We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay if you're travelling the Annapolis Valley”
Review of Delft Haus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Delft Haus
Ranked #1 of 2 Centreville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My title should say it all, but if it doesn't, let me elaborate.
After traveling from Brier island, visiting Annapolis Royal, and driving up through the Annapolis Valley, we were ready to relax for an evening before the next leg of our trip. Delft Haus provides the perfect environment for just that.

Delft Haus is spotless and beautifully decorated. After settling into our room we visited Halls Harbour, which is only a 10 minute drive away, and ate at the Lobster Pound. There are several other dining options near the area that Ray will happily share with you.
Breakfast the next morning was amazing! The food and conversation made for a fantastic experience.
Thank you to Ray and Debra for being wonderful hosts!

Anyone traveling through the Annapolis Valley should make this a planned stop along the way.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtoddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2010

The Delft Haus pictured on its website do not do it justice - the house is absolutely lovely, filled with beautiful furnishings and extremely clean. We stayed for 3 nights and loved our room, the Orchid. We had a wonderful sleep on their quality mattress.

The owners, Debra and Ray, are very warm, knowledgeable and service-oriented. we were served tasty breakfasts in the morning including jam-filled french toast which was delicious.

Centreville is a very quiet community but an easy drive to the larger areas of Wolfville or New Minas where shopping and restaurantes are readily available. The Delft Haus is also close to the wonderful sites of the Annapolis Valley.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Delft Haus and would strongly recommend it to singles, couples or families.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaTorontoON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My wife called to reserve a room at Delft House on friday night August 13. The reservation was made with the owner Ray. The next day we arrived at 1:00 pm. Ray said the room wouldn't be ready until 3:00 pm. He was very nice and gave us a map of the area with places to see and go. So we did. We returned to Delft House at 8:00 pm. Ray demanded the key to the room and called my wife a liar and scammer and threw us out into the street. I told him that there were no rooms anywhere. He said that he didn't care as far as he was concerned the credit card # that my wife had given him was no good we were liars and scammers and he couldn't trust us and he didn' t care where we spent the night. It was Dr. Jekyl and Mr. Hyde. We proceeded out of town stopping at all the B&B's and motels. Everything was full. We finally stopped at Tattingstone Inn in Wolfeville where Thomas the owner found us a room for the night with Zelda in Gaspardeau. So if you want to be called nasty names and turned out onto the street at 8:00pm on a busy saturday when all rooms in the area are full reserve a room at Delft House

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
5  Thank jlhoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayr147, Owner at Delft Haus, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2010

This is a highly inaccurate and embellished version of events. The credit card number, which was rechecked with the guest, was declined (three times) during their absence in the afternoon, and like any accommodation provider, we can only hold a room with a valid credit card number. Consequently, on their return, we merely stated our position that we do not provide accommodation free of charge, and that they could not stay in our home having provided a false credit card number; and as a trust issue we had other guests to consider. At no point was there any physical contact, nor were this couple inside our property at the time of our conversation, so they could not possibly have been thrown out into the street. We are not sure why they felt it was our responsibility to arrange alternative accommodation under these circumstances, let alone why they feel that the fact that other establishments were full means we should have waived our requirement for payment. Honesty is the best policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Staying at the Delft Haus was one of the many highlights of our trip to Nova Scotia.
Getting a good nights rest in the most comfortable bed , followed by the most delectable breakfast, makes for a great start to any day, not to mention Debra and Ray who are the most gracious hosts that you would ever meet. Cleanliness and comfort, second to none.
The cost which we found less expensive than many other hotels but this also including the wonderful breakfast . The tea room makes its own statement with its cheery decor and once again its fabulous food or just some R&R with a cup of coffee or tea, what a bonus!!! All that being said I would certainly recommend the Delf Haus, and I look forward to staying there again .

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dot382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Delft Haus is the best place to stay whether you need a place to overnight, are celebrating a special occasion or planning to tour the area. Ray and Debra are fantastic hosts: friendly and helpful, with good senses of humour. The accommodations are very clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. There isn’t a lot of traffic on the road, so it’s peaceful as well. Breakfasts are three courses and Debra is a fabulous cook! There’s also a tearoom where you can enjoy a light meal during the day, afternoon tea or coffee, or even an ice-cream sundae. There’s a lot to see and do in the immediate area and you can easily drive to Annapolis Royal, Wolfville, Chester, Mahone Bay, Lunenburg and even Halifax from here. It’s nice to return to the same bed every night and see the same smiling faces every morning! I visit Nova Scotia every year and always stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMLina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

What a lovely place. Debra and Ray make you feel like family. They go out of their way to make sure everything 's perfect. Breakfast fit for a King. Stayed in many neighbouring B&B's and none come even close to the charm, beauty and handy location of the Delft. Tea house and Spa , a handy addition. Best scones in Nova Scotia! Recommend this B&B highly. Such a wonderful stay. Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parisTO37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Romantic rooms with new mattresses; quiet and extremely clean. The breakfast was absolutely delicious; fresh cream crepes followed by a hot entre. We really liked the easy access the rooms in the old carriage house offered as we had a car full of gear for biking, hiking and golfing. The secure storage for our bikes was greatly appreciated. We would definitely recomment the Delft Haus to our friends and look forward to a second stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centreville
20.9 mi away
The Maple Inn
The Maple Inn
#2 of 7 in Parrsboro
155 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Stella Rose B&B
The Stella Rose B&B
#1 of 10 in Wolfville
458 reviews
7.3 mi away
Planters' Barracks Country Inn
Planters' Barracks Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Port Williams
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Victoria's Historic Inn
Victoria's Historic Inn
#3 of 10 in Wolfville
315 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Delft Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delft Haus

Address: 1942 Hwy 359, Centreville, Kentville, Nova Scotia BOP 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Kentville > Centreville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Centreville
Price Range: $136 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Delft Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious 4 1/2 star Victorian (c) 1890 Bed & Breakfast surrounds you with natural wood interiors and period furnishings that offer an unparalleled experience. Our home is located in the Annapolis Valley in beautiful apple orchard countryside, an ideal base to explore Nova Scotia. All rooms have luxurious en-suite faciliteis. A fantastic place to get away and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Delft Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delft Haus Nova Scotia/Centreville, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing