We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy”
Review of Mision La Muralla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mision La Muralla
Reviewed April 2, 2014

A theme hotel related to mexican revolution. The hotel is located between Amealco and San Juan del Rio, in the middle of a provincial route. So, there is no place to go nearby.

Anyway, they have good facilities such as a tempered swimming pool and pool tables. The hotel staff can assist you renting horses or organizing a gotcha contest.
Their breakfast is very good, a good mix of mexican dishes and regular options.
Good to go with kids due to their safe environment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEBASTIAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Mision La Muralla, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Mr. Sebastian.

Thanks for your comments.

Rest assured that we will keep working very hard to continue offering a pleasant stay.

We hope you return soon at Hotel Mision La Muralla.

Miguel Angel Irazaba.

General Hotel Mision La Muralla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Mision La Muralla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 322 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is the first "headdquarter" or so of Emiliano Zapata, a Leader of the Revlution. It has all the taste inthe air of the mexican revolution.
But more important is the charm of the hotel staff. They make you feel wellcomed and make play along a little role play.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Mision La Muralla, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear EPesel

Thanks for your kind comments.

We are looking forward to keep representing our history in a fun way.

Rest assured that we will continue working with great energy.

Miguel Angel Irazaba.
General headquarters of Hotel Misión La Muralla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was here for a conference with work colleagues, a group of about 200. Sometime after we booked the place with conference rooms, the hotel decided to let a large group of high school musicians stay over into our time, so we had to adjust and meet outside for a day since the kids took up the large meeting room. Worked out OK, but it was an inconvenience. The kids were noisy, but well-behaved. The hotel does enforce 11pm quiet hours.

Good place for meetings if you want everyone to stay together. It's not a location where people can easily have outings for shopping or local restaurants. If people are coming for a meeting and want to have local color and explore the area, this would not be a good choice.

The hotel builds on the revolution theme. Arriving guests are greeted by actors/staff and given an old Mexican name that they are supposed to remember during the stay. Sometimes at night, or during meals the "revolutionaries" will fire guns (blanks, I hope) and make a bit of noise.

Rooms are clean, show a bit of wear and age. Staff is helpful and friendly. Meals are very Mexican, so if you have picky gringo eaters, they will have a challenge. Lots of choices on the buffet, though, so everyone should be able to find something they like.

Good meeting rooms. Decent internet, although our group overwhelmed the system.

Keep in mind that the hotel is about 7600 feet altitude, so it will be cool. It was jackets and sweaters for us in early August. I had a third floor room and had to take it slow for a few days until I adjusted to the altitude a bit.

The hotel organized some group activities. We had a bonfire one night, and an afternoon session of burro polo. The high school group had a mechanical bull activity.

Room Tip: If you are not accustomed to altitude, you may want a room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Techie_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

If you want to enjoy a time travel to Mexican Revolution you must book in this hotel. It is a very fun experience even since the very beginning when you are requested a pass phrase (Viva la revolución) in order to get into the hotel. The only thing I would complain of are the facilities, but it is worth to stay on it...

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank omoralesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank Karla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvaldes60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panmolmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amealco de Bonfil
14.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Hacienda Galindo
Fiesta Americana Hacienda Galind...
#1 of 9 in San Juan del Rio
823 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hacienda Cantalagua
Hacienda Cantalagua
#1 of 2 in Contepec
233 reviews
16.8 mi away
Mision San Gil
Mision San Gil
#3 of 9 in San Juan del Rio
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hotel Plaza Venecia
Hotel Plaza Venecia
#8 of 9 in San Juan del Rio
44 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda La Venta
Hotel Hacienda La Venta
#4 of 9 in San Juan del Rio
75 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hotel Rio Tequisquiapan
Hotel Rio Tequisquiapan
#3 of 13 in Tequisquiapan
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision La Muralla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision La Muralla

Address: Km 26 Carretera San Juan del Rio-Amealco, Amealco de Bonfil 76883, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Amealco de Bonfil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amealco de Bonfil
Price Range: $56 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mision La Muralla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Muralla, heart beating in the hull of a colonial hacienda eighteenth century, dedicated to livestock and crops. Built by Don Francisco Yarsa, avecinado in Queretaro Frenchman who inherited his only two daughters, who continue to hold the community as was fashionable in those days; and even now it retains the name that gave rise: La Muralla. Arriving visitors discover the strength of the Wall, which greets visitors between forests and extensive fields, quarry stone arches and revolutionary, that invite to cross the threshold of the past; the discreet bell tower of the chapel greets the newcomer. You must give the password to permeate in the barracks. If you do not know what we shoot, we do not know whether it is friend or foe of the Revolution. Revolutionary Hotel Mision La Muralla - This is the only theme hotel in Mexico, where you can relive the days of the Mexican Revolution and be part of an adventure like no other, with excellent quality and service that characterizes Hotels Mission. In our facilities you will find: Dining room, bar, karaoke, piletota (Pool) covered with warm water all year, pool tables, and a kids club, horse riding, mountain biking, four-engine, gotcha field, tiroteas, wall climbing, campfire area and tobacconist, which places us as one of the hotels in Queretaro most complete services and amenities. Our Revolutionary Hotel in Queretaro is located south of the state, being the gateway to the Bajio. We are located 20 minutes from San Juan del Rio, where you can stroll around the center filled with crafts and discover the charm of opals mounted in fine jewelry. Also we are located 45 minutes from the city of Queretaro and 2 hours from Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mision La Muralla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mision La Muralla Queretaro/Amealco De Bonfil, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing