We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food with Reasonable Prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitchen Witch Tea Room

Kitchen Witch Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Canadian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Kitchen Witch is located in an historic two-room schoolhouse built in 1832.The school building has been lovingly restored to authentic 19th Century decor. It features the original hardwood floors, trim and wainscotting throughout as well as gorgeous double-hung paned windows which admit lots of natural light and a breathtaking view. Beautifully decorated, it features antique wooden tables and pressback chairs, lovely wallcoverings and window treatments and vintage prints.Established in 1980, The Kitchen Witch Tea Room developed a tremendously loyal clientele of repeat customers, comprising both summer visitors and local residents. It has offered a tempting menu of sandwiches served on home-baked breads, freshly-ground coffee and a variety of teas.We have owned and operated The Kitchen Witch since 2006. We have a completely separate and fully equipped gluten-free kitchen. We do not serve fast food, and there is no deep-fried food here at all. We cook almost entirely from scratch, so depending on your order and any orders ahead of yours it may take some time. Please, if you are in a hurry, let your server know and we will do our best to accommodate your needs. We understand if you are in a hurry and need to come back another time when you are in less of a rush. We have games on the table, including peg games, crosswords, sudoko, word search and cryptoquick. Children's menus with crayons, and adult colouring pages with colour pencils are available on request.
Summerside, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food with Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Don't let the outside appearance deter you from experiencing this lovely quaint spot.

Very cozy country style interior with a wide variety of food.

A variety of artisan breads should you choose a sandwich.

We will have to visit again as we discovered that there is a good selection of Mexican dishes as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WilmotValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    44
    9
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious food and friendly atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Amazing food, my favourite being the taquitos with some tasty chilli to top them off! Debbie and the rest of the gang are so welcoming and very friendly! The lady Janice who reads the tea leaves is amazing! I can't wait for my next visit with my family:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skye1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Southern welcome in a northern getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

After driving along the Central Coast on a very hot sunny afternoon, we decided to drive a few kilometers south to the Kitchen Witch for some refreshing homemade gelato. But when our delightful, hospitable hostess/owner greeted us with the list of the day's specials, we had to partake. The cheeseburger soup was thick, flavourful and yummy as was the salad with fresh blueberries, bananas, romaine, pecans, cucumber, tomato and Gouda with a lime/coriander dressing. Brewed iced tea and yummy homemade gelato - strawberry rhubarb was the perfect ending. Husband and wife own and operate this kitschy tea room/restaurant/store.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeannieandJono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We found the Kitchen Witch by happy accident, and my friend, who has several food allergies, was thrilled to see the gluten free and dairy free foods. She was able to have an entire meal-- entree and dessert, without any allergens. My husband, my friend's husband, and I also enjoyed our food. We've gone twice, and I can say the cream tea was wonderful, and the sandwich I had the second day was excellent!
We also purchased some tea and preserves there, which have so far proven exceptional! My friend also had her tea leaves read, which she found to be interesting and accurate.
The atmosphere was pleasant, the people were so friendly and helpful, and we'll probably go back once more before we leave at the end of the week.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SPozey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Warm, wonderful & wacky in the best way!!! Kid friendly beyond belief, and better yet- human friendly! Bravo!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MLfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen Witch Tea Room also viewed

Kensington, Prince Edward Island
Kensington, Prince Edward Island
 
Kensington, Prince Edward Island
Kensington, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Kitchen Witch Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing