We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place for lunch and music”

Celtic Music Interpretive Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Judique
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mission Statement of the Celtic Music Interpretive Centre is to collect, preserve and promote the traditional Celtic music of Cape Breton Island through Education, Research and Performance.
Somerset, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Special place for lunch and music”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Get away from the fast food and stop in here for a great lunch and most entertaining traditional celtic music. I can't recommend this highly enough!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TandemJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    26
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, service and music”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The CMIC is a real Cape Breton gem. You will find the living traditional Cape Breton music here as well as its history. Cape Breton's finest fiddlers and piano players play here both at lunch and for Sunday ceilidhs. The food is great at a fair price and the service is friendly. I can't imagine a trip down route 19 that doesn't include a stop at the CMIC.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 971duncanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you Duncan. It is a pleasure to be part of your vacation. We'll see you soon, and we'll make sure to you have your table stocked with a good view and cool refreshments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent music and food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were able to catch two ceilidhs, or musical events, at the CMIC and loved it. We were there at the end of the Celtic Colours festival and the venue in Judique was one of the best we saw. The food was very good (great fish cakes) and there was a nice exhibit about Celtic music and local musicians. Do not miss if you are in the area and love music!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mistersunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We aim to make every visit a memorable one. When you have an experience that includes great food and music, it makes for a great visit. Please do come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“special”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Traditional celtic music performed at lunchtime. Accomplished musicians carry on the tradition. I learned more about the traditions. Lunch (also excellent) was served from a menu a la carte.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are glad that we were able to contribute to a positive experience on your trip. Stop in again on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and music”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for lunch on the way to cheticamp and were delighted to catch some excellent fiddle music. There was a great atmosphere with a small audience ranging from 18 months to over 70. The music lasts from 11.30 to 1 pm and there was a chance to ask questions as well as listen. We got a CD of course.

There was a good savoury choice for lunch including toasties and soups plus amazing chocolate cake for dessert. Don't miss this place it is an essential part of a trip to Cape Breton




Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mazzy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan D, Manager at Celtic Music Interpretive Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for stopping in. Our food is fast becoming best friends with the quality of music that is available in the area as well. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celtic Music Interpretive Centre also viewed

 

Been to Celtic Music Interpretive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing