautifully set in a tropical garden, the rooms are spacious and clean. We had one of the beach bungalows which comes with its own indoor jacuzzi - perfect not only for rainy days! The private terrace with hammock and seating area is lovely if you want to escape the sun for a bit.

The staff is very friendly and helpful - whatever you need, just ask them and they will provide it. Food at the restaurant is also okay and reasonably priced. Loved the pool deck looking out on the sea which was perfect for sundowners and for watching the pelicans close by.

Please note that the hotel is located quite a bit outside of the town center and its restaurants. It is about a 10-15 minutes walk along the beach if it hasn't rained, as rain makes walking kind of difficult as the streets get flooded easily.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlion212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been to many hotel resorts, and nothing compares with Villas Flamingos. We keep coming back because it is not at all like other resorts, it's like a bed & breakfast. We are not one of hundreds of guests, there is only about a dozen rooms at the resort. I believe they have other apartment style houses available as well. The staff have all been there for several years; they get to know you personally, and they truely enjoy working at Villas Flamingos. Like a B&B, the owner is on premise and is always available for advice, suggestions or just conversation. With winter approaching, I find myself anticipating our next March vacation with everyone at Villas Flamingos.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capecodRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were at Villas Flamingos with our kids (9 and 6) in August. I wanted a place on the beach, with a pool for the kids. Of all the hotels in Holbox, if you want a pool, this is the hotel to stay at (I've been at a few). We were able to sit on the pool deck literally inches above the ocean lapping below us. Kids could go from the pool to the sea and I didn't have to move!

We had an oceanfront bungalow. Lots of room for 4 of us. The beds were very comfortable. The view is not strictly "oceanview" as we were set back behind the bar and hammocks etc... but it was still a great spot. Room was clean, has small closet and a safe, the A/C worked well. The shower was neat (comes flowing out of a hollowed log) but means the water is all over the place (ie: you will end up having to wash your hair even if you don't want to. Minor thing, but for the ladies....). There is shampoo, conditioner and soap provided in three big bottles. LOTS of towels.

The staff were GREAT. Rene and Raoul were the guys we saw the most, and they were very friendly, helped me a great deal with my Spanish, really nice. But everyone there was nice!

We ate at the restaurant every morning for breakfast. My kids ate the eggs, bacon, toast, Nutella, pancakes. There are also omelettes and Mexican chilaquiles which were delicious!!! It also comes with fruit too, so lots of food.For lunch we had the guacamole and the "yellow" guacamole (very good), the kids had hamburgers / fries. Dinner was fine, but not the best I've eaten on Holbox. Prices ranged from 110 pesos to 240 pesos. About in line with other "international" restaurants on the island.

My biggest pro and con about Flamingos is the location from town. Because we went with our kids, we took a taxi every time we went into town (which was daily). That isn't really a big deal at 50 pesos each way, but it would have been more convenient to be closer. Having said that, I loved the location on the beach. Seriously, you can sit on the edge of the pool deck and be right over the water, staring out at the endless ocean. There is no-one around, no-one walking by, you really feel that you're away from "people". It's very quiet and peaceful. They have set it up that somehow you don't even really notice the other guests either.

Note: There isn't really a "beach" in front of the hotel. If you need a beach there's one about 20' west of the hotel.

To conclude- one of the things I love about Holbox is the nightlife in the square - popping into the local supermarket for something, and I missed that convenience here. BUT it would be hard to beat this hotel for the intimacy and amazing views.

I have a few more places to stay on Holbox yet before I make a final decision, but Flamingos will be one of the top of the list :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mymillymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.7 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Flamingos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Flamingos

Property: Villas Flamingos
Address: Calle Paso Kuka s/n Playa Norte, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Flamingos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property features 29 beautifully decorated bungalows; all of them with a stunning ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Villas Flamingos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Flamingos Hotel Holbox Island
Flamingos Hotel Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing