We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but restaurant not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Del Tepozteco
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Tepoztlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We just came back from 2 nights at the posada and had a wonderful stay! The property is breathtakingly beautiful and the service is very good.

The hotel also connected us with an excellent hiking guide for a spectacular full day hike into the mountains above the Tepozteco ruins. This was our favorite part of the entire 2 week trip!

We did have some trouble finding the posada because we drove into town and there are no signs for it off the highway. The streets are very narrow and driving is tough, so I'd recommend just asking the first person you see where the hotel is. Everyone in town knows it.

The only issue we had with the posada is their restaurant. The views are spectacular but the food was the worst we had in our entire 2 week trip. We had 1 dinner and 2 (free) breakfasts there. The tortillas at breakfast were fine, but watch out for the dinner meal! All the dishes were bad, the restaurant had awful wine by the glass, stale bread and oddly had run out of sparkling water.

I would certainly recommend this lovely town and hotel to everyone, just skip the food.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank katgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Posada Del Tepozteco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 163 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2007

Tepozteco is an easy one hour drive south of Mexico City. With a population of barely over 30,000 and a phenomal sunday market we were thrilled to be out of the pollution of Mexico City and amazed that such a darling little town could be so close to the city. The town is at the center of a bowl like valley, with jagged cliffs and green mountains surrounding it. There is a nearby pyramide at the top of a one hour uphill hike, with tremendous views of the village below.

But, fresh air, beautiful views, and pyramides are only the icing on the cake. The Posada del Tepozteco is the most romantic and wonderful place to stay. Since we showed up without reservations, wanted to stay two nights, and were willing to pay cash we received their super-duper discount and got a great room, with tremendous balcony and views over the glimmering pool and town below for 50%+ off their regular rate. How could we say no? The Posada Del Tepozteco is perfectly situated on top of a small hill, with the most amazing views of the village. There is a wonderful restaurant, or you can enjoy dinner out on the terrace. Whichever you choose, you are guaranteed a memorable evening with the best ambiance and views in the world. The town, known for it's energy, spirituality, and even it's UFO's is Spring-like year round and the hotel has a heated pool with beautifully landscaped grounds surrouding it.

To learn more about the history of the Posada del Tepozteco check out their website: [-]. And, when you get there - check out the darling town and try the food prepared in front of you at the market. It won't disappoint.

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank JenMah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

This is the most amazing hotel in a truly stunning location about an hour or so outside Mexico City.

I was here on business for just two nights and would love to go back as tourist.

The hotel is very small and intimate, with only 20 or so rooms. I am sure I must have had the best room in the place. It was a spacious double with tiled floor and high domed and tiled ceiling on the first floor. It had a balcony overlooking the tiny courtyard and fountain and then down into the valley and the village with the mountains on either side. A nice touch was the clock radio which doubled up as speakers for my ipod.

The food was excellent (great buffet for breakfast, including Mexican favourites such as chiliquitas and refried beans) and the service first class. I could not figue out how to get the hairdryer in my room to work, and it was fixed within minutes of my asking.

I did get the chance to go down the hill into the village and it is well worth a look around. Plenty of market stalls selling all sorts of Mexican tourist stuff - some tat, some worth buying. The church is well worth looking around and don't miss out on trying some of the local ice-creams, as speciality of Teploztlan.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank sunseekerNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

I have just returned from a week's stay at Posada del Tepozteco
in Tepotzlan. Stunning location and lovely hotel: artfully designed, peaceful and restorative. It has beautifully landscaped, terraced public spaces and incredible mountain views.
Very solicitous and courteous staff. The manager, Alejandro, a prince among managers! Food quite good, too. All raves for this hotel.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank Tripng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2005

I truly recomend this hotel! it has a fantastic view, we celebrated our wedding party in this hotel, I would truly recomend it not only for staying but for other social events, the food was excellent and also the service.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angel72NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2005

Every Spring, my wife and I travel abroad and try to find some little charming places to stay and eat, avoiding the big cities and the chain cookie-cutter rooms inside the big hotels. Last year we stayed at the “Quinta da Capela”, a bed and breakfast in the heart of the Sintra forest, a World Heritage designated area, in Portugal. What an experience! The place must be the ultimate rural romantic retreat.

Unable to travel abroad this year because of family and bussines issues, we decided to drive a hundred miles from home, to domestically celebrate our own wedding anniversary.

We discovered the “Posada El Tepozteco” five years ago, when we visited Tepoztlan to attend a wedding in neighbor Cuernavaca. We returned three years ago and then this May. As before, we enjoyed the place very much, but this time we also enjoyed a much better kitchen and cellar. Food and wine was, if not up to the natural beauty of Tepoztlan, pretty close.

The Posada has a privileged seating in the East side of a steep hill, overlooking the little village, but just a couple of blocks from the main plaza and church. To the North, the view of the Tepozteco Mountain was overwhelming. Nature was lavish here: in addition to the magnificent views, almost everything was green or full of flowers and we were blessed with perfect weather.

The hotel is “luxury” not in the traditional meaning of the word, but in a more intimate way. Stone, brick, hand made tiles, forged iron and rustic woods are everywhere. Building elements, which are truer than fancy, bring an atmosphere than modern hand made materials lack off. The place is clean, the gardens are manicured, and the owner and his staff are very friendly. Certainly the place require more attention to maintenance in some areas and the espresso coffee taste could be improved, but who cares when a worn out hinge is next to a blooming bougainvillea or a tiny cup of coffee is served next to a lascivious dessert?

On our last night, we choose for dinner a table in the far corner of the terrace, under the woody vines veranda. Soon, a fireworks spectacle exploded in front of us. A neighborhood was celebrating the festivity of “La Santa Cruz”, the national bricklayer’s saint patron.

Illuminated by a candlelight on our table and a nearby torch for the mosquitoes, I was dripping in her glass the last thirteen drops of a bottle of Pomerol red wine, when my wife told me: this place reminds me the Quinta da Capela. Knowing her warm feelings for Sintra, no more praising words could be said for the Posada.

Jose & Maria Luisa
Puebla, Mexico.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jlpuerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2004

The Posada del Tepozteco is the most wonderfully romantic hotel we have ever stayed in. Sitting in the dining room eating excellent gourmet food, looking out past the fountain and flower gardens to the cathedral in the town below-- it has to be the best!

The rooms are all different, each offering unique accommodations, at various prices. There are two swimming pools, set into the lawns of the multi-level gardens. It is a short walk into the town of Tepoztlán, which is a unique blend of old Mexico, with its market place and rural life AND many wonderful shops, as well as opportunities for massage and alternative therapy treatments. The weather is "eternal spring."

We bought an 18 inch amethyst crystal, local tropical honey, weavings, and great traditional Mexican food, all at reasonable prices.

We also brought back lots of photos, which you can see in our photo album here: http://www.joydancer.com/album/tepotzlan/tep_openpg.html

There is a wonderful (full exertion) hike up to the Aztec Pyramid platform of Tepozteco from the town. The manager of the hotel speaks English and can connect you with guides for this hike and travel to other ancient Aztec sites in the neighborhood. And all this just a couple of hours from Mexico City.

We highly recommend a visit to the Posada del Tepozteco in Tepoztlán, Mexico.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank donallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tepoztlan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Xacallan
Hotel Boutique Xacallan
#6 of 17 in Tepoztlan
176 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villas Valle Mistico
Villas Valle Mistico
#9 of 17 in Tepoztlan
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Teocalli
Hotel Teocalli
#12 of 17 in Tepoztlan
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hostal de la Luz - Spa Holistic Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Fernanda Hotel Boutique
2.9 mi away
Casa Isabella Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Tepozteco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Tepozteco

Address: Paraiso #3 Barrio de San Miguel, Tepoztlan 62520, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Tepoztlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tepoztlan
Price Range: $175 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada Del Tepozteco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada del Tepozteco Hotel is an old mansion of lineage and ancestry, with more than 60 years of tradition, now converted into a beautiful and comfortable hotel in the so-called "Pueblo Magico" in Tepoztlan, Morelos. It is a founding member of quality club "Tesoros Mexico", and has been awarded his distinction for providing services of the highest standars of quality. Due to its location, it is the natural vantage point of the Valley of Tepoztlan offers the visitor a splendid 180° view of the enigmatic mountains and whimsical formations of the Tepozteco National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Posada Del Tepozteco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Tepozteco Cuernavaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing