We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Spot with Good Food”
Review of El Estragon

El Estragon
Ranked #32 of 88 Restaurants in Tepoztlan
Price range: $3 - $6
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Small, but charming, with excellent entrees. Staff was delightful, choices were mainly traditional but some a bit more exotic. Definitely priced well!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adee1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 9 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2015

I had a pasta - pretty generous size and swiftly prepared. Service was good. It's not a 'special' place to rush clear across town for, but it's quite good, and very moderate prices.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank ConnieDalian_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015

PROs:

- Authentic Mexican food
- Lovely and quaint atmosphere
- Very clean
- YUMMY flavors
- Half the price of the restaurants in the center of town. [Only $4 US per meal] It's amazing what you can find when you walk an extra 100m away from the tourist strip :)

CONs:
- None that I can think of. Really worth checking out.

My girlfriend and I just stayed in Tepoztlan for 2 weeks, and happened to stumble across this place while walking down a side street from the town center. The bright orange interior caught our eye, and we decided to eat there our 1st night in town. Lucky us!

El EsTragon is run by a mom with her son as the cook, and they do a GREAT job of providing authentic local food with tons of flavor. I highly recommend trying the green chili enchiladas and the chicken with tamarind salsa - both amazing.

We went to a few of the bigger restaurants and cafes in the tourist center of town, and never enjoyed the food quite as much as here. And with dishes costing ~60-70 Pesos ($4-5 US) per person, it's about half the cost of those bigger restaurants. There are only 5 tables inside, it always feels welcoming and cozy, and the family is always so excited to have you back.

Check it out and make this place popular :)

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Just_JustinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Estragon also viewed

 
Tepoztlan, Morelos
 

Been to El Estragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing