We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Place = charm”
Review of The Home Place Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kensington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Home Place Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Kensington B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Home Place in Kensington is an older inn with lots of dark original wood, old style wallpaper, lace, and charm. Our room was pretty with burgundy floral wallpaper and a big comfortable bed. The ensuite was tiny but was very clean and had everything we needed. Location was great and we used The Home Place as our home base for visiting Cavendish, Summerside, Charlottetown.....all an easy drive.
Weather wasn't the greatest (rain) but we enjoyed a very cosy dinner in the Home Place restaurant right below our room! Glenda Burt has an upscale restaurant that was a busy spot even on a Monday night. Our meals were fantastic! We then retired to the lounge area for special coffees. Breakfasts also were lovely and filling. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We would come back again for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLT1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for The Home Place Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 40 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

This B&B is a great place to stay if you are touring PEI. The room was clean, the staff friendly, the food great! I would recommend they upgrade their TV's however you are not usually there to watch TV, lol.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our whole experience was from the welcome, to our room, to our meals wonderful. We plan on our next visit to the Island make the Home Place Inn our first stop. We did feel like we had been welcomed to a warm, friendly home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatChance29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Warm welcome and very attentive staff. The Home Place Inn rooms are Comfortable and clean, and the location is very central. We enjoyed the balcony in room 2. The breakfast was excellent. We would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our room (#1) was comfortable, clean, and there were robes for us to wear, we could not have asked for more. The staff made sure that our bikes were put away in the shed, showed us to our room, and asked us to let them know if we needed anything else. Dinner was outstanding, it was truly gourmet. This is the first place I have ever eaten where the chef actually catered to my unusual tastes. When I asked our server, who was also one of the highlights of our dinner, about the ingredients of one of the dishes, and asked if it could be made without cream, the chef, Allison, came out and suggested things she could add in place of the cream in the sauce. I agreed to her suggestion of coconut milk and was unbelievably pleased with the result. I mopped up the sauce and left a clean plate! The server was one of the highlights because she was there when we needed her and not there when we didn't. She didn't hover nor did we have long waits for her. One thing she did which I particularly appreciated, was that she did not remove my empty plate while my partner was still eating. At breakfast the next morning Glenda was the chef and she too had suggestions about dishes and or modifications of dishes which would be satisfactory.

Overall, the stay at the Home Place Inn was the highlight of our bicycle trip across PEI. I can highly recommend the Home Place Inn as a place to stay and as a restaurant at which to dine. It is very convenient to the Confederation Trail and, when you are on a bike, it is nice not to have to bike to dinner and back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Psych_prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Exceeded our expectations. Real homemade gourmet food as good as the best metropolitan restaurants. Quiet and friendly. The honeymoon suite is a real treat, with a supremely comfortable bed and a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aubanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just spent 2 nights at the Home Place Inn B&B in Kensington, PEI and found the accommodations and breakfasts wonderful. The room (#2) was quaint and comfortable, with attention to small details such as a piece of chocolate to have with the individual coffee brewer, fluffy robes and iPOD docking station. Very comfortable bed! This room has a large balcony overlooking the street below, which was a nice option to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. We had dinner in the dining room which was very good, and the breakfast the next 2 mornings were nicely presented and delicious. Attention to detail with the food and the room make this a great place to call home while traveling. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: May be quieter to choose a room not facing street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadiannana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kensington
9.4 mi away
Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre
12.2 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
6.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside
12.6 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#5 of 8 in Cavendish
81 reviews
8.2 mi away
Summerside Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Home Place Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Home Place Inn

Address: 21 Victoria Street | P.O. Box 249, Kensington, Prince Edward Island C0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Kensington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kensington
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic home was built in 1915 by local merchant Parmenus Orr and retains much of the original ambiance through thoughtful renovations, hardwood floors and period furnishings. Many of the family's original furnishings, antiques, photographs and oil paintings, painted by Orr family descendants, hang proudly on our walls. A large veranda on the front of the house is available for "old fashion" relaxing ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Home Place Inn Kensington, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing